DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      yingxuan0806

vlim:
      yingxuan0806:

[quote=\"Lynn2010\"]Yingxuan,

When is your dd going for interview? MEP or SBC? Is this dd1?

im p6 lah.i went SBC

Yingxuan, good luck to your coming psle and hope u will go to your dream school eventually :rahrah:[/quote]haha tyvm i will try my best! πŸ˜„

Ms tay

:thankyou:

Tinkerbelle:
        Ms tay:

Expected, received rejected letter from ri. 😒

Hope ds will not lose his confident and keep working hard for the psle.

Hi Ms tay,
        Sorry to hear about it. Continue to provide lots of encouragement & support to your DS to focus on PSLE......can still try to get into RI with his PSLE score. Jia you! :rahrah:

:thankyou:

Funx3

4lessStress:
          Hi All,

Rarely here but having gone through the discussion and postings here, i wish to share my views:
          I feel that mainstream students, especially those who are strong in academics are gradually losing their lustre in the DSA exercise. I understand there is a category for students who excel in SMOP,NMOS and such and also another category for those who use their top subjects to apply under academic. However, i feel there is very slim chance of getting into the desired top IP schools under the above categories.
          It is a known fact that these schools prefer Geppers who also sweep most of the SMOP, NMOS top awards. So how do you think they will rank a mainstreamer who does well in the same cat? Obviously behind a gepper.

As for those who apply under academic using their top subject, don't you think the schools could just wait for the release of the PSLE results and do the sorting then to admit the student?

It is apparent that most congratulatory messages here are for the parents with Geppers. I share their joy. But I also empathise with those whose applications have failed. Do not be despair though, the real exam is PSLE, encourage your child on to do well. Anyway, PSLE is just one of the many exams in one's journey.

I feel that parents must identify what type of students the IP schools are seeking before you subject the child and yourselves to this grueling DSA exercise. If the selection is solely based on academics, then I feel the schools will not take the trouble to do this exercise...must as well wait for PSLE results as I have said earlier.
          Beg to Differ, 4lessStress ....

My Gal's Class Mate, who is Exceptionally Good at English (the Kind who Score 39 to 40 /40 for Compo) DSA successfully to RGS. According to My Gal, her Sch Results is in the Region of 80%, and not in the Top Class. So if the gal were to use her PSLE result to Apply to RGS, May not get in ....

So DSA for Main streamers do have a place .... But Agreed with U that it May Be getting More Difficult ....

Beg to Differ, 4lessStress ....

My Gal's Class Mate, who is Exceptionally Good at English (the Kind who Score 39 to 40 /40 for Compo) DSA successfully to RGS. According to My Gal, her Sch Results is in the Region of 80%, and not in the Top Class. So if the gal were to use her PSLE result to Apply to RGS, May not get in ....

So DSA for Main streamers do have a place .... But Agreed with U that it May Be getting More Difficult ....
            some girls from my DS class last year mainstreamer also got into RGS via DSA ...but t-score also 26x

Funx3

[quote=\"jtoh\"]After one week of orientation they won't even bother to ask which school they were from. As far as they're concerned, they're Rafflesians. πŸ™‚

Wah .... After ONE Week only can Achieve
              Rafflesians Sch Spirit .... and Loyalty ....
              Very Strong -hor ....
              :salute: :salute:

for the last 3 days of the first week first term, they eat sleep play work together with the seniors, ending in the initiation rite on friday nite ..... sure very raffia string spirit liao

err, i mean, rafflesian strong spirit[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
              vk2010 .... raffia string spirit Indeed!

So Do We Parents have to sponsor ....
              raffia string .... for the Initiation Nite?
              πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

Parent456

Tinkerbelle:
                Parent456:

Anyone with dd shortlisted for Cedar Girls interview ? Mine is attending interview next Mon. Much appreciated if anyone has any information to share.

Thanks

Parent456

Hi Parent456,
                :welcome: and good luck to your DD with her interview at Cedar. :rahrah:

Thanks

Tinkerbelle

Tinkerbelle:

Hi Funx3,

Sorry to hear about it. Good thing your DD had her eyes set on RGS...
                  and the best part is she can still continue to pursue her interest in R gym & dance. :rahrah:

:hi5: Our DDs will be sch mates next yr.

Yeah .... Let's Keep Each other in the Loop ....
                  And ....
                  keep each other company .... when We meet in the Sec Sch Thread Next Year!
                  :celebrate: :celebrate:

Actually My Gal is Lamenting ....
                  That Only 1 Classmate of hers (she knows to date) will be Joining her in RGS next year ....

Hi Funx3,
                  Sure thing....let's provide moral support for each other. :hugs:

Tell your DD not to worry. I'm sure she'll soon make lots of new friends. My friend's DD in RGS..... also DSA with R gym last year..... told me that the R Gym gals are in the same class (I think it's 108) and are all very close to one another. :rahrah:

iFirefly

vlim:

[quote=\"Funx3\"]quotOr Superman or Spongebob Squarepants πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

if superman, must wear it outside

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: ...omg...and it must be red one :laugh: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: ..cannot tahan anymore.. :rotflmao:[/quote]vlim, vk2010, funx3, jtoh, cestmoi.. are you sure you all dont know each other? you all chat like you have known each other for ages! :snuggles: your conversations are so funny & intimate :rotflmao: maybe we should start a club at RI when our ds go to RI next year.. maybe the
                    \"RI KSP Mums & Dads Club\"? :grphug:

• O Offline
                      Olive8

During the DSA interview, the school B’s interviewer asked my DS :
                      β€˜If you receive CO from both school A and School B, What is your 1st choice ?’.
                      He has replied honestly: β€˜school A’.
                      Will there be a negative impacts his answers ?

Thankyou

vlim

firefly38:
                        vlim:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]if superman, must wear it outside

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: ...omg...and it must be red one πŸ˜† :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: ..cannot tahan anymore.. :rotflmao:

vlim, vk2010, funx3, jtoh, cestmoi.. are you sure you all dont know each other? you all chat like you have known each other for ages! :snuggles: your conversations are so funny & intimate :rotflmao: maybe we should start a club at RI when our ds go to RI next year.. maybe the
                        \"RI KSP Mums & Dads Club\"? :grphug:[/quote]firefly38,
                        vk2010's ds is one yr our son senior and funx3's dd will be going rgs next yr and cestmoi 's dd will be going nygh next yr...So not same same la.. πŸ˜‰ ...anyway it is diff to talk in forum then to talk in person la..earlier one u can talk a lot of nonsense :rotflmao: ...To me it is like a diary tt will response.. πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 919

uu88betworldU
                        uu88betworld