DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

Errrrrrrrr ....
      Who is this In-Famous Guy .... Or Ah-Pek huh?:
      This ... is the Bishan Gay:
      http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_3jrnYV596oA/Rh8D5Oo4jsI/AAAAAAAAABc/otmoOypEizw/s320/Bishan+gay+1.jpg

He would hang around the area the whole day - lots of boys from surrounding boys' schools - CHS, RI. Then at the end of the afternoon, he'd take the bus to hang around SJI bus-stop before continuing his journey. But I think now he shifted to AMK liao. hehe. Bc I saw him around there early in the morning in exercise attire walking around.

Oh, and there KSP thread on this too:
      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9620

pinky88

pinky88:

[quote=\"phankao\"]

Better lah - then won't have risk of white skirt looking like \"japanese flag\".

Tat's a gd one n one of my worries too

Think Sch Shd Have Lots of Spare Btm Half .... For Such Emergencies ....[/quote]I actually told my DD to bring extra juz in case...hee

Paddy Field

Paddy Field:

Congrats to all who hear from ACSI.

I rec'd phone call to attend the principal talk this Friday too. Did not expect to get this as I thought most of their slots will be given to he ACSP and ACSJ boys.

DS likes the IB program but I cannot imagine having to cope w 2 CCAs in the midst of such heavy workload.

Any parents has any feedback on this?

:congrats:

Thank you jtoh.

pinky88

:congrats: to all who rec'd COs fm ACSI :rahrah: :rahrah:

Tinkerbelle

Tinkerbelle:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]

They did that in Year 1 at RGS too.

Hi jtoh,
              Is this maths presentation a generic project for all Year 1 at RGS? Or it is just for the GEP classes? Tks.

My dd's in a GEP class but I'm assuming the worksheet's generic. Is your dd in RGS?[/quote]No, DD is not in RGS now. Has a CO from RGS so will be there next year. She's a mainstreamer so I guess there'll be lots of adjustment to the learning styles, projects and presentations etc. Might :imdrowning: initially...Hopefully, she'll eventually pick up these new skills. 😂

Paddy Field

gleemom:
                Congratulations to all who are joining ACS IB. DS in program started with 2 cca's in sec 1. Managed to drop to 1 cca in sec 2 as he takes 3rd Lang so it's just impossible to fit in the schedule. I think athletes who are in school team can also be excused from another cca. Let the boy try out in sec 1 then see how things go from there. DS likes the curriculum and is having fun there 🙂 Principal is also well-liked by the boys in general.

Thank you for the feedback, gleemom. It is comforting to hear about DS adjustment in ACSI.

Do the parents have to write in to request for a stop in the cca or are all those who take 3rd language exempted automatically?

TwaTau

Paddy Field:

I rec'd phone call to attend the principal talk this Friday too. Did not expect to get this as I thought most of their slots will be given to he ACSP and ACSJ boys.

DS likes the IB program but I cannot imagine having to cope w 2 CCAs in the midst of such heavy workload.

:congrats: double CO from RI and ACSI.
                  With smart kid like yours, shouldn't be a problem to cope with multitasking and the workload. The other school will probably will have similar heavy loading in both academy and cca.

Paddy Field

TwaTau:
                    Paddy Field:

:congrats: double CO from RI and ACSI.
                    With smart kid like yours, shouldn't be a problem to cope with multitasking and the workload. The other school will probably will have similar heavy loading in both academy and cca.

:thankyou: TwaTau

My DS SA1 results is only border-line 80%. But he has some accolades that may boost his application. And he is very vocal, so it may have left an impression with e RI interviewers. But ACSI I did not really look thru his personal statement, so cannot comment much.

• G Offline
                      gleemom

For ACSI start with 2 CCAs first in sec 1 then see how things progress. You should ask Mr Hodge on Friday regarding your concerns. I have a child in IB & another in A-level track. All IP schools have tough programs as they expect the students to be more mature & disciplined in their schedules. Projects, presentations, etc plus criteria for promotion to meet. But most will settle in to the pace by mid to end sec 1.

clayman

clayman:

Congrats!! My son also just received the CO from ACSI. So relieved!! Will be meeting the new principal this Friday. Really eager to hear what directions he has for the school.

Is your sona GEPper and from ACS too??

:congrats: clayman!
                        So your ACS boy will Continue his Sec Sch Journey in ACSI ....

Thanks funx3.

Yes he is a die-hard ACSian so I suppose it is a no-brainer. He thinks the IB will be more his cup of tea.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 919