Networking Group - JCs General

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    3.9k Posts 434 Posters 979.8k Views 1 Watching
      notredame

ryanryan:
      notredame:

This will be even more biased if it's really MOE's intention. :faint: It will be wiser to nurture DHS (IP), NYJC (popular among a diverse group) and the list goes on which have proven track record than to embark on a new JC with JAE COP similar to AJC. Don't take offense. Just stating facts.

Why biased ? Would you think that MOE would go all the way to set up an new IPJC for 3 of the best secondary schools in Singapore to let it turn out to be just a mediocre institution ? It would be plain stupidity, isn't it ?

DHS(IP) already have its through train students from yr 1 to yr 6. NYJC is already affliated to Chung Cheng. What are you talking about ?

Given the calibre of the students in the 3 feeder schools, would you think they will be interested to IP through-train to a mid tier college such as AJC ? Most of them would be able to qualify for higher tier JCs if they were to take the O levels, which will be a far better option then getting stuck to AJC ( no offense, just stating facts)

Well, it could be due to poor planning (everyone makes mistakes) and/or pressure from the alumni of the 3 sec schs that it was set up? Remember there was a long questionable delay in the construction of EJC new building. Guessing only, mata please don't catch me. πŸ¦†

Since all (IP) schs are good (IP) schs, surely anyone with the right calibre can go to any existing IP sch. Why must set up EJC? So that the affiliated PSLE graduands can join the 3 sec schs as their alumni are keen to preserve their own heritage. They want their DCs to do IP in own home-ground so EJC was created lah. Not so much like MOE purposely creates EJC to specially groom them to be an elite group like what some parents here are hoping. πŸ¦†

Don't belittle AJC. There are still a large percentage of O level track students in the 3 sec schs who can't make it to IP. Who is so sure none will go AJC/MJC/PJC/YJC? My friend said IJC/YJC got SNG/SCGS/CHS ex-students too.

Earlier, I meant if MOE is keen to intervene and nurture a new JC to be top JC, they might as well look at JCs like DHS and NYJC to groom first. Popularity is determined by the 'free market' as can see from EJC JAE cut-off point. MOE doesn't and shouldn't pick and groom any particular JC.

You are free to dream on anyway.

P/S: wah, see the way you talk like your book-smart DC is worth a million bucks whereas other peoples' DCs are like sh*+#@. I can't help but worry for our future generation if your DC has your influence and suay suay become our future leader man.

notredame

ryanryan:
        Sieg:

For what these noble people have contributed to our society, do we have to give priority and special treatment to our top students these days as they will be future leaders as well? Maybe yes. But are we doing them good by such partial treatment?
        Maybe not.

Given the list of illustrious alumni that RI have produced that have benefitted Singapore immensely, why not ?

πŸ˜“ :slapshead: πŸ™ for our future generation

stetan

Sieg:
          stetan:

[quote=\"Sieg\"]
          Why irrelevant? I am comparing JC issues happening in the same timeline. .

Its irrelevant because if you claim you are speaking out for the welfare of the less academically inclined , then the ITE chaps would be the most disadvantaged, no ? As I remember somebody did mentioned that the JC cohort forms the top 25% of the entire same age population.

Don't try to dodge the subject if you have nothing better to defend. You probably can't find the answer to my query too right?
          All ITE students are treated as equal and not that some are told to merge due to dwindling birthrate issue while others can anticipate new modern premises for the same birthrate reason. I think our ministers have done a great job on that so far so I ain't going to touch on this.My question is, why is your kid entitled to something better than others? Don't you feel for those affected? All because they are less exam-smart or academically-inclined so their hard work should be ignored?
          Are those in top JCs guaranteed to be more work savvy, uphold better moral value, or excel in other talents in comparison?

You are the one trying to dodge the subject.. You claimed that you are fighting for the rights of those that are not smart but yet chose to deliberately cherry pick and avoid including the group of students that are the least academically inclined which went to ITE. Again I ask you, did the ITE students not get big modern and grand buildings from the govt ? Or are you upset because your alumini or you children JC's/alumni is being absorbed ? Or are you just plain jealous that other JCs have facilities that you or your children did not had/have ?
          Sieg:
          The 4 absorbing JCs also have guaranteed cohort input..
          Dwindling, no doubt and that's why there is a need to merge

So you agree that both EJC and the absorbing JCs have guaranteed cohort input. Then why should EJC be treated favourably in comparison? One will get new modern building while others will lose their names and a big part of heritage along with them in the same year.

I agreed that that the merged JCs have a dwindling input. Do you not understand what is meant by dwindling ? Why keep barking at a mute point?.

What do you think of housing EJC students in the ex-SRJC premises come 2019?..

That's is up to MOE and the 3 feeder school to discuss. As somebody mentioned here, there is no problem EJC to go independent like RI or HCI if they wanted. But do you really want to have another top independent college ?

TBH, I would love to have another independent college as a taxpayer. Surely those who yearn to be in EJC but can't afford to can easily apply for financial assistance from the way you put it. Whether it will emerge top or not is for the future to tell.

You are making things so simplistic. Of course you can apply financial assistance. But what if you are in the middle or lower-middle class ? You may not get the financial assistance yet the independent school fees will still be a significant burden to you.

As somebody have mentioned, it would be plain stupidity for MOE to build a new IPJC for 3 of the best secondary school in Singapore to let it become only mediocre
          Sieg:
          I asked if your DC is in EJC, which I have already confirmed that, as I would like to know your opinion and to put yourself in the shoes of the affected alumni.
          So you are in one of the affected alumni ? It's no wonder than you have such strong views[/quote]You are wrong. I belong to the same alumni as most of our ministers' offsprings in my time. We are a humble JC without many facilities.Thus I am able to understand the plight of the average students better. My ex-JC inculcated upholding justice for everyone esp the weak, not just speaking up only if it benefited our own selfish needs. πŸ˜‰

I just hope that you are as altruistic as you claim to be. But to quote ryanryan, please do not have the mindset that just because you or your children did not have it, you must remove it from others to make things equal. Everybody has a fair chance to do well in the PSLE/GCE levels to go to a better school. The process is entirely transparent. The facilities are opened to all. If you don't get to go RI, HCI , EJC , don't be sore and complain as though the system have done you great injustice. You have only yourself to blame for not taking the opportunity to ace the PSLE/GCE. Education, as our late LKY have said is the great leveller in life.

If you really want to \"stand up for the weak\". there is no point just do verbal ranting in this forum, as jetsetter would say, go write to the ministries , write to the MOE ministers.

ryanryan

notredame:

Well, it could be due to poor planning (everyone makes mistakes) and/or pressure from the alumni of the 3 sec schs that it was set up? Remember there was a long questionable delay in the construction of EJC new building. Guessing only, mata please don't catch me. πŸ¦†
            Poor planning on what ? Merger of JCs ? That I will not know. But I know that when my previous company was merged/closed down, it was because of decreasing sales and it has nothing to do with poor planning from my directors. They just could not accurately predict the demand of the market, however hard they tried.
            notredame:
            Since all (IP) schs are good (IP) schs, surely anyone with the right calibre can go to any existing IP sch. Why must set up EJC? So that the affiliated PSLE graduands can join the 3 sec schs as their alumni are keen to preserve their own heritage. They want their DCs to do IP in own home-ground so EJC was created lah. Not so much like MOE purposely creates EJC to specially groom them to be an elite group like what some parents here are hoping. πŸ¦†
            This comment reflects your sheer ignorance. Let me ask you, if all the ACSI students were forced to IP to RI, would all of them want to? You just do not understand school rivalry and differences in school culture. Also, all of the IP colleges already have their own feeder schools, so are you suggesting that RI also get the feeder students from CHS, SCGE,SNGS in addition to RI and RGS? Then that will not leave any space for JAE students, right ?

I am so glad you are not Education minister :siam:
            notredame:
            Don't belittle AJC. There are still a large percentage of O level track students in the 3 sec schs who can't make it to IP. Who is so sure none will go AJC/MJC/PJC/YJC? My friend said IJC/YJC got SNG/SCGS/CHS ex-students too.
            I am not belittling AJC. But when you give an example, at least give a workable example. Don't suka suka give an example that just come into your head. If it were so easy, then there would not be a MOE team to decide all this.

First, let me correct your ignorance , the \"O\" level track students do not go to IP. You must be in the IP track to make it to IP. All the 3 schools have dual tracks if you are not aware. So what are you talking about when you said \"There are still a large percentage of O level track students in the 3 sec schs who can't make it to IP\"? :scratchhead:

All schools will have students that do not perform as well. Is it a surprise to you that there is a small percentage of students that falls off the beaten path? But how many of these SNG/SCGS/SNGS students are in IYC/YJC ? 1 or 10 or 100 ? Care to share?
            notredame:
            Earlier, I meant if MOE is keen to intervene and nurture a new JC to be top JC, they might as well look at JCs like DHS and NYJC to groom first. Popularity is determined by the 'free market' as can see from EJC JAE cut-off point. MOE doesn't and shouldn't pick and groom any particular JC..
            DHS is already IP. What are you talking about again ? As to NYJC, they already have their feeder schools from Chung Cheng. To be in IP, the general implicit rule floating around is that the feeder schools should have a minimum Tscore of around 250.

EJC JAE first year cutoff point of 9 is only indicative for the JAE enrollment which form only about 33% of the entire cohort. Are you saying the rest of 67% of the IP students from SCGS/SNGS/CHS are also having these cutoff ? Where are your data from ?
            notredame:
            You are free to dream on anyway.
            What is the purpose of this comment ?
            notredame:
            P/S: wah, see the way you talk like your book-smart DC is worth a million bucks whereas other peoples' DCs are like sh*+#@. I can't help but worry for our future generation if your DC has your influence and suay suay become our future leader man.
            I can assure you that the feeling in completely mutual. πŸ˜„

• G Offline
              Grandypa

So if my HDB flat does not have lifts that stop at every floor, should I kao beh kao bu and demand that all flats that have such conveniences be rid of this privilege? To me that seem to be quite a communist ideology and a looser mentality. Four legs good. Four legs good

Sieg

stetan:

I just hope that you are as altruistic as you claim to be. But to quote ryanryan, please do not have the mindset that just because you or your children did not have it, you must remove it from others to make things equal. Everybody has a fair chance to do well in the PSLE/GCE levels to go to a better school. The process is entirely transparent. The facilities are opened to all. If you don't get to go RI, HCI , EJC , don't be sore and complain as though the system have done you great injustice. You have only yourself to blame for not taking the opportunity to ace the PSLE/GCE. Education, as our late LKY have said is the great leveller in life.

If you really want to \"stand up for the weak\". there is no point just do verbal ranting in this forum, as jetsetter would say, go write to the ministries , write to the MOE ministers.[/b][/color]
                Not to worry, I had already emailed the relevant authority and planned to meet my MP in person even before I post my views here.

I linger around to simply clarify some misconceptions people have on our average students who prefer the JC route, etc and that having kids who are gifted or/& super kiasu in studies doesn't warrant one to act like her kids are superior over others who aren't very good in studies but have the positive attributes and other talents.

You are indeed shallow and conceited so let's end here. :slapshead:

stetan

Sieg:

Not to worry, I had already emailed the relevant authority and planned to meet my MP in person even before I post my views here.

I linger around to simply clarify some misconceptions people have on our average students who prefer the JC route, etc and that having kids who are gifted or/& super kiasu in studies doesn't warrant one to act like her kids are superior over others who aren't very good in studies but have the positive attributes and other talents.

You are indeed shallow and conceited so let's end here. :slapshead:
                  You lingered around to reinforce your position that less academically inclined students are disadvantaged, which I have shown is not the case as the govt are building grand modern buildings for these students as well.

Frankly, as I read jetsetter's post, I also do not understand what's the big fuss. Schools have always been merged or closed for decades. Companies get merged or acquired too. Jobs get redeployed or eliminated completely. That's the cycle of life. The only positive thing you can do for yourself is - Move on then wallow in self pity.

For kids that are not that academically inclined, the govt have always provided alternative pathways for these children, abeit a longer route. It's like you are not good in swimming, but you still want to force yourself into competitive swimming and demand that the other top swimmers \"slow down\" to cater to your speed ? And then continue to complain why the coaches are sending the top swimmers overseas for privilege training but not you. Why not take up something else that you are good at, for example. running?

Lastly, I have always have great disdain for people that cannot articulate their position with relative conviction and yet have to resort to personal attacks. That's where the true colours of the person really manifests.

Sieg

Grandypa:
                    So if my HDB flat does not have lifts that stop at every floor, should I kao beh kao bu and demand that all flats that have such conveniences be rid of this privilege? To me that seem to be quite a communist ideology and a looser mentality. Four legs good. Four legs good

You cannot akin housing issues with those of education. One involves your personal wealth such that you go get a landed property if you have the means and in anyway, subsidized upgrading are in place for all older HDB flats so no need to kbkb.
                    On the other hand, MOE made students wear uniform, signifying a fair and uniform system for all.

Why do I even bother to respond to your looser mentality... scared of loosing that ivory tower for your kid is it?

• G Offline
                      Grandypa

Sieg:
                      Grandypa:

You cannot akin housing issues with those of education. One involves your personal wealth such that you go get a landed property if you have the means and in anyway, subsidized upgrading are in place for all older HDB flats so no need to kbkb.
                      On the other hand, MOE made students wear uniform, signifying a fair and uniform system for all.

Why do I even bother to respond to your looser mentality... scared of loosing that ivory tower for your kid is it?

I do not quite get your point as your post was a little incoherent. So are you saying its ok to kpkb to demand that HDB remove lifts that stop at every floor when yours diesn't?

• G Offline
                        Grandypa

blurblob11:
                        Grandypa:

Great post by jetsetter in the other thread

Frankly, I dunno who the people making noises are. Some are parents with kids in JCs attended by Ministers' kids, i.e. they are from top JCs like VJC or NJC. They themselves were non-alumni of any of the 28 affected schools, unless they otherwise admit in this forum. As far as I know, only 2 KGMs have mentioned they were from AJC and while they lamented about the merger and possible slide in COP, they aren't going to petition or do anything at all. Other noisemakers aren't teachers or staff from the affected schools it seems.

The hardcopy ST covers a lot more stories on the mergers. Most netizens jumped at the dribs and drabs because they obtained snippets from forums (sometimes backdated ST links or blocked links because you're limited to 15 ST online articles per month!) but actually I get a better picture and more balanced perspective after reading the hardcopy news articles like Zaobao and ST. For instance, I didn't get the impression the teachers were disgruntled. Perhaps they were but were muted by media. But at least from ST report, I know the Singapore Teachers' Union is already working in concert with affected teachers on the transition.

Likewise, from ST hardcopy, I learnt that while JJC alumni were sad that their 30yo JC is going to go down in history, they have come to terms with the merger and will be engaging alumni on the merger at a meeting next month and has already started collecting feedback from them, including asking for ideas on how the new JC’s identity can be shaped.

I'm also baffled why some altruistic champions of lower income/late bloomers aren't sticking their necks out for those affected primary and secondary schools, but only those 8 JCs.

Some of the affected primary schools have a longer history (Shuqun Pri School 1925; Da Qiao Pri Sch 1936; ) than the new and under-subscribed JCs. I found out from Zaobao article that Macpherson Primary School was Chan Chun Sing's alma mater. Even the Minister's alma mater wasn't spared in this mass merger.
                        http://origin-www.channel8news.sg/news8/singapore/20170421-sg-schools-merger/3695934.html

Why aren't the noisemakers kicking up a big fuss over these heritage pri schools? Why take aim at EJC whose brandnew campus was already agreed upon during the JIP negotiations among stakeholders and alumni, and cast in stone/rubber-stamped in the blueprint some 8-10 years ago, i.e. before this current rookie minister decided to merge the 8 non-IP JCs? I think it's unfair to take aim at EJC because the students have already been sensible and magnanimous enough to occupy the temp campus in Mount Sinai for 2 years after the outcry in 2015.

If the parents of those 8 JCs are so upset (or some crusaders with no vested interests in any of the 28 schools), they should muster their courage to write in to the Minister, start a petition or Meet their MP to express their grievances, like the parents of those 3 heritage schools of EJC. MOE sat up to engage the stakeholders, because the immediate stakeholders cared enough to take ownership of their case to voice out their concerns through proper channels.

However, I don't see any alumni of those affected JCs taking ownership to start any petition or write to MOE at all. They seem ok that their / DC's lower-tier JCs are being merged and shut down. Why? Either they have no pride of, no affinity to those under-subscribed govt JCs and secondary schools or they are just 'empty vessels' in a public forum, unlike those EJC indept/govt-aided school stakeholders 2 years ago. Who's going to bother with you if you are too ashamed to fight for your alma mater?

I think you KBKB the loudest. Really a pot calling kettle black.
                        There are only a handful of jcs and it's the first time they are merging them so of course netizens can express their views in social media. You can't understand such simple logic?
                        Also, students of jc going age are more matured and smarter so they have stronger sentiments than when they were in pri or sec schools. You must have never experienced jc life right hence your nonsensical comments.
                        The way you 'suan' those people who don't have strong alumni or calling those jcs as' empty vessels too ashamed to fight' is really uncalled for. Your DC in EJC with COP 9 so what's there to ya-ya papaya? Aren't you afraid that your 3rd generation will get their retribution?
                        Like what someone mentioned, you are afraid of losing the new building for your kid and I know you feel very insecure that EJC COP is exactly the same as the affected AJC. Pathetic!!

Wow. Do you need to curse jetsetter's 3rd generation? You are writing as though you have some 深仇倧恨 with her. Over a JC merger?

Gosh. You are just behaving like a 泼妇ιͺ‚θ‘—

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 200 / 392