Dim Sum

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    154 Posts 52 Posters 133.1k Views 1 Watching

Blobbi:

Talking about old fashioned, there's this place called Grand Shanghai at the Copthorne Hotel (used to be affiliated to Ye Shanghai 夜上海 in HK) . They have that type of Shanghai style songstress singing on a stage - believe this only happens on Friday nights? The food is Shanghai style too, so it's not cantonese dim sum. Food quality is quite good (although not fabulous), but the atmosphere is really something!

After http://www.getforme.com/previous2006/311206_theneptunerestaurantclosesafter34yearsinbusiness.htm closed down, i can't find anywhere with the same good food and atmosphere anymore. 😞

Oh yes!! How could we miss Neptune out? Quite sad to see it went off.....I saw it being torn down.

hquek

My family enjoys going to Red Star - it's quite nostalgic lah. But then we are one of those who will walk up to the kitchen to order type, and to the various serving ladies to get what we want. :oops: else by the time reach us, nothing left.

I like Victor's - it's near Burlington Square (can't remember the service apartment name it's situated under) - but it's practically opposite NAFA campus. Run by a HK chef, it's looks like a kopitiam, but the carrot cake - wah.....so sedap. Comes in a little bowl and with accompanying xo sauce. And the 'zha leung' - always the you tiao is hot and crispy, and the cheong fun nice and hot. And the HK tea - the ice is OUTSIDE the bowl so your cold tea is always thick and nice. 😄

• dimsumD Offline
          dimsum

Ahh… as you can see from my nickname, i LURVE dimsum!! for good, exquisite dim sum, my favourites are wah lok, lei garden and crystal jade palace. Red Star - i write it off already. Yes, the nostalgic atmosphere is interesting but the std of dim sum is bad.

Oh yes!! How could we miss Neptune out? Quite sad to see it went off.....I saw it being torn down.
            we had our ROM lunch there - only 1 table for immediate family.
            then had frequent weekend dimsum there cos dh signed for some value-for-money membership package - love the siew mai and the live singing! those days, after dimsum, dh will drive me back to office (nearby) to do overtime (rush deadlines). :roll:
            back then, told dh i wanted to celebrate our 60th anniversary there, but think got to change venue already 😢 😢

Blobbi

Ok hquesk. Writing Victor down...

Anybody like Summer Pavilion at Ritz Carlton? Very delicate and tasty dim sum. :love:

BTW, my friend told me in HK, the tai tais just have a few siew mais or other dim sum for lunch to keep their figure. I guess it's so rich, can't have more. Plus no carbs. Haven't tried that diet yet :).

• dimsumD Offline
                dimsum

I like Victor's - it's near Burlington Square (can't remember the service apartment name it's situated under) - but it's practically opposite NAFA campus. Run by a HK chef, it's looks like a kopitiam, but the carrot cake - wah.....so sedap. Comes in a little bowl and with accompanying xo sauce. And the 'zha leung' - always the you tiao is hot and crispy, and the cheong fun nice and hot. And the HK tea - the ice is OUTSIDE the bowl so your cold tea is always thick and nice. 😄

thanks for the recommendation! I have not been able to find good zha leung in s'pore! They always disappointed me with soft, soggy you tiao 😞
                And yes, the authentic carrot cake (HK style) comes served in a bowl.

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

Blobbi:

Anybody like Summer Pavilion at Ritz Carlton? Very delicate and tasty dim sum. :love:

BTW, my friend told me in HK, the tai tais just have a few siew mais or other dim sum for lunch to keep their figure. I guess it's so rich, can't have more. Plus no carbs. Haven't tried that diet yet :).

really ??? :shock:

dim sum is actually very fattening, especially authentic type ...... lots of FATs ...

You found this or it's an original from you?
                    No lah... I not as creative as to construct such a funny story. Heard it somewhere during my young and, um, less wholesome days.

Andaiz

No lah... I not as creative as to construct such a funny story. Heard it somewhere during my young and, um, less wholesome days.
                      wha, so now you older plus MORE wholesome liao? 😐 😉

Blobbi

Blobbi:

really ??? :shock:

dim sum is actually very fattening, especially authentic type ...... lots of FATs ...

Yalor. But the theory could be the same as the \"don't eat carbs\" diet. My friend's hubby has been on this on and off for years and he swears it works like a dream (the no carbs diet I mean).

Oh and the other part of the formula to the dim sum diet is to drink the tea to kill the fat. This diet is too expensive - maybe that's why it works - got no $$ for dinner!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 16