Ang Pow Issues...
All about ang pows for CNY, giving and receiving. What is the 'market' rates now?
Cheers
auntieM:
Those not so familiar ones - PurpleAll about ang pows for CNY, giving and receiving. What is the 'market' rates now?
Cheers
Those familiar ones - Red
For immediate family - Blue -
KSP:
:? Okok. Can tell us in $ value?
Those not so familiar ones - Purple
For immediate family - Blue -
KSP:
For immediate family - BlueBlobbi:
Bloobi, took me a while. KSP's probably talking about purple $2's; red $10's and blue $50's!:? Okok. Can tell us in $ value?
Think the purple can't be $1000 right??!?! :!: :!: -
Andaiz:
Wah u must be very bright! I got stuck at the purple, not that I knew what a $1000 bill looks like.KSP:
Bloobi, took me a while. KSP's probably talking about purple $2's; red $10's and blue $50's!:? Okok. Can tell us in $ value?
Think the purple can't be $1000 right??!?! :!: :!: -
This is our usual practise.
Other relatives’ maids that we see at gathering - $2
Kids in general - $6 as we’ve 3 kids. Most exchange are $4 but they have 2 kids so cannot let ppl lugi.
Special cases - $10 (eg. unmarried grown up cousin)
Immediate nieces/ nephews - $20 (we all use the same rate for years) The funny thing is the most of them have 2 kids but we’ve 3 and youngest sil has 1. But it’s still a flat rate per child.
Grandparents - $100 each
Parents - $200 each
Share market has been having diarrhoea lately so maybe some who got burnt might cut down the budget… -
Blobbi:
Wah u must be very bright! I got stuck at the purple, not that I knew what a $1000 bill looks like.[/quote]No lah... :oops: I'm making my list now loh...so got columns for denominationAndaiz:
[quote=\"KSP\"]
Think the purple can't be $1000 right??!?! :!: :!:
so am seeing \"colours\" liao!
For me:
$4 for general;
$6 for people we regularly give <we've got 3 like MMM, so must let people break even ma!>;
$8 for a special group of friends' kids (coz there are 16 kids in total);
$10 for first cousins and first cousins' kids and our 2 remaining single good friends
;
$20 for my sole niece and my sista (now gotta give her boyfren some more ...aiyah DH says this is future dividends :evil: );
$60 for our kids;
$80 for grandpa;
$100 for parents
and I give my own parents out of my own pocket because I want to :love: they've been pillars of strength to me and my family, even DH adores them! -
Yah, nowadays, my minimum is $4 (last year $2 cos hangcheng pai). Not that this year is better like MMM says, but there’s this feeling of inflation, like my plate of charkwayteow shrink like that.
Kids we meet, and maids - $4
My nephews and nieces - $20
Sister (bopian!) - $50
Parents, PIL -$100
Your parents sound so wonderful! -
other relatives children: $4
nephew and nieces: $28
cousins not married: $10
parents: $168
in law: $68
own kid: $50MMM:
This is our usual practise.
Other relatives' maids that we see at gathering - $2
Kids in general - $6 as we've 3 kids. Most exchange are $4 but they have 2 kids so cannot let ppl lugi.
Special cases - $10 (eg. unmarried grown up cousin)
Immediate nieces/ nephews - $20 (we all use the same rate for years) The funny thing is the most of them have 2 kids but we've 3 and youngest sil has 1. But it's still a flat rate per child.
Grandparents - $100 each
Parents - $200 each
Share market has been having diarrhoea lately so maybe some who got burnt might cut down the budget..... -
sunset_dae:
sunset_dae, doesn't DH complain that parents' > in-law's?other relatives children: $4
nephew and nieces: $28
cousins not married: $10
parents: $168
in law: $68
own kid: $50
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.