DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Tinkerbelle

Strparent:
      I think it is a diplomatic way of saying -

You applied to us via DSA, we then offered you a CO;
      you have chosen us as 1st choice and we accept and reserve a spot for yr DD.
      Perhaps you only got a WL for NYGH or failed to make it to NUSH, and if after PSLE results, yr DD got a super >270 Tscore, dun make us mahuan and apply for appeal to other schools after we already commit to each other hor.
      :goodpost:
      Love your diplomatic summary. Clear as crystal. πŸ˜‰

vlim

Tinkerbelle:
        vlim:

In case u change your mind ... We r allow to amend our submission from now till 28/10 for onetime only ... πŸ˜‰

Oic.... So the final statement is actually directed to parents who are thinking of 'abandoning' RGS after putting them as 1st choice..... :evil:

I guess maybe what they mean is ' keep your promise hor... Don't make us troublesome by transferring our later... So take it or leave it ...' πŸ˜‰

Snow Crystal

cluelessmom:

Yep.....exactly.....I have no idea y so........ Peer influence? Hmmmmm, she is a little wavered...... I still dun get it.....
          On COP, like what vks2010 said, the COP for NYGH for affiliated NYPS girls is 250 flat or even 247 if you score HCL distinction(+3). For schools like NYGH which is more of similar category to MGS and SCGS etc in terms of allowing affiliated primary sch girls to enter at a much lower pre set COP, the remaining vacancies for S1 posting are in relation much more limited, thus leading to the seemingly higher S1 COPs for such schools. For some of such schools, the non affiliated girls who enter via S1 posting may constitute only up to 2 classes of the whole secondary 1 cohort. For affiliated schs, please refer to both affiliated COP and S1 posting COP to get a better picture πŸ˜‰
          On the other hand, RGS has no affiliated primary sch ie other than DSA, it's largely public offering, no private placement πŸ˜„
          Beyond COP, NYGH vs RGS each has its merits and beauty :evil: and you can refer to another thread with relevant heading.

MandyMummy

ngbrdad:
            Just submitted the form.

Me , DW and DS1 sit in front of the computer .
            6 pairs of eyes checked thru everything.
            DS2 was trying to distract us in the background.

But it's really a very very simple process.

Printed the acknowledgement and saved soft copy.
            I submitted yesterday too. Pretty simple. Actually, when you key in the 4-digit school code, the school name will be reflected, so less error of keying in the wrong school. πŸ˜„

TREX8

Hi Tinkerbelle, we put RGS as second choice but still get that email ... So now even more puzzling

- why send out that email only AFTER we have submitted our DSA preference
              - how does RGS track the submission so that system knows when to send out the email (since submission is through moe website, not RGS website???)
              :scratchhead:

Tinkerbelle:
              vlim:

[quote=\"Tinkerbelle\"]Hi Trex8,
              I also receive the 'Acceptance of Offer' email from RGS after submitting the DSA preference form online yesterday. Like you, I was surprised when I read the email. Completely agree with you that the email seems to be

targeting the wrong audience.

The strangest thing was the email ended with:

We hope you will consider our offer to you carefully and we look forward to you joining the RGS family in 2012.

:scratchhead: I was thinking why do we need to consider their offer carefully when we have just submitted our preference? This statement seems more applicable before parents submit their preference online. πŸ˜‰

In case u change your mind ... We r allow to amend our submission from now till 28/10 for onetime only ... πŸ˜‰

Oic.... So the final statement is actually directed to parents who are thinking of 'abandoning' RGS after putting them as 1st choice..... :evil:[/quote]

but why do parents want to β€˜abandon’ RGS, after putting it as 1st choice ?

ngbrdad

Snow Crystal:
                  cluelessmom:

Yep.....exactly.....I have no idea y so........ Peer influence? Hmmmmm, she is a little wavered...... I still dun get it.....

On COP, like what vks2010 said, the COP for NYGH for affiliated NYPS girls is 250 flat or even 247 if you score HCL distinction(+3). For schools like NYGH which is more of similar category to MGS and SCGS etc in terms of allowing affiliated primary sch girls to enter at a much lower pre set COP, the remaining vacancies for S1 posting are in relation much more limited, thus leading to the seemingly higher S1 COPs for such schools. For some of such schools, the non affiliated girls who enter via S1 posting may constitute only up to 2 classes of the whole secondary 1 cohort. For affiliated schs, please refer to both affiliated COP and S1 posting COP to get a better picture πŸ˜‰
                  On the other hand, RGS has no affiliated primary sch ie other than DSA, it's largely public offering, no private placement πŸ˜„
                  Beyond COP, NYGH vs RGS each has its merits and beauty :evil: and you can refer to another thread with relevant heading.

Sometimes I wonder why they never try to affiliated RGPS with RGS .
                  Just becos they have different management committee ?

bec RGS only want to attract & recruit top girls from all primary schools in SG (including neighbourhood schools), not just confined to RGPS alone.

NYGH tend to attract more girls from SAP schools.

jtoh

ngbrdad:
                      Snow Crystal:

[quote=\"cluelessmom\"]

Sometimes I wonder why they never try to affiliated RGPS with RGS .
                      Just becos they have different management committee ?[/quote]Why would they want to? RGS is already a premier school without affiliation. Having an affiliated school will only bring down the calibre of the general student population because they would be obliged to take in students from an affiliated primary school at a lower COP compared to the general student population. Having an affiliated primary school only serves to benefit RGPS not RGS. Already schools with affiliations are trying to raise their affiliated COPs but are facing the wrath of current parents. Why step into a frying pan when you don't need to?

Strparent

TREX8:
                        we put RGS as second choice but still get that email ... So now even more puzzling

- why send out that email only AFTER we have submitted our DSA preference
                        - how does RGS track the submission so that system knows when to send out the email (since submission is through moe website, not RGS website???)
                        hi Trex8,

firstly, GRATZ to yr DD successful COs in DSA.
                        you are right, the schools would probably not know your choices yet through submission via MOE. therefore, I am guessing RGS is sending to all their CO applicants.
                        therefore, there should be another hidden diplomatic message to those who have a few COs, making their choices.
                        [quote]\"DSA is a two way commitment - schools will honour the offer made to the student and the student, should likewise, commit to the school once he/she accepted the offer. Thus schools should not accept transfer requests by DSA student solely based on PSLE results, however well these students have done in the recent PSLE.\"

I think it is a diplomatic way of saying -

You applied to us via DSA, we then offered you a CO;
                        you have chosen us as 1st choice and we accept and reserve a spot for yr DD.
                        Perhaps you only got a WL for NYGH or failed to make it to NUSH, and if after PSLE results, yr DD got a super >270 Tscore, dun make us mahuan and apply for appeal to other schools after we already commit to each other hor.

[i]footnote : for those applicants who have a few COs, pls think carefully which sch u choose as first choice.
                        if u choose us as 1st choice, we will gladly welcome u
                        if u forgo us, and choose xxxx as 1st choice, it's okay, we will allocate that spot to someone else who value us more.
                        BUT tell u first hor, later dun later get PSLE results, find that many of yr DD's frens going to RGS, then decide to change yr mind and come back appeal, kpkb that u HAD a CO, and results is solid, and demand that u should automatic get back yr spot. We may not accept you anymore, since you were the one who rejected our offer to start with.
                        Like we said in our email initially, IT is a 2-way commitment

So, think carefully before submission. I think MOE is pissed from making all the last minute changes in previous years and is trying to discourage this practice. :imanangel:

seriously, CloudeeDaz is right - it must be a pain for MOE and affected schools to keep changing the students roster, even at the last minute ( some only get successful appeals right at the end Dec or beginning of the new term ! )

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 919