DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

ngbrdad:

I think they want us to bring the kids home to freshen up if possible then return again.
      My boy took the Hast in Casual clothes but maybe school uniform may be more appropriate for interview.
      However considering the conditions of my boy's uniform maybe not a bad idea to go in casual.

PS. Reading thru the printout of the email, the attire was stated as P.E. attire lol.

better go back in full school uniform, nice shoes and school tie if possible lah - just like for psle oral exam.

quote=\"vlim\"]

bocmark:

[quote=\"Funx3\"]
        Aiyoh .... Didn't Know the White Uniform So .... Sexy One! 😆 😆
        Or U Mean .... U see thru the Uniform to the under w.... while U R Admiring the Boy's .... :shock: :shock:

That, would be the \"Bishan Gay\"'s \"job. I don't see him these days. He used to always be at J8 KFC. Heard he moved location in bishan to oogle at the boys now.

He's still around. Now he stations at the hawker centre. He is rather prominent with a walking stick. Oogle at my Ds even I was walking beside my son :pokeeye:[/quote]which hawker centre is that? :scared:[/quote]

the one that you always park yourself at

wmd

Otah:
          ngbrdad:

[quote=\"wmd\"]My friend DS who is from mainstream and applied under maths domain, but rejected by RI also. I know the boy is a very capable kid who is one of the top students in a SAP school in west area. He got high distinction 2011 UNSW science. won distinction in RI Math, Platinum in SMOPS, Gold (one of top 30th) in NMOS, Gold ACS Math Olympics. Distinction for ABRSM piano Grade 8,school prefect, completed 2-year MOE TTLT program……. Unable to figure out WHY being rejected.

Surprised that this boy was not in GEP.
          Did the parents ope not to enrol him in GEP ?
          Only one 2 SAP schools in the west and both have GEP right ?

Some were drilled hard for the results. There are always top top mainstreamers not selected for GEP at P3. These are usually the disciplined and hard workers. There were those who always get scolded by tr for not paying attention in class but clear the GEP selection.[/quote]2 SAP w GEP, 1 SAP W/O GEP

• phankaoP Offline
            phankao

bocmark:

[quote=\"Funx3\"]
            Aiyoh .... Didn't Know the White Uniform So .... Sexy One! 😆 😆
            Or U Mean .... U see thru the Uniform to the under w.... while U R Admiring the Boy's .... :shock: :shock:

That, would be the \"Bishan Gay\"'s \"job. I don't see him these days. He used to always be at J8 KFC. Heard he moved location in bishan to oogle at the boys now.

He's still around. Now he stations at the hawker centre. He is rather prominent with a walking stick. Oogle at my Ds even I was walking beside my son :pokeeye:[/quote]Aiyoh - many many years ago when I didn't know who he was, I shared table at a very crowded KFC with my little boy!!!!!!!!!!!! urgh.

bocmark

That, would be the \"Bishan Gay\"'s \"job. I don't see him these days. He used to always be at J8 KFC. Heard he moved location in bishan to oogle at the boys now.[/quote]

He's still around. Now he stations at the hawker centre. He is rather prominent with a walking stick. Oogle at my Ds even I was walking beside my son :pokeeye:[/quote]

which hawker centre is that? :scared:[/quote]

the one next to J8, can't remember if it's S11 chain, diagonally opposite RI. Once he came and sit next to DS across the aisle in bus, and took a photo at him. :mad:

vlim

quote=\"vlim\"]
                bocmark:

[quote=\"phankao\"]That, would be the \"Bishan Gay\"'s \"job. I don't see him these days. He used to always be at J8 KFC. Heard he moved location in bishan to oogle at the boys now.

He's still around. Now he stations at the hawker centre. He is rather prominent with a walking stick. Oogle at my Ds even I was walking beside my son :pokeeye:

which hawker centre is that? :scared:[/quote]the one that you always park yourself at[/quote]

hey uncle u come and :pokeeye: again huh....
                want to know so tt i can station at different location.. :evil:

• G Offline
                  gleemom

I empathise with the parents who are disappointed by the DSA exercise so thought I’d put my 2 cents worth.

Independent schools usually allot 50% of Sec 1 places through DSA, though they can allot more. As such, what they do is they parcel out the places into the various academic domains, sports, arts, etc. Given the large number of these domains, there is a limited number of places per domain, perhaps as low as 3-4 places. There was a very upset mother who ranted in the newspaper about how her DD had to go through many gruelling rounds of tests, interviews, etc and then get a reject letter. She actually suggested that the school state upfront how many places are available for each domain, so that the students can then decide to whether they stand a good chance. I’m not sure if any of these schools are prepared to share this information, but wouldn’t hurt to check before applying for the DSA.

I too have been through similar joys & disappointments. Definitely wouldn’t want to go through the waiting and anxiety again. I think the most important thing for parents is to manage expectations, and should the child fail in his/her DSA, immediately put all disappointment aside and concentrate on PSLE. Many ‘rejects’ who are actually very good eventually end up in the schools of their choice anyway.

Maybe those with reject letters should tear up the letters once and for all. Don’t have the letters hanging around to remind and discourage the child. Start afresh! Plan for a good family break after the PSLE! Stay happy, healthy and focused! And start counting down to the end of PSLE!

vlim:

want to know so tt i can station at different location.. :evil:
                    you should be there to counter him mah :evil: :evil: :evil:

vanilla mum

vlim:
                      He's still around. Now he stations at the hawker centre. He is rather prominent with a walking stick. Oogle at my Ds even I was walking beside my son :pokeeye:

the one that you always park yourself at[/quote]

want to know so tt i can station at different location.. :evil:[/quote]

Vlim, tot you want to share your view with him :evil: :boogie:

ngbrdad

Publica:
                        Thanks. Just confirm our attendance.

However the timing not very ideal.
                        Day activity finish at 11.
                        Then must go back for interview again at 3.
                        Ya lor...my DD's is 230. Guess they want to do the interview after their lunch break. So what do we do....sit there & admire NJC...hee. Guess we will head home first then return again.[/quote]

I think they want us to bring the kids home to freshen up if possible then return again.
                        My boy took the Hast in Casual clothes but maybe school uniform may be more appropriate for interview.
                        However considering the conditions of my boy's uniform maybe not a bad idea to go in casual.

PS. Reading thru the printout of the email, the attire was stated as P.E. attire lol.[/quote]

DS was allocated interview time at 12.45pm and has to report at 12.30pm. Will not have time to go home to freshen up. So no choice, have to bring uniform for him to change to. Hope he doesn't get too sweaty during the activity.[/quote]

You may want to pack lunch there as well.
                        The canteen was not really open during the Hast test so doubt they will open this Sat since there will be fewer people.
                        Nearest makan place is Sixth Avenue.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 919