Facebook & maid

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    44 Posts 22 Posters 27.2k Views 1 Watching
    • Coolkidsrock2C Offline
      Coolkidsrock2

My maids do not have handphones as well. Their agents in their home country will confiscate it while they are at the training centre.

They will buy their handphones before they leave for good and I will check the album before they leave for the airport to ensure they do not have any photos of my home or kids.

My kids do not have Facebook and laptops are used strictly for school related work so I guess it is also a "tone from the top" kind of environment for us.

Linlin

My maid in Sg for 2 yrs plus. Her previous employer didn’t give her hp and she also never ask for it. She don’t have fb and I think if u pamper ur maid by giving hp then u shouldn’t b surprise she got fb etc. fb can help them to do part time job, find bf and also to show off her employer hm etc. Maid can reveal things about ur hse details like address, pic and some even update their status without knowing that they reveal the timing their employer not home. At the end of the day. If ur main purpose for having maid is to look after children or old aged is better not to give hp unless u willingly to take the risk. I came across old aged couple living with a maid (employer is daughter not staying with them) the maid is always on the phone or she will go out to ta bao food and take own sweet time back. Despite the old aged complaint to their daughter of the maid behavior the daughter didn’t seems to do anything until police came knocking door… The maid having numerous men no. and have complicated relationship…

If u willingly to give your maid anything like hp and off day then u must be prepare anything might happen and if they run, got BGR problem, sudden change and expecting more and more.

cat_tail

My maid has a fb a/c. Amazingly u dun need a data phone, just normal phone can do the updates & post pics! IT’s very addictive & whenever she got opportunity like I am not at home or in the room, she will start playing it. She is not aware I am watching her all the while till the day it get out of hand. She added 1000 frds including bangla, posting a lot of her own seductive pics in toilet & my bedroom, wearing my gal’s accessories & my clothings… Worst of all, she posted my kids fotos & called them a bunch of angry birds… I felt so offensive!!

Anway, I had kept her hp & made her deleted all the pics taken in my hm including my kids’ ones. I am sending her away soon.

popireis

Linlin:

If u willingly to give your maid anything like hp and off day then u must be prepare anything might happen and if they run, got BGR problem, sudden change and expecting more and more.
            Is it our call to NOT give them offdays and hp? Can we say no? Even if employers willing to pay for their offdays, if they refuse and wants to take their days off, which is mandatory by MOM law, do we have the right to say No?

Can we refuse to let them hv hp too? Will they hv a case if employers \"keep\" their phones or do not allow them to buy phones with their own salary?

Frankly, I doubt most employers \"willingly\" do the above, but wat can employers do? There r so many activists out there fighting for the \"human rights\" of the fdw, do we hv an orgn fighting for the rights of the employers?

twinkletoes

Linlin:
              My maid in Sg for 2 yrs plus. Her previous employer didn't give her hp and she also never ask for it. She don't have fb and I think if u pamper ur maid by giving hp then u shouldn't b surprise she got fb etc. fb can help them to do part time job, find bf and also to show off her employer hm etc.

I got my first maid 11 years ago. Those days no HP and no FB. Yet she still managed to sneak out and meet her bangla bf. Told lies. Stole from me. So don't blame modern gadgets. It boils down to the individual maid. And luck. Not one nationality is better, new maid is also not necessarily better than transfer etc.

At the end of the day we have a stranger in our home. If we deny them contact to the outside world, no off days and no compensation, would they wake up in the morning feeling good or full of resentment? Yes sometimes we get those bad apples despite us treating them fairly. It's a risk. However, as a person, I can't ignore the basic rights of another person to want to communicate to their friends or family. So I agree with the laws to help these maids. Having said that, I wish MOM would listen to us and do more to protect employers as well. At the moment it seems one-sided.

sparks

I agree with twinkletoes. In this age & in our part of world, hp has become a necessary means of communication. Personally, I don't think it is right not to allow owning a hp esp if she is the one paying for it. Don't forget that we are short of helpers willing to come to Spore now. Unless you are prepared to do without a helper or even tahan paying high fees & risk getting a problematic one, we have to try to compromise somehow, in order to keep our current maid who has worked with us reasonably well.

Many years back,when I got my first maid, even without hp or off days then, she still manages to have a bf even though she's already married. So, yes, it is really the individual.

I am only thinking of using facebook as a reward for continuing to work with us. However, after reading some views here, I think it is better not to let her access my home computer. It is good that someone pointed out that you can access facebook thru hp's data plan (sorryI am a facebook & smartphone sotong :oops: ). So she still can use that option.

fruittypie

vinegar:
                  one of my frd's maid posted her photo in my frd's hse,n claimed that the hse is hers(not my frd) .My frd's hse n car became her hse n car.She claimed she has married an ang moh in sg n stay in big hse n car....my frd was very angry.....terminated her immediately...

wow..this is interesting...what's the world turning to

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

Linlin:
                    My maid in Sg for 2 yrs plus. Her previous employer didn't give her hp and she also never ask for it. She don't have fb and I think if u pamper ur maid by giving hp then u shouldn't b surprise she got fb etc. fb can help them to do part time job, find bf and also to show off her employer hm etc. ...

Funny, last time, like 16 years ago, I also employed part-time foreign maids. Those days also don't need FB to get part-time job?! haha

Anyway, my current maid with me 12yrs. She has no off-days. She prefers not to go, but she manages her time. Why give her hp? She can buy on her own wat! Laptop also she use own money to buy. She work and get salary, right? If she saves up enough money to buy a property in SG also, do I forbid her to? LOL. My neighbour's wife also used to be maid.... 😜

beebeemum

I am ok with them owning hp but tell them to use in moderation.

Previous maid had 3 hps which she hid all over the house for convenient eg one in kitchen which she used while cooking, one in toilet and another one in her bedroom. I still don’t understand why she need so many hps and why they spent so much money talking over the phones. Of-course she had a bf here and another in her home country.
                      But using your home pc is a NO NO, as I also use my pc to do Internet banking! So it is really a security issue

Linlin

cat_tail:
                        My maid has a fb a/c. Amazingly u dun need a data phone, just normal phone can do the updates & post pics! IT's very addictive & whenever she got opportunity like I am not at home or in the room, she will start playing it. She is not aware I am watching her all the while till the day it get out of hand. She added 1000 frds including bangla, posting a lot of her own seductive pics in toilet & my bedroom, wearing my gal's accessories & my clothings.... Worst of all, she posted my kids fotos & called them a bunch of angry birds.... I felt so offensive!!

Anway, I had kept her hp & made her deleted all the pics taken in my hm including my kids' ones. I am sending her away soon.
                        My aunt indo maid tried her daughter clothing and bra to post seductive pic on hp to give bangla. She don't have any cash cos all is kept in bank but she's smart to cheat those bangla for hp. She got 3 hp in total.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 5