Ang Pow Issues...

384 Posts 86 Posters 130.5k Views 1 Watching
    • DesertWindD Offline
      DesertWind

Hi tutormom, your that uncle’s wife too much. Usually from relatives, especially for daughters, don’t expect to recover back the cost of the wedding dinner. This was told to me by my mum because she said relatives of a Boy will give more because they will help to recover the cost of the banquet. But for a Girl married out, relatives simply just will not give so much. A little bit of "free ride" actually to give to the bride’s parents that’s all. Actually it is a little "strange" because I presume your uncle’s wife would be given "free tables" by the lawas son-in-law, no? Then whatever she receive from her relatives should be more than enough for her own pocket?

For you, you have already given a box of jewelry to her daughter to me it is enough.

tutormum

Thanks Imami and DesertWind,

The reason I shared here was I have been wondering whether is it she or me? DesertWind, I thought maybe it really wasn't enough just to give the jewelry and it's my fault after all.

Honestly when my other aunt questioned me yesterday and told me that I have to give ang pow also on top of the gift, I acted blur like \"oh I didn't give? guess I must have forgotten? aiyo not sure lei.\" :lightrod: Though in my heart I wanted to :nunchuk: :nunchuk: what double standard :mad: :mad: Also it so happened that my friend kept asking for my support in her jewelry venture that I let her to do the jewelry for me. I thought that my cousin would get a special gift and I might as well kill 2 birds with one stone.
        Another of my cousins is also getting married in this year. As I am closer to him than the other, I will play it safe and ask him what he wants. His mother didn't give me anything when they attended my wedding dinner hor. 😢
        Not that I'm calculative but having relatives like my aunts and uncles is really :slapshead: :faint: When my cousins were young and I was still single, e.g. I used to buy everyone of them new year's clothes for CNY every year while their parents never bought me anything not to mention buying things for my sons. That's why I felt so hurt when my aunt told me that my uncle's DW had in mind to call me to :rant: :rant: for not giving that ang pow which they expected. :sick: My aunt told me that she pacified her by playing down the issue. To think of it, probably my uncle's wife expects more from me cos I'm always generous lor. 🙏 🙏 My aunt didn't tell her that I've been giving her mother gifts every CNY or my uncle's DW will lagi :mad: that she didn't get the same treatment. This aunt of mine is very straightforward :xedfingers:
        Now that I see their true colours, I :siam: :siam: :siam:

• DesertWindD Offline
          DesertWind

My two-cents worth…for your male cousin who is getting married in a year’s time, just give MONEY. Wah…ha…ha!

st2

One of my husband's friend CNY visit us gave my maid $50 Ang Pow. :mad: :mad: I am so angry!!!!! this maid cause me so much problem. In Nov last year, I already plan to send her home after her loan paid off and she also wanted to go home. Waiting for CNY 15th day.

Why these people so kay kiang? This is his first time visiting us and he's never met my maid before, my maid also did not serve him drinks. :mad:

• . Offline

st2:
              One of my husband's friend CNY visit us gave my maid $50 Ang Pow. :mad: :mad: I am so angry!!!!! this maid cause me so much problem. In Nov last year, I already plan to send her home after her loan paid off and she also wanted to go home. Waiting for CNY 15th day.

Why these people so kay kiang? This is his first time visiting us and he's never met my maid before, my maid also did not serve him drinks. :mad:

I believe your friend is secretly more upset and angry for giving the wrong ang pow. 😄

weddings are getting more expensive…the amount of ang pao given is also dependent on level of closeness. a table at a hotel like Shangri-La or ritz is about $1k + but can’t possibly expect a couple to give $500 to cover host’s cost.

as for cny, i give $4 red packet to maids only.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                  starlight1968sg

路人甲:
                  I believe your friend is secretly more upset and angry for giving the wrong ang pow. 😄

Can't help but laughed.
                  Maybe it is the right ang pow for the maid to get ready to pack up :evil:

Mawar

路人甲:
                    st2:

I was thinking along similar line. :rotflmao:

TheAnswer

weddings are getting more expensive...the amount of ang pao given is also dependent on level of closeness. a table at a hotel like Shangri-La or ritz is about $1k + but can't possibly expect a couple to give $500 to cover host's cost.

as for cny, i give $4 red packet to maids only.
                      My Ang Pows to helpers varies from helper to helper.. Good ones I dun mind giving $20.. If they do not give my relatives and friends problems all year round.. Not so good ones.. $8..

Sometimes if we are too stingy with our helpers, you can't expect them to treat you well.. Treat others how you want to be treated..

TheAnswer

starlight1968sg:
                        路人甲:

Can't help but laughed.
                        Maybe it is the right ang pow for the maid to get ready to pack up :evil:

Helpers will compare the Ang pows given by their employers and the Ang Pows given by your relatives and friends.. Like it or not..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 39

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127