DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

vlim:

πŸ˜† πŸ˜† :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: this year's DSA produced the most number kiasu questions from kiasu parents !

there will be more kiasu and sauku http://i54.tinypic.com/30nhcsj.jpg\">
      qns for you to answer till end of this year.. πŸ˜‚

This thread is slowing down already. The next influx of questions will come when PSLE results are out and parents want to know which school to apply for. We should start a new thread for that when the time comes.

• Lenny08L Offline
        Lenny08

Hi Firefly38,

May I clairfy this ?

"as long as your psle t-score is high, you can appeal after the release of psle results, regardless if you have gotten a CO, WL or NO CO/WL at all during DSA."

Does it mean that if you apply xx school, not successful at all, u still can appeal for it with high COP before deadline of S1 submission?I thought the school will only filter through s1 posting only?Thanks.

Best Wishes,
        Lenny

• Y Offline
          yukilei

ngbrdad:
          Strparent:

[quote=\"Funx3\"]Result of So Much Talk on Appeal ....

Till Some Parents Kepala Pusing ....

Funx3,

I read le, also headache !

Lao uncle really zu kong zu luan, until I bong zar zar le.

I try to explain ; basically to summarise :

DSA is separate from S1 posting.

Those who has CO and/or WL from the DSA applications, filled up according to their choice(s) earlier. Usually put your favourite school 1st choice ( be it CO or WL ). if have 2nd choice as CO, it is backup.

When PSLE results out, those with DSA will know if they get into their sch of choice. Those with CO as first choice, auto get it. Those with Wl as first choice, may get it - if not , will get into the 2nd choice CO ( if any ).

The DSA route then ENDS here. All the rest apply thru S1 posting.

for those who were given sch of their 2nd choice or 3rd choice, if their PSLE is like say 263 and above, MAY choose to APPEAL immediately to their 1st choice DSA sch through the supplementary.
          for those who without CO and not given any sch, just do the S1 posting ( if high Tscore then can get lor ).
          for those who were on WL and not given their 1st choice sch, and f your PSLE is good, normally u stand a good chance.

anyone who changed their mind after getting posting of sec sch, may also appeal thru supplementary intake.

GAT need to be taken only if they did not take during DSA.

All the rest, just use PSLE Tscore to apply thru S1 posting.

hope I also not like the other lao uncle make u tao tia.

Just one last question.
          My DS only has a WL from RI and no other DSA offer.
          We will put this as first choice on the option form.
          So we will know the fate on PSLE results day.
          If no CO and the T score is around previous year COP, just apply again thru S1 posting.
          No other step need to be take.

Am I correct ?[/quote]ngbrdad, I think it's best to be a little be KS... apply again (ie appeal) to RI again immediately since it's mentioned in RI website that can appeal immeidately. Just tat I don't understand if appeal to RI, then can still apply thru S1 posting exercise???? :scratchhead:

• Y Offline
            yukilei

vlim:
            Ngbrdad,

As what vk2010 mentioned , in tt case quickly go appeal again and hopefully good news come before u need to submit the usual S1 selection form .....! πŸ˜„
            but vlim, I thought the S1 selection form has to be submitted within 1 week of psle result as well???? then if appeal, RI don't response within 1 wk how??? :scratchhead: getting confused

jtoh

Lenny08:
              Hi Firefly38,

May I clairfy this ?

\"as long as your psle t-score is high, you can appeal after the release of psle results, regardless if you have gotten a CO, WL or NO CO/WL at all during DSA.\"

Does it mean that if you apply xx school, not successful at all, u still can appeal for it with high COP before deadline of S1 submission?I thought the school will only filter through s1 posting only?Thanks.

Best Wishes,
              Lenny
              It depends on the school. Some schools will only entertain appeals after the S1 Central Posting exercise. Others, like RI, have a supplementary intake exercise which begins on the day that PSLE results are released. So it's best to check with the school concerned. Some will have the info up on their website already.

Strparent

I am just a normal parent sharing my understanding and experience in DSA. not an expert, LOL. Many other parents have helped me last year with their inputs, so I am just sharing mine, where i can.

yukilei:
                I thought the S1 selection form has to be submitted within 1 week of psle result as well???? then if appeal, RI don't response within 1 wk how??? :scratchhead: getting confused
                Yukilei,

if u have no CO via DSA, and really apply thru appeal/supplementary just after PSLE, and if no response within a few days, make sure you submit your S1 posting choices before deadline. Any acceptance from sch of yr choice, will overrule the S1 posting - the sch will help u on how to withdrawal and such. But dont get stuck in a situation with no secondary sch at all !!
                ngbrdad:
                My DS only has a WL from RI and no other DSA offer.
                We will put this as first choice on the option form.
                So we will know the fate on PSLE results day.
                If no CO and the T score is around previous year COP, just apply again thru S1 posting.
                No other step need to be take.
                Am I correct ?
                Ngbrdad,
                You may still appeal to RI after PSLE if you have good Tscore, as you had a WL, which counts for something as a 'joker card' for appeal, but the Tscore must be near the COP or higher.

Bro, I share your concern and understand yr situation now.
                Listen, dont worry, just talk to yr DS and encourage/motivate him to excel in his PSLE so that he can join his friends in his dream sch. The key is still the PSLE results.

KSPs, IF your child scores well, above 265 eg, dont be so kiasu and waste yr time go appeal and apply via S1 posting at the same time. Just apply the sch of yr choice via S1 posting, that kind of score will get him/her into her first choice.

The appeal thing is quite stressful, and involves some running around to and fro with withdrawal/forms/submissions etc - but what to do ? Our baobeis πŸ˜† . Hope they remember all our kanchiong efforts in the future and appreciate lao pei lao bu's full support and efforts.

Good luck and get yr darlings to work hard for PSLE. :salute:

I went through that last year, and hope next year wont be so hectic when DD is P6 :nailbite: :nailbite:

LangMum

It depends on the school. Some schools will only entertain appeals after the S1 Central Posting exercise. Others, like RI, have a supplementary intake exercise which begins on the day that PSLE results are released. So it's best to check with the school concerned. Some will have the info up on their website already.
                  Hi jtoh,

Do u know if HCI has got the same supplementary intake immediately after release of PSLE result?

Is it possible to appeal to more then 1 school?

hipomum

meaning if not independent school, like NJC, cannot appeal after release of PSLE results? Also if T- score is high, then actually no need to appeal wad, if T score can meet the school's COP.....

Can double confirm this again? \"those DSA applicants who with NO confirm offer or wl at all \" from RI still can appeal meh? And before or after getting PSLE result ?[/quote]

as our two legendary masters shi-fus have said, as long as your psle t-score is high, you can appeal after the release of psle results, regardless if you have gotten a CO, WL or NO CO/WL at all during DSA.

that means, as long as you have participated in the DSA exercise, you can appeal after the release of psle results. if you do receive good news before S1 deadline, then you do not need to submit S1 form. but if you do not receive good news before S1 deadline, then you can apply again through S1 form.

you asked if you should appeal before or after getting psle results. how can one appeal BEFORE getting psle results? use 'what' to appeal??? :scratchhead: :slapshead:[/quote]

these different scenarios of appeals are possible because the INDEPENDENT school has 100% discretion to make admission decision. I guess people did not pay attention to the words \"independent\" and \"discretion\".......[/quote]

jtoh

yukilei:
                      vlim:

Ngbrdad,

As what vk2010 mentioned , in tt case quickly go appeal again and hopefully good news come before u need to submit the usual S1 selection form .....! πŸ˜„

but vlim, I thought the S1 selection form has to be submitted within 1 week of psle result as well???? then if appeal, RI don't response within 1 wk how??? :scratchhead: getting confused

If you don't hear from your appeal school, you MUST submit your S1 central posting form.

jtoh

LangMum:

Hi jtoh,

Do u know if HCI has got the same supplementary intake immediately after release of PSLE result?

Is it possible to appeal to more then 1 school?

I'm not familiar with HCI's appeal process. Maybe one of the other parents here can help?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 800 / 919