桃花谈
insider:
Literately, it is \"without light\". For Christians, we have similar terms, \"In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God\". The same was in the beginning with God, All things were made by him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life, and the life was the Light Of men.And the light shineth in darkness and the darkness comprehened it not.\" The prayers of \"Open my eyes, that I may see.\" is for seeing the light.phtthp:
insider, may i know what is \"无明\" in English ?
Errr...can someone help me out with this with a more concise Ang Mo word??
What I can come up with is \"Got Eye Cannot See\"...
The only difference perhaps is 无明 in 佛教, is a state with different degree; one can reduce it 无明 entering 顿悟 by doing good works; while in Christianity, all have sinned, falling short of the glory of God. There is no one can be saved by works, but by the blood of Jesus, therefore, it is by grace, we are saved! -
insider:
2 things u should do when typing long text here....
aiya, wanna cry oredi...prepared a long msg and then clicked 'Submit' and the message returned with 'Session Expired' and my whole msg gone!!!
wait huh...
- always preview regularly after a few sentences... somehow the text is saved somewhere and can be retrieved when u refresh the screen or click the 'back' arrow ...
- type in a text editor first then paste here for posting... like MS words etc... -
KSP:
One of the greatest weaknesses of mankind is we tend to believe that 'just one time oredi lah, cannot be so unlucky one' then 'POP!' the unlucky thing happens!
2 things u should do when typing long text here....
- always preview regularly after a few sentences... somehow the text is saved somewhere and can be retrieved when u refresh the screen or click the 'back' arrow ...
- type in a text editor first then paste here for posting... like MS words etc...
Ya, I know 'logically' should type in a text editor first but then I thought unlucky thing like msg gone will not happen to me just for this one time and then it happened...
Same thing that we know we should all back up our systems regularly but not many have the full discipline to do so. Then when system crashes with our last important document/proposal inside, we go into the XXYYZZ mode... (this happened when I was doing my final thesis paper years ago and imagine how my heart dropped to the bottom...)
OK OK, must guai guai and dont take chance at all and type in a text editor (esp for me this kind who likes to write lo li lo so posts...). -
Imami:
Insider, hope to understand more on the part on cursing and it will bounce back to oneself and people around this person.
What is the rationale (or is there?) behind the \"bounce back to people around? Why is it not 一人做事一人当? will it always have a multiples effect?
Answering your this query late coz this one needs a bit of writing.
Going back to the concept of reincarnation.
As said earlier, the only thing, or I would say, the only GOOD thing that we can bring along with us to our next life is our wisdom. Those things that are bad, the sins / seeds (业障) are also what we need to bring with us.
Say a person brings to his next life 5,000 positive seeds and 10,000 negative seeds and start his first day of life with these 15,000 seeds.
All these seeds need opportunity to mature. Each seed has to meet the right circumstances before it can bear the good fruit or the bad fruit.
If one is doing good deeds, the bad seeds may mature into bad fruits but in a milder way.
Eg, a parent loses a child coz that’s the bad fruit but later he is blessed with another good child coz he has that good seeds to bear the good fruit. He will not be plunged into deep sorrows for perhaps life coz of the second one coming to cushion his hurt.
In order for the good seed to mature, he needs to remain optimistic so that the good seed has a chance of the right condition to mature. We take the recent pair of parents who lost their two kids in the accident. It is so kind of the parents to forgive the driver. Forgiveness = positive points and then other better things can come their ways. If they remain cursing, well, can refer back to my earlier post on the power of curse.
We take that auntie who cursed at her neighbor as a case study.
All her children have good seeds and bad seeds. However, the good seeds of these children were not given enough blessings to bring them luck. Instead, the sorrows and the curses of that auntie brought a lot of negative energy into her family. Such negative energy ‘activated’ the bad seeds present in each child and therefore, it is difficult for them to have a more smooth life.
If her children have fewer bad seeds in them, then no matter how that auntie cursed also will not affect them.
So, going back to the term of 福祸无门,唯人自招 - that one ‘invites’ positive activation via (filial / kindness) or negative activation via unfilial / unkindness.
The relationship between a parent and a child is a special one and so will get the ‘multiplier effect’ as it involves immediate filial piety. We are as a family and we have to bear the 共业 (this one I will not elaborate).
It’s still don’t let people, esp your parents, curse you coz it may activate / awaken the bad seeds that you maybe carrying with you. Curses from parents are very powerful (due to multiplier effect).
Also don’t anyhow curse people coz you may activate their bad seeds (and in extreme case, the one who get cursed may die = your negative points).
When we ‘scold’ our kids, we need to check our words. Some may scold like machine guns. Can ‘scold’ but then should never curse (and the best is try not to scold lah coz when the fire is up, any words can come out from one’s mouth).
Earlier on I said about we should not deprive our kids from having grandparents’ blessings (the handshake, 乖乖, etc). Every blessing that a grand child can receive from his grandparents also have multiplier effect to activate the good seeds that a child carries with him.
Just go around and help as many people as you can without asking for return (the moment you thinking of a ‘return’ = ‘cancelled off’ = Nil point scored). When people thank you = will activate your good seeds = more smooth life. My kids were trained to greet bus drivers. Of course, they say \"But Bus Uncle no response leh\". I just told them think of those who responded and never mind about those who didnt. Of course, I will not load my kids with my 'Seedlings Theory'...)
We often heard of this four words esp during CNY time, 心想事成.
If we want anything, we have to think first (or even pray hard). If we have that good seed in us, then our thought / prayer will activate that good seed to make it 事成. (if the seed is not there, then you may pray until cow comes home also nothing will happen. However, we can grow new good seeds by doing good deeds and then the 事 will 成 later. Refer to the story of 了凡.).
Similarly if we don’t want any bad things to happen, then we gotta stop thinking of things in negative ways (such as “Ah Boy goes camp, don’t know whether will get hurt or not”). If Ah Boy has a ‘Hurt Seed’ in him, your bad thought may mature it and then he may get hurt (if he doesn’t carry the ‘Hurt Seed’, then he will be OK. So, basically most worries are not warranted).
Well, this is closer to NLP and so all should think positively!
PS Imami:
Have I answered your question? You catch the ball? -
insider:
Thank you very much for taking time to answer.
Answering your this query late coz this one needs a bit of writing.
PS Imami:
Have I answered your question? You catch the ball?
I think yes, you hv answered my qn. I will have to re-read a few times... I find myself reading your posts (those with 大道理) in this thread again and again. Each time I read, I feel I have understand a little more but when I next read again, I find more understanding then before (Aiya, last time study also not that hardworking). And many of these are either (1) built into my life when I was young (I was mostly hanging around with the elderly when I was in my childhood, and I was the kind who will greet and smile, very chubby and fair kind. 人见人爱),(2) taught by my mum (to be kind, don't be calculative etc).
人之初性本善。我本善。 可惜我比较愚钝,并没相莲花一样,处于污泥而不染。就因我曾善,当我看到儿子或其他小孩子的真善美,我的心里有所反应。 -
Imami:
hahaha...remind me of one of the favourite stories...(the moral of the story is very true. Many times what come out from our mouth really reflects what kind of person we are...)
人之初性本善。我本善。 可惜我比较愚钝,并没相莲花一样,处于污泥而不染。就因我曾善,当我看到儿子或其他小孩子的真善美,我的心里有所反应。
苏轼是个大才子,佛印是个高僧,两人经常一起参禅、打坐。
佛印老实,老被苏轼欺负。
苏轼有时候占了便宜很高兴,回家就喜欢跟他那个才女妹妹苏小妹说。
一天, 两人又在一起打坐。
苏轼问:你看看我像什么啊?
佛印说:我看你像尊佛。
苏轼听后大笑,对佛印说:你知道我看你坐在那儿像什么?就活像一摊牛粪。
这一次,佛印又吃了哑巴亏。
苏轼回家就在苏小妹面前炫耀这件事。
苏小妹冷笑一下对哥哥说,就你这个悟性还参禅呢,你知道参禅的人最讲究的是什么?是见心见性,你心中有眼中就有。佛印说看你像尊佛,那说明他心中有尊佛;你说佛印像牛粪,想想你心里有什么吧! -
Insider,
Reading ur posts really calm me a lot!..thanks a lot for sharing! -
KSP:
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
2 things u should do when typing long text here....insider:
aiya, wanna cry oredi...prepared a long msg and then clicked 'Submit' and the message returned with 'Session Expired' and my whole msg gone!!!
wait huh... -
insider:
blind spot?phtthp:
insider, may i know what is \"无明\" in English ?
Errr...can someone help me out with this with a more concise Ang Mo word??
What I can come up with is \"Got Eye Cannot See\"... -
Just to add: 无明 in Buddhism is "ignorance" . Ignorance to what? That not understanding 诸法因缘生,诸法因缘灭。
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.