Ang Pow Issues...
Wow... lucky youhmm...I've never given angpow to my grandparents!!! :oops: OK, only 1 survived when I started to work!!
Anyway, my family donch have the practice of giving angpow to parents too...although there will always be a 'token amt' used for 'bai nian'. But normally we will give $$$ before the CNY for them to prepare for the festival (buy new things), reunion dinner and the angpows they have to give out.
It's part of our practise to besides buying stuff for CNY and giving them new notes for angpow, we also must give angpow to my parents and pils during CNY. So CNY cost a bomb for us.
For my grandparents, they are already in their late 80's. Usually we also don't give them allowance, I just thought it is a good gesture to give the old folks angpow during CNY. Just that we thought giving $4 to them were kind of inappropriate. My uncle related to us that my cousin digged for the longest time and came out with that. :scratchhead: Just felt that they are already so old, why must be so calculative since we are still young and working. :? I think I am just shocked by the acts. Can spend hundreds of dollars on servicing BMW but cannot afford to give grandparents a decent angpow
General - $6
Maid - $50 each from me and DH
Parents - $500 each
Grandma - $100
MIL - $800, i give this amount becos she gives both my DD and DS a big ang bao each and i didnt want to make it look like my kids took her a lot of $$. its more to cover her angbao for my kids
nephew (my side) - $50, i only have 1
nephews and neices (DH’s side) - $12 each except for 1 who has $20, as he is consider an adult now -
My rates this year:
1. Parents, Grandma and ILs = SGD100/=
2. Own kids, niece and nephew = SGD10/=
3. Other kids = SGD6/=
4. Own maid = SGD100/=, mother maid=SGD50, relative maids=SGD10/=
5. Staff=SGD20/=, unmarried colleagues = SGD10/=
6. School bus drivers, rubbish collectors, office cleaners = SGD10/= -
Woah...you are generous, pal! Unmarried colleagues, rubbish collectors and cleaners you also give? That's the good thing about earning your own income, more spending power, unlike homemakers like me, got to budget, budget, budget...
DesertWind:
My rates this year:
3. Other kids = SGD6/=
6. School bus drivers, rubbish collectors, office cleaners = SGD10/= -
Angelight:
1.My own parents have to give more lah. Like as least S$800-S$1k.Woah...you are generous, pal! Unmarried colleagues, rubbish collectors and cleaners you also give? That's the good thing about earning your own income, more spending power, unlike homemakers like me, got to budget, budget, budget...
DesertWind:
My rates this year:
3. Other kids = SGD6/=
6. School bus drivers, rubbish collectors, office cleaners = SGD10/=
2.Own kids give S$50 each - after all, own kids, and X2 bc we want to keep the Cantonese tradition of giving 1 angbao from each parent - at least keep the tradition within our family.
3.Relatives'/neighbour kids who \"bai-nian\" S$20 each, or else too paiseh, since we have more kids than most of them.
4. All others, we prepare only S$6 ... but so far don't have these \"unsolicited\" \"Bai-nian\". I think people also would avoid coming to \"bai-nian\" to us if they have kids.
We don't give to all those miscellaneous people. -
:yikes: You are so generous! - and rich
1.My own parents have to give more lah. Like as least S$800-S$1k.
2.Own kids give S$50 each - after all, own kids, and X2 bc we want to keep the Cantonese tradition of giving 1 angbao from each parent - at least keep the tradition within our family.
3.Relatives'/neighbour kids who \"bai-nian\" S$20 each, or else too paiseh, since we have more kids than most of them.
4. All others, we prepare only S$6 ... but so far don't have these \"unsolicited\" \"Bai-nian\". I think people also would avoid coming to \"bai-nian\" to us if they have kids.
We don't give to all those miscellaneous people.
I usually give S$6 for primary school relatives, but DH says should give 'doubles', so either S$4 or S$8 (since S$6=3 S$2 notes). This year, I didn't get to see many of my relatives with children, so for those whom we met, I gave out the S$8 instead of S$6. -
Do you all follow 'seniority' when it comes to ang pow?
For us, DH can't give bro-in-law more than the amount my MIL are giving them, as for my DS.... DH make it a point to give more than what my mum is giving the grandson..
Pantang or 'face-y' thingy?
For me it seems funny BIL's angpow small and DS's abit over.. ..
Nope, we probably give way fewer angbaos than most of you. ;D We tend to visit mostly the elderly relatives - no kids around. See, even relatives avoid being at the elderly's house when we come to \"bai-nian\" with our 4 kids.
:yikes: You are so generous! - and richphankao:
1.My own parents have to give more lah. Like as least S$800-S$1k.
We don't give to all those miscellaneous people.
I usually give S$6 for primary school relatives, but DH says should give 'doubles', so either S$4 or S$8 (since S$6=3 S$2 notes). This year, I didn't get to see many of my relatives with children, so for those whom we met, I gave out the S$8 instead of S$6.
Today will probably be the last day we \"bai-nian\". In total, we would have given out 9 of those S$20 angbaos. And all of ONE S$6 angbao. I generally just do not initiate giving angbaos bc that *forces* the other party to have to give angbaos to our 4 kids, so I think not very polite. Of course, no such reservations among relatives, bc it's a definite MUST. Oh, and I only give angbao to ONE parent. Although, since I'm not working, all these have to be foot by DH. :scared:
We don't go by age of the child. Aiyoh, imagine - I have toddler and also secondary and JC kid - won't it give you a big headache if I were your relative? Then you have to prepare different-value angbaos for each of my kids? My kids get jealous when they open their angbaos, then how??? HAHA!!!
You have headache or I have headache over that situation? *hehe* :slapshead:
:rotflmao: Yes, phankao, I have these 'demominations' in my Ang Pow wallet: S$4, S$6, S$8, S$12 and S$20, each parents' S$100, set aside from the rest, and I differentiate them by Ang Pow Packet designs. Sec and JC same amount, those working but not married another amount. But to close nieces and nephews, all S$20, so no need to fight over.
We don't go by age of the child. Aiyoh, imagine - I have toddler and also secondary and JC kid - won't it give you a big headache if I were your relative? Then you have to prepare different-value angbaos for each of my kids? My kids get jealous when they open their angbaos, then how??? HAHA!!!
You must go visiting to many places then! haha. I used to have those in the earlier years - really headache. Then I realised that I don't really use much of the different values. So now it's only S$6 or S$20.
:rotflmao: Yes, phankao, I have these 'demominations' in my Ang Pow wallet: S$4, S$6, S$8, S$12 and S$20, each parents' S$100, set aside from the rest, and I differentiate them by Ang Pow Packet designs. Sec and JC same amount, those working but not married another amount. But to close nieces and nephews, all S$20, so no need to fight over.phankao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.