DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      iFirefly

ngbrdad:
      yukilei:

No lah, I don't feel like I've no space here. Just tat I realise there's lots of RI supporter here. I understand how the parents feel. Which parents don't want their kids in the top school?

I've shared this forum w my ds too. But not to pressurize him. More on telling him how difficult it is in order to get into top school. He has to work hard. Sometime, even if he works hard, he might not get wat he want but at least he tried.

I personally think distant is a very impt factor. My place is far fm RI, think will take abt 1hr 15min to reach. So I thought he should choose a sch nearer home if he has a choice.

On the west side a lot of choices actually.
      NUSH, ACSI, RVH, HCI, NJC

Ngbrdad, will you 孟父三迁 if your DS gets into RI? 😉

ngbrdad

firefly38:
        ngbrdad:

[quote=\"yukilei\"]

No lah, I don't feel like I've no space here. Just tat I realise there's lots of RI supporter here. I understand how the parents feel. Which parents don't want their kids in the top school?

I've shared this forum w my ds too. But not to pressurize him. More on telling him how difficult it is in order to get into top school. He has to work hard. Sometime, even if he works hard, he might not get wat he want but at least he tried.

I personally think distant is a very impt factor. My place is far fm RI, think will take abt 1hr 15min to reach. So I thought he should choose a sch nearer home if he has a choice.

Ngbrdad, will you 孟父三迁 if your DS gets into RI? 😉[/quote]Cannot lah.
        DS2 still got 2 more years of primary school.
        Now he walks to school one leh.

iFirefly

ngbrdad:
          firefly38:

[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]

Ngbrdad, will you 孟父三迁 if your DS gets into RI? 😉

Cannot lah.
          DS2 still got 2 more years of primary school.
          Now he walks to school one leh.[/quote]Your DS2 also in Nan Hua GEP? Wow!! Never mind lah, next time change to DS1 walks to school (RI) and DS2 takes school bus lor.. 😉 😂

ngbrdad

firefly38:

Your DS2 also in Nan Hua GEP? Wow!! Never mind lah, next time change to DS1 walks to school (RI) and DS2 takes school bus lor.. 😉 😂
            Aiyah my DS1 only WL not CO from RI . Not sure going there yet.
            DS2 is in twinning programme at Nan Hua, not GEP calibre lah.
            Both my boys have been at Nan Hua since Pri one. Balloted for DS! after we moved to within one km from the school.

ngbrdad

To all who stay in the west and are considering RI, I just tried the circle line today.

Time listed for travel between Buona Vista and Marymount by SMRT is 14 min.
              Time walking between 2 platforms is 4 min.
              Time from Clementi to Buana Vista by mrt is 4 min.
              So factoring in ample waiting time , it takes only around 30 min to travel from Clementi to Marymount using the circle line.

So to travel in leisure for my DS and not be late, latest to leave home should be around 6.30 am.

Strparent

Ngbrdad,

that is good first hand information indeed, nice of you to share.

considering the distance, the time mentioned is not that bad at all.

We stay much nearer to RI, but DS also has to leave home by 640am daily by bus.
                Any later, I have to wear my chauffeur cap liao. :evil:

I am sure many kids leave earlier than 630am. DS has a classmate staying in Jurong, I heard he leaves about 6am daily. 😓

BTW, hope your son did well in the recent PSLE :xedfingers:

Good luck

ngbrdad

Strparent:
                  Ngbrdad,

that is good first hand information indeed, nice of you to share.

considering the distance, the time mentioned is not that bad at all.

We stay much nearer to RI, but DS also has to leave home by 640am daily by bus.
                  Any later, I have to wear my chauffeur cap liao. :evil:

I am sure many kids leave earlier than 630am. DS has a classmate staying in Jurong, I heard he leaves about 6am daily. 😓

BTW, hope your son did well in the recent PSLE :xedfingers:

Good luck
                  Thanks.
                  It depends a lot on the reliability of the MRT system.

iFirefly

ngbrdad:
                    firefly38:

Your DS2 also in Nan Hua GEP? Wow!! Never mind lah, next time change to DS1 walks to school (RI) and DS2 takes school bus lor.. 😉 😂

Aiyah my DS1 only WL not CO from RI . Not sure going there yet.
                    DS2 is in twinning programme at Nan Hua, not GEP calibre lah.
                    Both my boys have been at Nan Hua since Pri one. Balloted for DS! after we moved to within one km from the school.

Oic.. so you have already 孟父三迁 six years ago to get your DS1 into Nan Hua 😄 ! Wow, your DS2 is in Nan Hua twinning programme, he must have done very well too (at least he must have cleared GEP Test Round 1 to be selected for the twinning programme). You must be very proud of your 2 boyz! :salute:

ngbrdad:
                      To all who stay in the west and are considering RI, I just tried the circle line today.

Time listed for travel between Buona Vista and Marymount by SMRT is 14 min.
                      Time walking between 2 platforms is 4 min.
                      Time from Clementi to Buana Vista by mrt is 4 min.
                      So factoring in ample waiting time , it takes only around 30 min to travel from Clementi to Marymount using the circle line.

So to travel in leisure for my DS and not be late, latest to leave home should be around 6.30 am.
                      thanks for the info. circle line is helpful.

vlim

MandyMummy:
                        Just received email from HCI to attend the Hwa Chong DSA Parents Symposium on 22 Oct 2011 (Sat) at the Hwa Chong Institution High School Auditorium. 😄           

Other then email, they also mailed out the letter with original letter with red Colour HCI logo ... Not a phtostated one .... 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 828 / 919

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog