DSA 2011
they get more fulfillment emailing each other questions than to be on ksp, leaving this old man here[/quote]email parents cannot see what they are talking about.......forum too open in case parents peeping..... :evil:
what ?? shortlisted uni at P6 and circulated to their parents.... :faint:Augmum:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
a group of his P6 kakis shortlisted a list of expensive uni and circulated it to their respective parents ....
sound more KS than u leh.....
btw, tell them that they def qualify to join this forum or they' re already members.....

Augmum, nowadays the kids strategise early so as to get their parents to help fulfil their dreams. My fren's kid got the parents to bring him to US to visit Harvard and MIT after PSLE to get a feel of the uni and environment there!!! -
Pen88n:
that is what my DS is asking ..... :faint:
email parents cannot see what they are talking about.......forum too open in case parents peeping..... :evil:
Augmum, nowadays the kids strategise early so as to get their parents to help fulfil their dreams. My fren's kid got the parents to bring him to US to visit Harvard and MIT after PSLE to get a feel of the uni and environment there!!! -
firefly38:
no la ..I don't know them in person..No worry, you will chat like us :siao: :siao: :siao: ... when u post here more oftenwas introduced to ks parents by a friend only recently. if i have read all the valuable posts in this forum a year earlier (ie, when ds was in p5), maybe i would have done more for ds. we didnt send ds for any tuition classes though ds didnt do too well in p4 (he moved from a neighbourhood school to a gep school). ds improved very slightly in p5. thank god, ds suddenly 'kai qiao' in p6 and did quite well in sa1 (>80%) and got a CO from RI last week.
ds2 is in p3 but vey playful and not focussed. i cannot take for granted that everything will fall into place when ds2 is in p6 in 3 years' time (like in gor-gor's case). must start preparing ds2 for psle early (sounds kiasu?).
btw.. vlim, verykiasu2010, pen88n, do you know each other or have you met each other? you all chat like you have known each other for a long time

I also has a dd this yr p3!!!..haiz also having the same worry as you.. Though I want her to enjoy her life as happy happy girl but still has to 'force' her to study and do homework :skeptical: . She is not like her ko ko.. -
firefly38:
:hi5:
:thankyou: vk2010!
ds' dream school has always been RI (his daddy's alma mater mah) so ds double-confirm will choose RI as his first choice.
like vlim, i'm still waiting for HCI's results. but to ds, dsa is over, with RI's CO
wow.... but US very far le...shall think about it ...
that is what my DS is asking ..... :faint:Pen88n:
email parents cannot see what they are talking about.......forum too open in case parents peeping..... :evil:
Augmum, nowadays the kids strategise early so as to get their parents to help fulfil their dreams. My fren's kid got the parents to bring him to US to visit Harvard and MIT after PSLE to get a feel of the uni and environment there!!!
Hi sunflowermom,
Thanks for sharing your experience. It's reasurring to hear your DD hasn't changed much after 2 years in RGS. Similarly, I have concerns about DD being too westernise and too outspoken but RGS is DD's dream sch.
When I accompanied DD to RGS for her interview, I was most impressed with how helpful & polite the gals were. DD and I were lost and some gals came up to offer assistance. While waiting for DD, I was walking around and the students who walked past me greeted me...(and no, I don't look like a teacher...haha). At the end of the day, I guess it all boils down to the child's character.
It's too easy to over-generalize students in a school as being a certain way. Personally, if I want my dd to grow up to be filial, humble, ladylike etc, I would imbue in her these values myself. Home and family are still the most important building blocks for a child and teenager's values and moral standards. If I instill these values in her well, and continually encourage these behaviors, I have no fear of her being influenced too much by her peers because her foundation is strong. Similarly, I do not expect the school to be the one teaching her these values.
RGS and NYGH are both very good schools. I would choose a school based on what it is able to offer my dd in terms of academic curriculum, how comfortable my dd would feel in the environment, and the opportunities that would come with being from RI(JC) and HCI(JC).[/quote][/quote]
:goodpost: Agreed with you fully, jtoh. I believe parents play a very important role in child's value & character though some character are really inborn. Sometime, my Ds will complain about his cousin being naughty. He likes to open shoe wardrobe & throw down all the shoes. However, his parents were ok with this action & did not score him. Simply ask the maid to pick up for him. In this case, how is the poor little boy going to know that his action is not right? -
yukilei:
Thanks yukilei.
:goodpost: Agreed with you fully, jtoh. I believe parents play a very important role in child's value & character though some character are really inborn. Sometime, my Ds will complain about his cousin being naughty. He likes to open shoe wardrobe & throw down all the shoes. However, his parents were ok with this action & did not score him. Simply ask the maid to pick up for him. In this case, how is the poor little boy going to know that his action is not right?jtoh:
It's too easy to over-generalize students in a school as being a certain way. Personally, if I want my dd to grow up to be filial, humble, ladylike etc, I would imbue in her these values myself. Home and family are still the most important building blocks for a child and teenager's values and moral standards. If I instill these values in her well, and continually encourage these behaviors, I have no fear of her being influenced too much by her peers because her foundation is strong. Similarly, I do not expect the school to be the one teaching her these values.
RGS and NYGH are both very good schools. I would choose a school based on what it is able to offer my dd in terms of academic curriculum, how comfortable my dd would feel in the environment, and the opportunities that would come with being from RI(JC) and HCI(JC).
RGS does emphasize on excellence but it doesn't mean that in doing so they don't emphasize on character building as well. The P frequently reminds the girls to be humble, to give back to society, and that being number one isn't the be all and end all. She encourages the spirit of trying and doing your best. Recently, RGS did very well at the Schools Nationals and SYF. The P congratulated the winning teams but specially singled out the school's Malay Dance. The Malay Dance girls had scored a silver at SYF while the rest of the school's SYF teams had scored Gold with Honours or Gold. She singled them out for special mention because she was so proud of them for doing well, because of the effort they put in. More than half the girls in Malay Dance aren't Malay but they all danced their hearts out as a team. It was the same for the sports girls. It didn't matter if you won a medal or not. You were called on stage and acknowledged by the school and your peers for trying your best. -
that is what my DS is asking ..... :faint:Pen88n:
Augmum, nowadays the kids strategise early so as to get their parents to help fulfil their dreams. My fren's kid got the parents to bring him to US to visit Harvard and MIT after PSLE to get a feel of the uni and environment there!!!
Guess my be Mr. verykiasu2010 always sing the song ι±ι±ι±, θεζι±........
Thanks yukilei.
:goodpost: Agreed with you fully, jtoh. I believe parents play a very important role in child's value & character though some character are really inborn. Sometime, my Ds will complain about his cousin being naughty. He likes to open shoe wardrobe & throw down all the shoes. However, his parents were ok with this action & did not score him. Simply ask the maid to pick up for him. In this case, how is the poor little boy going to know that his action is not right?yukilei:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]
RGS and NYGH are both very good schools. I would choose a school based on what it is able to offer my dd in terms of academic curriculum, how comfortable my dd would feel in the environment, and the opportunities that would come with being from RI(JC) and HCI(JC).
RGS does emphasize on excellence but it doesn't mean that in doing so they don't emphasize on character building as well. The P frequently reminds the girls to be humble, to give back to society, and that being number one isn't the be all and end all. She encourages the spirit of trying and doing your best. Recently, RGS did very well at the Schools Nationals and SYF. The P congratulated the winning teams but specially singled out the school's Malay Dance. The Malay Dance girls had scored a silver at SYF while the rest of the school's SYF teams had scored Gold with Honours or Gold. She singled them out for special mention because she was so proud of them for doing well, because of the effort they put in. More than half the girls in Malay Dance aren't Malay but they all danced their hearts out as a team. It was the same for the sports girls. It didn't matter if you won a medal or not. You were called on stage and acknowledged by the school and your peers for trying your best.[/quote]Hi jtoh, I agree with u 101%. I find the gals very proactive and have a lot of initiative too. :boogie: -
vlim:
Wonder tomorrow HCI will release DSA results or not huh.. :scratchhead: ...
What are the chances of getting CO from HCI if DS does not offer HMT?
Just hope that DS can get at least 1 CO... :xedfingers:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.