All About T-Score
karenmok:
Someone told me that any score lower than 250 is the end of the world - at least for your child. Is this true? Sorry, I am new in Singapore and hence don't understand all this. Thanks for help...
If it is true, it will be end of the world for 90% of the PSLE students & parents. Only top 10% achieve 250 & above. There is still O level, A level etc... Top O level or A level students might not be top PSLE students. What do you think, Karen? Do you still agree with that someone? -
magiccastle:
If can score well n go to good schs, the child will feel n make his parents proud. But very child is different. Some are late bloomer especially the boys. I have a friend whose boy scored 263 in PSLE. He is a smart boy but played too much n ended up didn't do well in O n A level . Now ended can't get in local Unv n have to go SIM. I have another friend , his boy scored 232 n went to a neighborhood catholic school. Later went VJC n now in medical school in NUS.
Top O level or A level students might not be top PSLE students. Don't give up on your kids and ask them don't give up on themselves. -
mummy so kiasu:
Hi, I am new to this thread. But looking at my DD's school GEP, many have already gotten CO and expecting CO from either, if not both RGS or NYGH. Most of them are in a holiday mood.
Top schools can depend on their top students from GEP classes to push up it's overall performance. We have to make fair comparison, only compare their mainstream performance.
I also told my DD to relax as she has been working a lot the past 3 years because of their heavy workload. So I am really not expecting them to hit high 260s or past 270.
mummy so kiasu:
Hi, I am new to this thread. But looking at my DD's school GEP, many have already gotten CO and expecting CO from either, if not both RGS or NYGH.
Top schools can depend on their top students from GEP classes to push up it's overall performance. We have to make fair comparison, only compare their mainstream performance.
Most of them are in a holiday mood.
I also told my DD to relax as she has been working a lot the past 3 years because of their heavy workload. So I am really not expecting them to hit high 260s or past 270.
Happy Mummmmm:
Happy Mummmmm
Hi, I am new to this thread. But looking at my DD's school GEP, many have already gotten CO and expecting CO from either, if not both RGS or NYGH.mummy so kiasu:
Most of them are in a holiday mood.
For RGPS case this is not true, there are expectation from the school for GEP classes to take the lead in PSLE T-Score. Even most are with multiple COs, a lot of emphasis and pressure for them to do exceeding well. For DD (2010) and last year PSLE, the top 10 to 20 student are invariably from GEP class of P,Q or R. 3 months before PSLE, the GEP teachers tuned them to taking PSLE and most of them would scored well above 255. Those GEPpers not lacking or poor in MT will score well above 260. -
I think scoring 250-260 is a given. They do not need much effort to do that.
But going beyond 265, they really need to push themselves a little bit more to get a few marks here and there, and not to make any careless mistakes.
My DD and her friends are already taking things easy. I too told her that she can take things easy, but if she wants to contribute to her school and to be fair to herself, she should put in her best. Frankly, my heart is aching lor.
I make sure she does something fun and different everyday. We go for ice-cream,rollerblading, swimming, movie, science syposiums, teahouses, etc. Or she can hangout with her friends. All she still continues all her interests/activities/trainings etc. She is still kid afterall. And I see that her friends in fact have more time than before to hangout and play soccer.
Personally, I do not find mugging for exams healthy. This time is better used to rebalance emotionally and physically. I used to give tuition to A level and poly students during my uni days, and this was the approach I used with them, and all of them had stellar results.
So long as she is happy with her PSLE results, I will be too.
I have spoken to the parents of my DD’s close friends, and they seem to be taking a similar approach.
Actually same reason I am having a headache about choosing her secondary school. I want her to enjoy her 6 years. Learning can be fun, and should be fun. -
mummy so kiasu:
NYPS produces 120 of them from the mainstream (out of 320) + another 80 of them from the GEP to make up the 200 students with T score of 250 & above. Most of it's kids come from well to do families. They go to branded enrichment schools such as learning lab, which most of the neighbourhood schools' kids could not afford.
NYPS intake each year is 390. It swells to 480 at Pri 4 due to GEP transfer
Each year approx 43% scored above 250, roughly 206. They have 4 classess of GEP = 100. Not all of them scored above 250, some are below 250. Even if you assume 100% of GEP scored above 250, there is still 106 from mainstream who scored above 250.
It has been observed that NYPS does not produce the national top scorer every year. BUT their percentage of top 10% of PSLE cohort, i.e. scoring 250, is very high, for the past few years have been above 40% of the cohort
And not all PSLE top scorers from NYPS are from GEP, many of them are from mainstream HA class -
Happy Mummmmm:
Yes, It is an absolutely headache if you are caught between 2 choices.I think scoring 250-260 is a given. They do not need much effort to do that.
But going beyond 265, they really need to push themselves a little bit more to get a few marks here and there, and not to make any careless mistakes.
My DD and her friends are already taking things easy. I too told her that she can take things easy, but if she wants to contribute to her school and to be fair to herself, she should put in her best. Frankly, my heart is aching lor.
I make sure she does something fun and different everyday. We go for ice-cream,rollerblading, swimming, movie, science syposiums, teahouses, etc. Or she can hangout with her friends. All she still continues all her interests/activities/trainings etc. She is still kid afterall. And I see that her friends in fact have more time than before to hangout and play soccer.
Personally, I do not find mugging for exams healthy. This time is better used to rebalance emotionally and physically. I used to give tuition to A level and poly students during my uni days, and this was the approach I used with them, and all of them had stellar results.
So long as she is happy with her PSLE results, I will be too.
I have spoken to the parents of my DD's close friends, and they seem to be taking a similar approach.
Actually same reason I am having a headache about choosing her secondary school. I want her to enjoy her 6 years. Learning can be fun, and should be fun.
During my DD time, majority with CO goes to RGS, there are some die hard NYGH and a 5 dare-devils going to NUSH. There are 1 or 2 girl with RGS CO who eventually chose NJC in the end. So the decision is for the girls to choose (not parent's choice). -
kiasuursula:
DD school only concentrate on the top 20 people in the top class.(whole class: 40 people) Extra enrichment courses and assessments(tailor-made by
RL is known to give lots of homework. Even a HOD of RL told me before that the school has given so much homework that the students have no time to go for tuition.alng:
[quote=\"BeContented\"]
Previously, believe RL did churn out students with > 270 for a few years.....but last year's top scorer was a first time. Dun think will happen that often
Frankly, think all these do come with a tradeoff .... typically, the stress level is higher and workload heavier at schools that can churn.
RL also focuses a lot on the top class (ONLY). In 2010, 3/4 of the top class (29 out of 40) obtained 260 and above when the average T score was nothing close to the average T score of top schools. I
will feel upset as a parent if my child is not in the top class in RL. In my dd and ds schools now, there are more than one top class.
teachers) were given. Although there were students from other class
perform better, no extra enrichment courses was given to them. I think the school really wants a better results this year as compare to the previous
years. None of the students scored >/270. I felt very bad for the rest of the
20 students in the top class. As for my DD, who is in the 3rd class, the school had given up on her(them). I have to look for other sources to improve her academic results. :stupid:[/quote]Something goes wrong with the school system & education system. The kids are not treated equally & their potential might not be maximize. Too much focus on top students and majority of them are neglected. The education minister and the government should do something about the current situation. Feel sorry for the kids and parents. -
Does anybody know how the T-score is calculated when there are only three subjects? My kids are exempted MT, so only EMS… then how?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.