DSA 2011
lidat is not Blur Dad ...... it is more like Pressurizing Dad....got many other equally good schools lah ... NJC, VJC/VS, SJI, St Nick, MGS, SCGS, Cedar, Cat High, RVH, DHS, CGS and so on[/quote]Blur Dad:
[quote=\"yukilei\"]ai yo, when I share my colleagues comment with KSP here, my intention is to tell daddies & mummies here don't only think abt RI.. must also think whether the distant is far far away from home.... but who knows... all the topics are on RI school again...
That's the power of RI !!!!!
but at least we know what time does RI starts now.
Does this story tells you that if you don't belongs to the \"same class\" (RI), you have no space here.....
I tried to use this forum to motivate my DS. I told him : \"If you want to be like those Uncles and Aunties in this forum to discuss about RI/HCI and all the stories and experience when they were in RI/RJC/HCJC/HCI with their head held high up. You have to work extremely hard for your PSLE to get yourself a place in RI\" If not...
Haha, this is the real world manz!!! Pressurizing Dads, mums, schools, teachers. Even reading the forum also feels than pressurizing.....
In this fourm, very little dicussion about other schools besides, RI/HCI/RGS/NYGH. Very few uncles and anuties share their \"proud\" experience other than the top 2 schools. This is a very clear singal sent out. Social Mobility. -
Blur Dad:
No lah, I don't feel like I've no space here. Just tat I realise there's lots of RI supporter here. I understand how the parents feel. Which parents don't want their kids in the top school?yukilei:
ai yo, when I share my colleagues comment with KSP here, my intention is to tell daddies & mummies here don't only think abt RI.. must also think whether the distant is far far away from home.... but who knows... all the topics are on RI school again...
That's the power of RI !!!!!
but at least we know what time does RI starts now.
Does this story tells you that if you don't belongs to the \"same class\" (RI), you have no space here.....
I tried to use this forum to motivate my DS. I told him : \"If you want to be like those Uncles and Aunties in this forum to discuss about RI/HCI and all the stories and experience when they were in RI/RJC/HCJC/HCI with their head held high up. You have to work extremely hard for your PSLE to get yourself a place in RI\" If not...
I've shared this forum w my ds too. But not to pressurize him. More on telling him how difficult it is in order to get into top school. He has to work hard. Sometime, even if he works hard, he might not get wat he want but at least he tried.
I personally think distant is a very impt factor. My place is far fm RI, think will take abt 1hr 15min to reach. So I thought he should choose a sch nearer home if he has a choice. -
yukilei:
On the west side a lot of choices actually.
No lah, I don't feel like I've no space here. Just tat I realise there's lots of RI supporter here. I understand how the parents feel. Which parents don't want their kids in the top school?
I've shared this forum w my ds too. But not to pressurize him. More on telling him how difficult it is in order to get into top school. He has to work hard. Sometime, even if he works hard, he might not get wat he want but at least he tried.
I personally think distant is a very impt factor. My place is far fm RI, think will take abt 1hr 15min to reach. So I thought he should choose a sch nearer home if he has a choice.
NUSH, ACSI, RVH, HCI, NJC -
ngbrdad:
Ngbrdad, will you εηΆδΈθΏ if your DS gets into RI?
On the west side a lot of choices actually.yukilei:
No lah, I don't feel like I've no space here. Just tat I realise there's lots of RI supporter here. I understand how the parents feel. Which parents don't want their kids in the top school?
I personally think distant is a very impt factor. My place is far fm RI, think will take abt 1hr 15min to reach. So I thought he should choose a sch nearer home if he has a choice.
NUSH, ACSI, RVH, HCI, NJC
firefly38:
Ngbrdad, will you εηΆδΈθΏ if your DS gets into RI?
On the west side a lot of choices actually.ngbrdad:
[quote=\"yukilei\"]
[/quote]Cannot lah.
DS2 still got 2 more years of primary school.
Now he walks to school one leh. -
ngbrdad:
Cannot lah.
Ngbrdad, will you εηΆδΈθΏ if your DS gets into RI?firefly38:
[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]
On the west side a lot of choices actually.
DS2 still got 2 more years of primary school.
Now he walks to school one leh.[/quote]Your DS2 also in Nan Hua GEP? Wow!! Never mind lah, next time change to DS1 walks to school (RI) and DS2 takes school bus lor..
firefly38:
Aiyah my DS1 only WL not CO from RI . Not sure going there yet.
Your DS2 also in Nan Hua GEP? Wow!! Never mind lah, next time change to DS1 walks to school (RI) and DS2 takes school bus lor..

DS2 is in twinning programme at Nan Hua, not GEP calibre lah.
Both my boys have been at Nan Hua since Pri one. Balloted for DS! after we moved to within one km from the school. -
To all who stay in the west and are considering RI, I just tried the circle line today.
Time listed for travel between Buona Vista and Marymount by SMRT is 14 min.
Time walking between 2 platforms is 4 min.
Time from Clementi to Buana Vista by mrt is 4 min.
So factoring in ample waiting time , it takes only around 30 min to travel from Clementi to Marymount using the circle line.
So to travel in leisure for my DS and not be late, latest to leave home should be around 6.30 am. -
Ngbrdad,
that is good first hand information indeed, nice of you to share.
considering the distance, the time mentioned is not that bad at all.
We stay much nearer to RI, but DS also has to leave home by 640am daily by bus.
Any later, I have to wear my chauffeur cap liao. :evil:
I am sure many kids leave earlier than 630am. DS has a classmate staying in Jurong, I heard he leaves about 6am daily.
BTW, hope your son did well in the recent PSLE :xedfingers:
Good luck -
Strparent:
Thanks.Ngbrdad,
that is good first hand information indeed, nice of you to share.
considering the distance, the time mentioned is not that bad at all.
We stay much nearer to RI, but DS also has to leave home by 640am daily by bus.
Any later, I have to wear my chauffeur cap liao. :evil:
I am sure many kids leave earlier than 630am. DS has a classmate staying in Jurong, I heard he leaves about 6am daily.
BTW, hope your son did well in the recent PSLE :xedfingers:
Good luck
It depends a lot on the reliability of the MRT system.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.