DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      ngbrdad

sunflowermom:
      It seems that there are still many choosing RI instead of HCI, RGS instead of NYGH. Why? It there something in RI and RGS that I am not aware of? Is it 越难得到的就越好?

For some the main factor is the high demand on HCL in both NYHG and HCI. Plus the Chinese culture and tradition. So kids just don't feel they belong there.
      We didn't DSA for HCI at all becos DS1 simply refuse to.

Ironically some schools in our back up plan are SAP schools. Guess if reach that stage really have no choice.

vlim

cestmoi:
        vlim:

[quote=\"cestmoi\"]

😢 Poor thing! Speaking of it....we have not yet made our submission! :yikes:
        Will do so when dd is back. 🕺

why wait for so long.....please key in asap... 😓

😂 THANKS, vlim!
        DH is out of town & he was still in two minds whether to wait for S1 posting (since dd results has always been above 27X for the past few exams) & apply for RGS OR heck it & confirm the offers with NYGH as first choice & DHS as second. I told dd of ur dragonfruit story & she remained firm on her stand - NYGH. Initally we were apprehensive if she was buay song with rgs for rejecting her in dsa...BUT time passed & dd preference for NYGH grew more & more as she researched further. So after a final round of MSN discussion with DH, we decided to support dd & seal her fate with NYGH. The final button was pressed & she is as happy as a lark now! :rotflmao:[/quote] 😂 ..Congratulation cestomi..then NYGH is your dd's dragaon fruit ! :rahrah: :celebrate: :boogie: 🕺

cestmoi

TREX8:
          Hi cestmoi, so your DD's also going to NYGH! I suppose as long as the kids are determined enough to make a stand, and their decision is a good decision, it would be good to support them.
          cestmoi:

[ 😂 THANKS, vlim!
          DH is out of town & he was still in two minds whether to wait for S1 posting (since dd results has always been above 27X for the past few exams) & apply for RGS OR heck it & confirm the offers with NYGH as first choice & DHS as second. I told dd of ur dragonfruit story & she remained firm on her stand - NYGH. Initally we were apprehensive if she was buay song with rgs for rejecting her in dsa...BUT time passed & dd preference for NYGH grew more & more as she researched further. So after a final round of MSN discussion with DH, we decided to support dd & seal her fate with NYGH. The final button was pressed & she is as happy as a lark now! :rotflmao:

😄 Hi TREX8! Yeah, DD is firm on NYGH & so are the rest of the Top 3 in DD sch. Both boys are joining HCI. Cheers! :rahrah:

Snow Crystal

cestmoi:

😄 Hi TREX8! Yeah, DD is firm on NYGH & so are the rest of the Top 3 in DD sch. Both boys are joining HCI. Cheers! :rahrah:
            cestmoi - you and your DH are very supportive parents who let the DD decide :celebrate:

cestmoi

vlim:
              cestmoi:

[quote=\"vlim\"]

😢 Poor thing! Speaking of it....we have not yet made our submission! :yikes:
              Will do so when dd is back. 🕺

why wait for so long.....please key in asap... 😓

😂 THANKS, vlim!
              DH is out of town & he was still in two minds whether to wait for S1 posting (since dd results has always been above 27X for the past few exams) & apply for RGS OR heck it & confirm the offers with NYGH as first choice & DHS as second. I told dd of ur dragonfruit story & she remained firm on her stand - NYGH. Initally we were apprehensive if she was buay song with rgs for rejecting her in dsa...BUT time passed & dd preference for NYGH grew more & more as she researched further. So after a final round of MSN discussion with DH, we decided to support dd & seal her fate with NYGH. The final button was pressed & she is as happy as a lark now! :rotflmao:[/quote] 😂 ..Congratulation cestomi..then NYGH is your dd's dragaon fruit ! :rahrah: :celebrate: :boogie: 🕺[/quote]

:hugs: Thanks vlim! All the best to ur ds @RI too! :rahrah:

sunflowermom

ngbrdad:
                sunflowermom:

It seems that there are still many choosing RI instead of HCI, RGS instead of NYGH. Why? It there something in RI and RGS that I am not aware of? Is it 越难得到的就越好?

For some the main factor is the high demand on HCL in both NYHG and HCI. Plus the Chinese culture and tradition. So kids just don't feel they belong there.
                We didn't DSA for HCI at all becos DS1 simply refuse too.

Ironically some schools in our back up plan are SAP schools. Guess if reach that stage really have no choice.

Initially DS refused to DSA HCI as he is one of those die die must go RI type and also he was worried about the high demand of HCL in HCI.

But lately he said he wanted to put HCI as his first choice and at the same time to improve his chinese, thus we think the best place should be a SAP school. Fortunately we managed to convince him to DSA HCI as a back up. The advantage of being kiasu.

Today, he told me a few of his classmates who has multiple COs (and die die want to go RI type) put HCI as their 1st choice. :yikes:

Ngbrdad, I hope this is good news for you. Your son's WL is like a CO liao and you can abolish the back up plan already.

ngbrdad

sunflowermom:

Initially DS refused to DSA HCI as he is one of those die die must go RI type and also he was worried about the high demand of HCL in HCI.

But lately he said he wanted to put HCI as his first choice and at the same time to improve his chinese, thus we think the best place should be a SAP school. Fortunately we managed to convince him to DSA HCI as a back up. The advantage of being kiasu.

Today, he told me a few of his classmates who has multiple COs (and die die want to go RI type) put HCI as their 1st choice. :yikes:

Ngbrdad, I hope this is good news for you. Your son's WL is like a CO liao and you can abolish the back up plan already.
                  :thankyou:

However I do feel a bit paiseh that as a Hwa Chong alumni , my son didn't even try DSA for HCI. Really eaten too much kantang already.

cestmoi

Snow Crystal:
                    cestmoi:

cestmoi - you and your DH are very supportive parents who let the DD decide :celebrate:

😂 Hi Snow Crystal, DD's love for Chinese language & her long list of reasons that she presented to us just gave us no room to say no to her. :rotflmao: The initial reluctance from DH to agree fully with her was because dd's character & leadership abilities would fit her in the Rafflesian family. Nonetheless, she has to be happy as to where she goes..🕺 So he gave her his blessings eventually! As for me, I am with NYGH from the start. Haha! 😂

ngbrdad:

However I do feel a bit paiseh that as a Hwa Chong alumni , my son didn't even try DSA for HCI. Really eaten too much kantang already.
                      this type quite common place lah

cestmoi

ngbrdad:

this type quite common place lah

:imanisland: ngbrdad, if this helps u to feel better, dh is from RI & my dd will be joining NYGH....we also paisei pasiei! :oops: :oops:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 876 / 919

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo