DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Ms tay

Ms tay:

[quote=\"Ms tay\"]Last yr there were some of the non-geps got co by ri but why this yr ....

:?

yes there was one last year who is a young artist, featured by mediacorp, held solo exhibition at Art House (former parliament house), UOB young painter of the year ..... truly talent beyond his peers ....also PSLE t-score 262

How about mainstream academic domain ?[/quote]
      Thanks for yr quick response. I think u have misunderstand my question , I was referring to this yr 2011 .

Tresille

Ms tay:
        Yes he applied for hci as well . I think the result will releast soon but I decide not to let my ds know till psle over as I afraid that he can't take it .

:thankyou: for the encouragement.
        Mainstreamer will have a better chance in HCI. Last year, quite a number from my ds class got offer from HCI but none from RI.

All the best to your ds :rahrah:

ngbrdad

yukilei:
          ngbrdad:

Pleasantly surprised when DS called me and said he received a WL for RI.

Well at least it's better than rejection............

That's good news ngbrdad. :congrats:

Thanks.
          Don't worry about your DS lah.
          He is doing very well in GEP now right ?

Lynn2010

Lynn2010:

Thanks. I just checked online too. Rejected lah.

Sorry to hear that, But Still Can Work Hard at PSLE and Score Big to Get In Right?
            Jia You!

Thanks!!

Lynn2010

Lynn2010:

Thanks. I just checked online too. Rejected lah.

Sorry to hear that, But Still Can Work Hard at PSLE and Score Big to Get In Right?
              Jia You!

Thanks!!

Blur Dad

yukilei:

Yap, this is what I've told him. To work hard now if he wants to join his friends. & I can see that he's putting in effort. But they're dragon babies. Think their cohort of boys are more too. So maybe more competitive.
                Sorry for my ignorant. If ACI does not have GE class like HCI & RI, then why are they consider as one of the IP sch for GEPers?
                To my understanding, there are 2-3 GEP classes in the first 2 years of the ASC(I) IP program. What I mean is that ACS(I) DSA application process is different from RI & HCI. There are no separate selection process from GEP and Non-GEP students and ASC(I) did not mention how many seats are for GEP and Non-GEP. DSA application to ASC(I) IP program is simple, just need to fill up the application form, write a personal statment and take HAST. Interview only when necessary. It is the same for GEP and Non-GEP students.

Publica

ngbrdad:
                  Publica:

[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]So quiet today ?

Gloomy weather all no mood to post ?
                  Has NJC sent out the corrected email already ? with proper timing for the interview ?
                  Ours is sent to Ds's email account so I can't check now.

Just received this mail from NJC:

Dear Applicant,
                  Due to the technical error, the Interview Date given in the email notification sent to you on 12 August 2011 is not appropriate.
                  Kindly ignore our email sent on 12 August 2011 on Phase 2B- Interview Session.
                  A new email will soon be replaced.
                  Please note that the 'Date for Interview' and 'Day Activity' are on the same day i.e 20 August 2011.
                  Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
                  Regards
                  NJCAdmission Team

Did you write to them ?
                  Strangely we didn't receive this email today.[/quote]No, did not write to them. Have not received further notification though.

• Y Offline
                    yukilei

ngbrdad:
                    yukilei:

[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]Pleasantly surprised when DS called me and said he received a WL for RI.

Well at least it's better than rejection............

That's good news ngbrdad. :congrats:

Thanks.
                    Don't worry about your DS lah.
                    He is doing very well in GEP now right ?[/quote]
                    So far still ard 80% for both P4 & P5 SA1. :xedfingers: for P6 SA1.

cestmoi

vlim:
                      cestmoi:

[quote=\"vlim\"]Actually mainstreamers must perform extra hard and outstanging for the top ip schools' DSA process inorder to be offered CO.. So 3 cheers to the kids!!! :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

:thankyou: vlim.
                      Frankly, DD was having a bout of bad flu when she sat for the final round in the GEP test during p3. If she had been in the pink of health & cld perform to her optimum, her DSA journey cld hv been mapped out differently. Though the family GP doc who has been seeing her since very young, pre-empted me that DD is gifted & to watch out for her... & when the crucial time came, I was like : what can I do, the flu bug likes her leh, keeping sticking on her! :rotflmao:)

Is ok .. She has miss out only 3 yrs of gep and I believe she has enjoyed her past 3 yrs of school life too .. Next yr onwards she will be joining the rest of the gep kids in nygh! Maybe tt is fate ... :imanangel:[/quote] 😉 Maybe can join gep only lor....all depending on her t score. :boogie: But then again, another set of worries may set in as to how she is going to cope as present gepers are already so well trained....:? 😆

cylg

Blur Dad:
                        yukilei:

Yap, this is what I've told him. To work hard now if he wants to join his friends. & I can see that he's putting in effort. But they're dragon babies. Think their cohort of boys are more too. So maybe more competitive.
                        Sorry for my ignorant. If ACI does not have GE class like HCI & RI, then why are they consider as one of the IP sch for GEPers?

To my understanding, there are 2-3 GEP classes in the first 2 years of the ASC(I) IP program. What I mean is that ACS(I) DSA application process is different from RI & HCI. There are no separate selection process from GEP and Non-GEP students and ASC(I) did not mention how many seats are for GEP and Non-GEP. DSA application to ASC(I) IP program is simple, just need to fill up the application form, write a personal statment and take HAST. Interview only when necessary. It is the same for GEP and Non-GEP students.

If u apply DSA to ACSI's IB programs & got selected...u will join the yr 1-4 pre-IB courses ( but if u didnt meet the req, u will be transfered to o lvl track & students from express classes who perform excellently will be a ble to join pre-IB classes)...

the actual IB programs starts at Yr 5....I m not good in explaining...so it's better for u to check their website on IB for more detailed info BUT they do have \"GEP\" program since it's one of the ex-sec schs for GEP students to continue theirs gifted education b4 it became an IP sch like RI/HCI etc.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 524 / 919