First Day At School 2010

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    250 Posts 36 Posters 64.2k Views 1 Watching
      Lock

I went on the 1st day to my DS's recess. Parents were only allowed to watch the kids behind a barricade surrounding the canteen...I stood there for 30mins and could not spot my ๐Ÿ˜ข

Was wondering y d sch allow parents to visit but refused to let them get close :?

Lock:
        I went on the 1st day to my DS's recess. Parents were only allowed to watch the kids behind a barricade surrounding the canteen...I stood there for 30mins and could not spot my ๐Ÿ˜ข

Was wondering y d sch allow parents to visit but refused to let them get close :?
        This is because once the parents are in there...the children will \"manja\" and sometimes start to cry. Also, the school wants the kids to explore with the buddy and if parents come in, the buddy will have to \"้ ่พน็ซ™\".

It would really be chaotic. Allowing parents to watch from outside the barricade is to give the parents the assurance that their children are doing fine.

I am not sure about your school, but if the canteen tables are labelled with the class, the parents can eventually spot their kids.

titank

Same loh, the recess I also just conduct \"Supervision\" behind the barricades on my child. Strictly out of bounds to all parents.

I guess have to let go let them swim on thier own. Wonder 30 minutes where 240 go for recess enough time to quene up, buy food & eat?

sssdarlings

mathsparks:

Well, thank your lucky stars, tankee! I know in de la selle, the parents aren't allowed even on day1. lucky my nephew has always been independent...and pretty street smart for his age too.

aiyo ... why the school so parent unfriendly ...

My ex-colleagues and I call it 'The Fortress'!
            Parents can only drop children outside the school gate. My galfriend whose dd started P1 last year, did not bother taking leave bcos of such strict rules

=======================================
            SK

BlurBee

Thank you Chief for the 100KPs. :celebrate:

I nominate BigDevil.

BigDevil:
              http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=Pq1cMcU0

kaitlynangelica

kaitlynangelica,

Your girlโ€™s school does not have the buddy system ? Yes I think it will be overwhelming to find the classroom herself.

Tamarind,

buddy system is only for recess time. I heard that RGPS has prefects at the gate to bring them in. I think that should be the way. I am actually quite pissed. They canโ€™t expect the gals all to be so independent. Mine certainly is not. She is fine when we drop her off at class.

So is it normal that the child will feel scared to walk up the stairs, make a turn and find the classroom herself?

[

titank:
                  Wonder 30 minutes where 240 go for recess enough time to quene up, buy food & eat? [/color]

That's why in our DD's school, they have recess in two parts.
                  If it's afternoon session, a few cluster of classes may go say
                  around 3:30pm and the next cluster at 4:00pm. Buddies will
                  help the P1s queue and buy their food first before they join
                  the P1 at the benches to eat. By then, the P1 should have
                  almost finished eating.. then can go play or something. My
                  DDs even still find time to call me sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜„

Dun worry, children adapts very fast these days. The schools'
                  support system/buddy system also help the P1 children blend
                  in nicely. After the 1st month all the P1s will be pro liao and
                  running everywhere with their friends after recess. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My DD sometimes go library to read during recess when she
                  doesn't feel like eating anything... and she says the aircon
                  in the library so shiok. :lol: Ya lah, afternoon very hot mah. ๐Ÿ˜›

titank:

I guess have to let go let them swim on thier own. Wonder 30 minutes where 240 go for recess enough time to quene up, buy food & eat?
                    Swim on own is never a bad thing, drown then reach out.
                    Actually at lower primary, quite the majority bring lunchboxes so there won't be so many queuing for food.

Mine brings stuff from home cause they wanna save more $.

Only during those occasions they feel like having something,
                      or supplementing more to fill up their tums, they will purchase
                      other food from the canteen.

• tankeeT Offline
                        tankee

I heard a parent actually "ninja" here "ninga" there to see how his DG cope on her own, popped up when things gone wrong and disappeared immediately after. He even tailed the school bus to check the bus route and to ensure his DG did not alight at the wrong place.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 14 / 25

jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo