2010 P1 Registration Exercise for 2011 In-Take
KCP should be affiliated to Presbytarian (sorry about the spelling) churches. No harm asking the school.
Your official NRIC address is TPY right? And it's within 1km from Pei Chun? I'm not too sure if the statistics there, but you can check it out & see if balloting was done for the past few years. If no, then maybe you can consider?
For Andersong, are you intending to move back to your own place soon? The MUP works finishing soon? If yes, all you need to do is change your NRIC address back to AMK. Not a big deal
Hi Mummy_Tang!
Mummy_Tang:
Pei Chun is a very popular school, hence, not surprising!Since early last year(2008), I started to call Pei CHun to enquire abt distance and PV, they said they are closed since 2007!! My god!!
Mummy_Tang:
Since your IC has already been changed to Toa Payoh, within 1 km from Pei Chun, you are considered to be staying in Toa Payoh, not Ang Mo Kio, even though the property in Toa Payoh doesn't belong to you....Our address on ICs are also changed to Toa Payoh and its been like 2.5yrs already.
Hence, when it comes to P2C, you are in the within 1 km category. Based on the past balloting history of Pei Chun, you are eligible to participate in the balloting. It's a matter of how many people fighting for every vacancy.Mummy_Tang:
Not sure which church is Kuo Chuan affiliated to. Based on the balloting history, balloting was required for those staying 1-2 km in P2C.Any idea if Kuo Chuan is affiliated to any church? We started to go to one of the church along adam road, but not sure if the church is affilated to any schools.
Mummy_Tang:
Likewise, for Anderson Primary, balloting was required for those staying between 1 and 2 km from the school. However, if you want to send your child to Anderson, you need to change your IC to reflect your Ang Mo Kio address, before you can be considered in the within 1 km category.5) ANderson primary....
although our ICs' address are not AMK, but we hse is there.....
Final decision? It depends on your priorities. If you send your boy to Anderson, will you have any logistics issue? Based on balloting history, the safer bet will be Anderson, as opposed to Pei Chun.
In Toa Payoh, besides Pei Chun, the other school, Kheng Cheng, is also quite a good school, imho. -
mrswongtuition:
I think there's a girl's school near SK, CHIJ Nativity in Hougang.twinnies mummy:
Hi all, I'm a newbie here. I need to register my gal next year for P1. I know that it's too late to sign up for PV for the schools of our choice. When I read the forums, I see parents starting as early as 3 years ahead.....It's so stressful even to register for P1 now if we want to enrol in a good school.
The nearest school to my place is Anchor Green & Nan Chiau which is less than 1km.
My hubby was an old boy of ACJC, any girl schools such as MGS affiliated to it for Phase 2A1???
We are considering an all girls school such as St Nicholas, MGS or SCGS but we do not fall within the 2km range. Any advise or experience to share???
:?:
Or you can try PLMGS in Lor Ah Soo (Hougang Ave 1).
The above 2 schools are quite alright in terms of distance. Results-wise, you'll need to check it out.
Btw, are you a baptised Christian attending a Methodist church? If yes, then you can get a letter from your church Pastor-in-charge to register your girl into any Methodist school (MGS, PLMGS, Geylang, Fairfield).
If you are Catholic, I think you can request for a letter to get into the CHIJs. I'm not too sure about this cos I'm not Catholic, but you probably can ask around.
Hi mrswongtuition,
My girl attends a church kindergarten but both of us are not baptised Christians nor Catholics. Neither do we attend a church. Therefore we wouldn't be able to get recommendation letter from churches. Would it be too late if we would to join one now since my girl has been attending a church kindergarten for 2 years???
Pls advise.
:?: -
Hi Qms and mrswong, Thanks for yr advise!
Need to Qtn abt changing address back to AMK, does the school looks at the time line of the IC address, as in the case of PV (must start 1yr b4 and clockXXhrs)? i.e, how long b4 registration was it change?Likewise, for Anderson Primary, balloting was required for those staying between 1 and 2 km from the school. However, if you want to send your child to Anderson, you need to change your IC to reflect your Ang Mo Kio address, before you can be considered in the within 1 km category.
Final decision? It depends on your priorities. If you send your boy to Anderson, will you have any logistics issue? Based on balloting history, the safer bet will be Anderson, as opposed to Pei Chun.
In Toa Payoh, besides Pei Chun, the other school, Kheng Cheng, is also quite a good school, imho.
We shld be returning late 2011(end of ds P1) to amk if nothing goes wrong. We will have to work out some logistic issues with my mum.
I will go check out Keng Cheng also in the meantime.
Thanks a million!!! -
twinnies mummy:
Hi again! If you intend to join and attend a church now, it may also be too late cos the pastor will consider your length of time at the church and your level of commitment. It's very difficult for him to write a recommendation letter for you when he knows so little about you. He may also have guidelines to follow to be fair to other members of the church.Hi mrswongtuition,
My girl attends a church kindergarten but both of us are not baptised Christians nor Catholics. Neither do we attend a church. Therefore we wouldn't be able to get recommendation letter from churches. Would it be too late if we would to join one now since my girl has been attending a church kindergarten for 2 years???
Pls advise.
:?: -
hi twinnies mummy,
Church kindys donβt count towards primary schools; and you have to make sure that the church you attend IS affiliated to the school in question (different denominations etc). If you are seriously contemplating this route, talk to the pastor/admin office.
Also, church membership does not entitle you to school entry. At most you get a chance at Phase 2B. You will have to evaluate if your home address is within the right distance for that particular target schools - else, it could all be in vain. -
for catholics, you need to get your girl baptised and get a baptism cert. BUT, are you willing to let your gal be a catholic or you just want to baptise her because of the sch?? if you are sure that you want to let your gal go for baptism, you need to find a Godmother for her who must be a catholic.
Catholic Church kindy has no affiliation with schs.
hquek is right. even if u r a member of the church, at most, you will only be in phase 2B.

smurf:
FYI, there are NO kindergartens in Singapore that have affiliations with primary schools, regardless of whether they have the same name.Catholic Church kindy usually has not affiliation with schs.

you are right.
Hi Mummy_Tang!
Mummy_Tang:
Please go through the http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3311 on P1 Registration. You will find the answers to your questions.Need to Qtn abt changing address back to AMK, does the school looks at the time line of the IC address, as in the case of PV (must start 1yr b4 and clockXXhrs)? i.e, how long b4 registration was it change?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.