DSA 2011
vlim:
my ds spend almost the first 1.5 weeks doing his ss 2nd portfolio. :skeptical: ..then carry on his english, maths, sci and hcl school homework. Not much from the psle book but on the plentiful worksheets given by the school and to complete a science assessment book and a chinese book to be read finish within this holiday....[/quote]Your DS is indeed productive, at least he got the project work out of the way. Mine spent the first 2 weeks attending soccer camp and art camp. He is the \"Last Minute\" Kind (it runs in the family, guilty as charged :oops: ) and I know he will waste time anyway. Project work is not his forte (unlike blackshot and mindcraft...sigh) and it will definitely take up alot of revision time when school starts.
Mine too. DS has to complete almost the entire PSLE book (2006-2010) for 4 subjects during this school holiday and he is back in school this week for supp classes. SS project still outstanding and i dont think he can find time to do.hexagon:
[quote=\"vlim\"]
haiz...i don't know about what they practise in other gep school..but my ds was given so much holiday homework(..revision assignments for psle)..that I simply have no way to arrange him to do other revision work...So, I just take it that those are his revision for psle liao... :skeptical: -
Hi Vlim / ngbrdad
Any news from your end from RI. My ds still no news. -
I just want to assure parents of gep kids tt these kids will all hv a place in a good school. From my couple of years of asking around, v large majority will score way above 240, despite heavy project workloads n late psle preparations. There was one case i heard of some years back with score hovering around 200 due to disruptive family problems eg death of parent or divorce, the kid won a place in nus high through the dsA selection rounds. In my kid's school last year, the lowest score was still above 240. I have yet to meet or hear of any gep kid who has no good school to go to.Zann:
So the question does exist: how GEPers get recruited into CHS, SJI, SCGS, MGS when they can't get an offer in RI/HCI/NY/RGS and the DSA thingy is all over if they had not applied DSA to these schools? Via PSLE T-score ? and what if they don't meet the COP? Do MOE post them to these schools?
if the GEPpers could not or did not get in via DSA, and t-score not good enough.....then what to do ? it does happen every year...\"gifted\" status is not permanent. even for those on SBGE, it is up to sec 2 only.
Don't worry, have faith. -
Fretting:
Nothing.Hi Vlim / ngbrdad
Any news from your end from RI. My ds still no news.
Since they say will only email one week before GAT, if it's on 8/7 will only receive 1/7. If later dates, then even later. -
naggo-nitemare:
But if the GEP kid with 240 does not have a DSA place, where would he go? Even schools like CHS don't take in kids at 240.In my kid's school last year, the lowest score was still above 240. I have yet to meet or hear of any gep kid who has no good school to go to.
Don't worry, have faith. -
Agreed, it all boil down to hardwork and the individual child's motivation to excel. Gifted or not, the children still have to push themselves to do well both in their DSA and PSLE.Zann:
So the question does exist: how GEPers get recruited into CHS, SJI, SCGS, MGS when they can't get an offer in RI/HCI/NY/RGS and the DSA thingy is all over if they had not applied DSA to these schools? Via PSLE T-score ? and what if they don't meet the COP? Do MOE post them to these schools?
if the GEPpers could not or did not get in via DSA, and t-score not good enough.....then what to do ? it does happen every year...\"gifted\" status is not permanent. even for those on SBGE, it is up to sec 2 only. -
Have faith in your kids lah,
Anyway when we were students never felt such stress before. -
Fretting:
No news for interview yet .. :skeptical:Hi Vlim / ngbrdad
Any news from your end from RI. My ds still no news. -
ngbrdad:
Have faith in your kids lah,
Anyway when we were students never felt such stress before.
Cannot appreciate your \"stress\" since we have not a single GEP kid. lah. In any case, DSA under GEP still has a way higher chance than for those kids of ours that are non-GEP lah. So I'd think the \"stress\" would be much lower. -
Not neccessary leh ...
In any case, DSA under GEP still has a way higher chance than for those kids of ours that are non-GEP lah. So I'd think the \"stress\" would be much lower.
Came across a real life case last year and would like to share with you. Know of one GEP and one non-GEP student both applied for DSA to the same top school. In the end the GEP kid did not get any offer but the non-GEP kid got it thru academic domain. When PSLE release, the non-GEP kid shine again but the GEP did only so-so and now landed in a non-IP school. So we can only say GEP is not a \"privillege\" as many would think.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
With your input, this post could be even better đź’—