DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      leeven

Blur Dad:
      UncleLim:

[quote=\"leeven\"]Hi All

can you give the link in kiasu parents (sure it should have been discussed ) for the below queries. my son is P5. see the posts I started worrying now itself (tooo kiasu)

1. Top 5 IP schools (All I know is RI,NUSH,ACS) . I think I cannot apply for HC because of my DS MT = Tamil. DS in GEP fyi.

2. What is the Niche of the top 5 schools (like good for students interested which career Medicine/politics etc)

3. what is the data we have number of GEP students admitted in RI,ACSI,HC,NUSH,RGS,NYGS) for the past few years

Though it is not publicly acknowledged, RI(JC) produces the highest number of successful Medicine candidates for NUS and probably also for Ivy League universities and Oxbridge as well. I won't be surprised if Raffles also produce the highest number of civil service scholars who eventually end up in various government ministries, especially the elite Admin Service. One look at the photographs of political luminaries lobby wall of RI and you know you have arrived at step 1 of the ladder of politics! :imcool:

HCI contributes the 2nd highest number of Medicine candidates I think. However it is the leading school with regards to producing future bi-cultural professionals (wrt China).

NUSH is clearly a very niched school and with a very small intake so it is hard to make meaningful comparisons with the rest. No doubt in future we can expect lots of Ph.Ds amongst the graduates.

\"If you hope your son to go into business one day, bet on ACS(I).\" Guess who said that to me? A successful hedge fund partner who studied in .... yes - RI/RJC ! So ACS(I) is not just an IB school that produces the most perfect scorers. That is beside the main point. ACS(I) is where your child mixes with students who are already destined to take over their family businesses. Or with kids who are fortunate enough to get family support for whatever ventures they try and not be trapped in the HDB/CPF/NUS/AWS/... kind of future. So maybe ACS(I) is like the Island Country Club golf course of our education landscape?

I remembered there was a saying \"If you want to rule Singapore go to RI. If you want to own Singapore go to ASC.\"[/quote]Thnx 😄 UncleLim ,ngbrdad,Blur Dad.

Kloggy

Kloggy:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Good luck to all the girls applying for DSA!

Girls who applied to NYGH through GEP and do HCL should be hearing from NYGH soon if not already, based on previous years' experience. Any news?

All those going for interviews, jiayou!!

No news yet from nygh, my dd is in gep and do hcl. Getting a bit anxious ......

During my dd's time, those who were in GEP, scored >80% and did HCL received CO calls from NYGH before either NYGH or RGS began conducting their interviews for GEP students. Perhaps they've changed their schedule this year. In any case, so long as none of your dd's friends receive calls from NYGH there's no need to worry. I'm sure you'll hear from them soon enough. And when you do, be sure to share your good news. Did your dd apply for any other schools?[/quote]Thanks. I've heard of my dd's friends getting called for interview but all scored < 80%, my girl scored above 80% & I really hope no news is good news. We only applied to nygh -- just happened that we made up our mind early abt which school to go & so we decided to save the hassle in applying to several schools.....

• O Offline
          Otah

ngbrdad:
          Pen88n:

[quote=\"RSS\"]Nus high confirmed with me that ds don't need to pay for the selection camp and they will even refund us the 50 dollars dsa application because he is in estein club. So we save 140 dollars. Ds is happy and like the school even more. They certainly know how to generate goodwill!

So, einstein club member need not even pay any fee for DSA! Actually NUS High already know this club members and should actively invite the P6 members to apply for DSA there. These top schools are all having activities to entice top pri school kids to join them - active marketing and recruitment! Can't help but feel that schools are acting more and more like corporations nowadays.

Not automatic exemption. They have to pay $50 to sit for the first round. If they make it thru, then it will be refunded and camp fee waived. If not, no refund for the $50 fee.[/quote]So what qualified them for ein club in the first place :? Was it thru NMOS ?

ngbrdad

Regarding the NUS high camp, is breakfast provided ?

In the email it seems 7.30 to 8am is registration but thought I read somewhere that 7.30am to 8am is breakfast.

TwaTau

ngbrdad:

In the email it seems 7.30 to 8am is registration but thought I read somewhere that 7.30am to 8am is breakfast.
              FYI, from the notification:
              5. You are strongly encouraged to eat your breakfast before reporting to our school. The first tea break is scheduled at 10:30 am.

ngbrdad

TwaTau:
                ngbrdad:

FYI, from the notification:
                5. You are strongly encouraged to eat your breakfast before reporting to our school. The first tea break is scheduled at 10:30 am.

Thanks. Must have read wrongly then.

RSS

ngbrdad:

That is breakfast for the students helpers

jtoh

Kloggy:

[quote=\"Kloggy\"][

No news yet from nygh, my dd is in gep and do hcl. Getting a bit anxious ......

During my dd's time, those who were in GEP, scored >80% and did HCL received CO calls from NYGH before either NYGH or RGS began conducting their interviews for GEP students. Perhaps they've changed their schedule this year. In any case, so long as none of your dd's friends receive calls from NYGH there's no need to worry. I'm sure you'll hear from them soon enough. And when you do, be sure to share your good news. Did your dd apply for any other schools?

Thanks. I've heard of my dd's friends getting called for interview but all scored < 80%, my girl scored above 80% & I really hope no news is good news. We only applied to nygh -- just happened that we made up our mind early abt which school to go & so we decided to save the hassle in applying to several schools.....[/quote]Wise decision. 😄 Tell us your good news when you hear from them!

RSS

Vlim, how did the interview go? Pls tell us what questions did they ask your ds?

matadorepy

ngbrdad:

Yes. If I remember correctly, My DD got breakfast served after the registration. Anyway, It is never good to go there empty stomach juz in case. The kids were be so excited that they will forget if ever got breakfast break n lunch.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 919