Club FTWM

4.9k Posts 176 Posters 1.3m Views 1 Watching
      micollh

tigger88:
      micollh:

lately dream a lot.. cos no more loan so will fancy a lot of things.. any of u buy retirement plans like SAIL from ntuc income? im tempted to buy..maybe next year start..

What is this plan about?

It's like savings plan, u pay for 15 or 16 years ( u can set target to save till what age), e.g u want to save until 50 yo. then starting from 55 u start to get ur payout. u can save e.g $300 per month kinda thing. depends on how much payout u intend to get back. so, when u reach 55 or so, u can start to get back ur money with interest. i ask my adviser for $300 per month, then when im 55, i can get back abt 700 plus. not bad wor.. maybe still not enough but better than nothing right?

tigger88

micollh:
        tigger88:

[quote=\"micollh\"]lately dream a lot.. cos no more loan so will fancy a lot of things.. any of u buy retirement plans like SAIL from ntuc income? im tempted to buy..maybe next year start..

What is this plan about?

It's like savings plan, u pay for 15 or 16 years ( u can set target to save till what age), e.g u want to save until 50 yo. then starting from 55 u start to get ur payout. u can save e.g $300 per month kinda thing. depends on how much payout u intend to get back. so, when u reach 55 or so, u can start to get back ur money with interest. i ask my adviser for $300 per month, then when im 55, i can get back abt 700 plus. not bad wor.. maybe still not enough but better than nothing right?[/quote]Ya, not bad...better than nothing. I bought some savings and H&S insurance for my kids. Hoping that when they go Uni next time, will have some $ to see them through. But I guess the $ I get back in 18-20years time is unlikely to cover much of their uni fees... :nailbite:

micollh

inflation will halves the payout… but still… if u dun buy such plans… u have to use ur hard cash even more headache… at least these insurance/savings plans can help to settle their tertiary fees… locally first… if go overseas then top up lor… u have 4… i cant imagine how much to save…

tigger88

micollh:
            inflation will halves the payout.. but still.. if u dun buy such plans.. u have to use ur hard cash even more headache.. at least these insurance/savings plans can help to settle their tertiary fees.. locally first.. if go overseas then top up lor.. u have 4.. i cant imagine how much to save..

I will just give whatever I can...Not enough? Then they will have to find other means to support their tertiary education. My siblings and I find our own means too when my parents cannot afford to pay for our tertiary educayion so I guess my kids will be able to do it too.

poppy15

so start saving from now... 😉

DS & DD each already gt a piggy bank (but no savings acct) & my sils are teaching them to earn $$ & their manners at the same time.... teach them disciplinary ship as well...

we do rewarding when they behave well, or are polite... by giving them 20cents for each positive behavior.... but no rewards if they behave badly, fight, quarrel, etc...

their cny & bday ang pao $$ goes in there too. once mummy here is done with DS's CDC acct... will go ahead to open a joint saving acct for each of them...

micollh

yeap. i paid for my tertiary too but my aunt paid for me i paid her back, so no interest. my DH is parents paid for him, he no need pay back, his parents said no need. so DH and i TRY to pay for our kids tertiary if all works out within our plan. else they have to take loan

tigger88

so start saving from now... 😉

DS & DD each already gt a piggy bank (but no savings acct) & my sils are teaching them to earn $$ & their manners at the same time.... teach them disciplinary ship as well...

we do rewarding when they behave well, or are polite... by giving them 20cents for each positive behavior.... but no rewards if they behave badly, fight, quarrel, etc...

their cny & bday ang pao $$ goes in there too. once mummy here is done with DS's CDC acct... will go ahead to open a joint saving acct for each of them...
                  I also reward them when they did something good like helping to pack the hse etc. But they end up losing the coins that I gave them as we do not have piggybanks at home. Now I stop giving them coins. I will just save some $ to their acct on a monthly basis.

micollh

me to, give them allowance direct to their bank account monthly. DH also give. sort of helping them to save.

• TokidokiT Offline
                      Tokidoki

micollh:
                      now we talk abt house.. heee.. mine is EA, 133sqm.. quite big but i plan to get condo before i hit 40.. hee.. dream first la.. DH and i just finish paying the house loan, we need to save up first for the condo.. then rent out our EA then we can retire and live happily ever after.. dreamm.. still.. dreammmm

:hi5: i share the same dream too.

so it's btr to clear the HDB loan? not sure if keep the CPF$ can get more interest.

micollh

Tokidoki:

:hi5: i share the same dream too.

so it's btr to clear the HDB loan? not sure if keep the CPF$ can get more interest.
                        if u dun clear, u go and calculate how much interest u r paying.. the amount can let u buy how many LV bags liao.. tt's why DH and i dump in lots of our bonuses into the house to clear and also clear the CPF account. lucky thing clear all. then now start to save cpf money lor..i think for more interest rate for cpf 1% more is it ? only after ur savings in OA is more than 30k or something.. i forget liao.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 494

jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo
                        Wonder-fulW
                        Wonder-ful