Ang Pow Issues...
BigDevil, first grandchild or grandson?
U mean we have a granny here in KSP?? -
csc:
Thats why I always feel that, a grand wedding dinner or ceremony is not important. It is how long the marriage would last that counts. And if the couple themselves want to have a grand grand dinner (not under the pressure of parents), its quite unfair to expect the guests to help them cover back. I was quite pissed off because in one incident, someone hint hint a few friends and me, through someone, how much the table is and minimum each must give $XXX. Please don't hammer me OK ... its just my own thoughts lah ...I have a close relative who was married and divorced a few months later. Already given quite a hefty sum at the wedding.
Now I heard she's going to get married again
and going to have another hotel dinner.
How much should I give now?
And I have also seen parents who want a grand wedding dinner of their child, come out their own money for it. Again, please don't hammer me ....
hi daisyt,
My sentiments exactly. If someone wants face and throws a grand dinner, dun expect other pp to pay for it. If those others got good relationship, then fine and good. It's the expectation that irritates the hell out of me.
hi csc,
My family had a similar experience. fella got married - had a high class wedding do. Couple years later, got divorced (had an affair) and remarried...yet another do. I think my parents were fairly generous still cos it's a very close relation and they watch that person grow up. Still, I think my relative quite buey pai seh...I did ask my mum what if he got divorced again??? Maybe should write postdated cheque. (btw, my mum refused to answer me) :torchme: -
daisyt:
I was quite pissed off because in one incident, someone hint hint a few friends and me, through someone, how much the table is and minimum each must give $XXX.
During the last family wedding, one of the aunties (bride's mum) went round educating my mil and other aunties on the wedding cost, etc.... They did it at some club, outdoor and also with performance like D&D style.
Next moment, when we were at the wedding and finally when they start to serve the food after a long wait (buffet style), this auntie kept pestering us to go for tea ceremony. My sils and bils were like :x as we were all hungry after the long wait and before we get to eat, she is pestering us for tea ceremony. :x We were quite pissed as she acted like a policewoman ensuring that we go for tea ceremony. -
Maybe should write postdated cheque. (btw, my mum refused to answer me) :torchme:
Maybe should have a \"terms and conditions\" on the angpow. This is only for 1st marriage only. Subsequent marriages will be free of charge. :lol: -
KSP:
:rotflmao: :laugh: KSPtankee:
BigDevil, first grandchild or grandson?
U mean we have a granny here in KSP??
tankee was asking whether my DS is my parent's first grandchild!
Not their first grandchild...9th in fact!
But DS is their first...hmm...internal (å )? grandson.
Then again, being a boy was not the reason for celebration. We celebrated DD's 1st month as well....at the same hotel. -
ya so embarrasing, I really don't know how it happened. Must have been distracted by something in the middle of preparing ang pows. Luckily I am quite sure it is only that stack that could be empty, cos the other one with higher amounts still have money inside.
So to those who had rec'd empty angpows, this probably explains the situation. So we should not bear grudges anymore. :lol:acforfamily:
Anyone as blur as me?
Yesterday, I was about to give out another angpow. Thought it looked kind of thin. To my horror, I opened it and it was empty!
Now I wonder how many empty ones I gave out the day before??!!
Don't think I can salvage right?
:oops:
Maybe I could ask my close friend whether her kid received an empty one and then give her another? -
:rotflmao:hquek:
Maybe should write postdated cheque. (btw, my mum refused to answer me) :torchme:
Maybe should have a \"terms and conditions\" on the angpow. This is only for 1st marriage only. Subsequent marriages will be free of charge. :lol: -
Ok lah, relatives all want big big ang pow----Give lor
Any way they never state what currency right
soli,just my naughty thought... -
acforfamily:
Maybe I could ask my close friend whether her kid received an empty one and then give her another?
I think you should bring this up to your friend in a casual manner saying that you realised that you distributed a stack of empty angpow accidentally. Otherwise people will think you are very kiam siap.
At least they understand that it was a unintentional mistake.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.