JC Ranking
Hi micko,
Are you still in HCI? Yr 1 or 2? Are you in the humanities programme? -
WeiHan:
Yes, I'm J2 HP student next year.Hi micko,
Are you still in HCI? Yr 1 or 2? Are you in the humanities programme?
micko07:
Micko07,H1 = AS Level
H2 = A Level
H3 = S Paper
The min number of Academic Units (AU) is 10, max is 12. One H1 = 1 AU, One H2 = 2 AU. One H3 = 1 AU (explanation below)
Most people have to offer the following:
H1 GP (Can be replaced by H2 Knowledge and Inquiry aka Philosophy)
H1 PW
H1 MTL (Can be replaced by H2 C/M/T Language and Literature)
So that leaves you with 10 - 3 = 7 AU (aka 3 H2 1 H1). Some people offer expanded curriculums (ie 11 or 12 AU). I did 4H2s + the compulsory 3 H1s this year = 11 AU. Will take a H3 next year so that means I'm taking 12 AU for J2 (wahhh die liao!)
Previously, people could do all Arts or all Sciences. Now, there's a contrasting subject requirement.
In my case, as an Arts student offering Geography, English Lit and Economics, my contrasting is Maths. Most Science students (Eg Bio-Chem-Math or Phy-Chem-Math) will offer Economics as their contrasting. You can check the MOE website for a full list of contrasting subjects, they've got very specific rules (Eg H1 Foreign Lang does not count as a contrasting subject for Science students but H2 FL does I think)
Subjects like KI are another can of worms. KI HAS to be offered as a 4th H2, but it counts as a contrasting for both science and arts. Most schools have selection tests for this, plus some other subjects like Theatre Studies and English Lang & Linguistics.
H3 selection generally isn't done until end of J1. There're 3 types, school-based (basically just extended school lessons), university-based and research papers. It's mainly determined by application and J1 grades. Only a handful like the Science Research Programme start in J1 though so no worries! 1 H3 counts as 1 AU and you HAVE to offer the corresponding H2 (Eg if you want to take H3 Game Theory, you must offer H2 Economics). Max is 2 H3s I think.
AFAIK, the subjects you take in Upper Sec doesn't matter if you're taking Humanities. I went from Pure Science in Sec School without a single Arts subject to Pure Arts in JC. There's a disadvantage compared to those who offered the subject in Sec School but I'm surviving so I guess it's okay lah.
OTOH, I think it's compulsory to offer pure science if you want to take the corresponding subject in JC, especially at H2 (at least in my school it is). Same for H2 Math; it's highly recommended you offer A Math at O level.
If you're interested, you can check the respective universities' websites, which offer a detailed list on subject pre-requisites for the various uni courses. This would probably be more important because what you take in JC closes certain doors (I cannot offer Medicine, Engineering and all Sciences, for example).
Haha don't worry too much about it! I couldn't decide on what I wanted until towards the end of Sec 4. My recommendation is offer trip sci. That way, you can offer probably every subject available, short of those which require auditions/ selection tests.
I just realised I wasn't very coherent. Paiseh! Do PM me if you have any questions!
Many thanks for your detailed info. All those terms seems too technical for me. I am digesting them slowly... or may only come fully comprehend when my dd is in that stage.
Luckily dd sec sch is offering pure science and a math to all pupils leh :lol:
all the best to yr J2... come in to update us with JC info whenever u free k -
heutistmeintag:
The Table list the points for entrance into Arts & Science/IBTemasek JC?
L1R5 Aggregate Scores (With Bonus Points) of Students Admitted To Junior Colleges In The 2009 Joint Admissions Exercise (JAE)
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=PqaCJAi
But what is IB ?
thanks -
IB =International Baccalaureate which is offered by ACSI
The Table list the points for entrance into Arts & Science/IBheutistmeintag:
Temasek JC?
L1R5 Aggregate Scores (With Bonus Points) of Students Admitted To Junior Colleges In The 2009 Joint Admissions Exercise (JAE)
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=PqaCJAi
But what is IB ?
thanks -
ooptimizer:
Maximum that you can deduct is 4 points per MOE website so no Zero points!6 subjects all A1 = 6 points.
Less 2 points HCL = 4 points.
Less 2 ponts CCA A1 = 2 points.
Less 2 points affiliation = 0 points. -
24by7mum:
But for LEP schools you can deduct till zero.
Maximum that you can deduct is 4 points per MOE website so no Zero points!ooptimizer:
6 subjects all A1 = 6 points.
xxjustakidxx:
But for LEP schools you can deduct till zero.[/quote]Thanks - what is LEP?
Maximum that you can deduct is 4 points per MOE website so no Zero points!24by7mum:
[quote=\"ooptimizer\"]6 subjects all A1 = 6 points.
24by7mum:
Thanks - what is LEP?[/quote]http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/programmes/elective-programmes/files/chinese-language-elective-programme.pdf
But for LEP schools you can deduct till zero.xxjustakidxx:
[quote=\"24by7mum\"]
Maximum that you can deduct is 4 points per MOE website so no Zero points! -
xxjustakidxx:
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/programmes/elective-programmes/files/chinese-language-elective-programme.pdf[/quote]THANKS SO MUCH!
Thanks - what is LEP?24by7mum:
[quote=\"xxjustakidxx\"]
But for LEP schools you can deduct till zero.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.