Ang Pow Issues...

384 Posts 86 Posters 130.5k Views 1 Watching
    • DesertWindD Offline
      DesertWind

Heh heh…wah you think the young couple got as much influence over the relatives compared to their parents? For my case, all I know is that ALL my mother’s relatives gave ang pows to my mother for keeping. I have 10 aunties+uncles btw, and they all know what to do. I was mystified why nobody gave me anything and certainly they won’t hand it over to my reception helpers. Only one or two cousins’ ang pows (out of a lot of cousins) ended up in my ang pow box. I guess they being the younger generation has no clue that they should give my mother hence ended up there.

Yup, the cash "ping zing" in an ang pow was given to my mother during the "guo da li" too. Anyway, I think for my mother it is inconceivable and too embarrassing to tell the relatives and her friends if she received nothing for "ping zing" or did not get to keep the ang pows. So we just let it be, since with my prudent budgeting plus going to a restaurant and a menu without sharksfin we managed to fully cover the dinner cost already. Wah ha ha…!

KSP

what’s the market rate for this year Ang Pow? everything goes up faster and higher than our pay…

KSP:
          what's the market rate for this year Ang Pow? everything goes up faster and higher than our pay........

depends on your dialect group.
          heard one dialect group give little, $2

Imami

KSP:
            what's the market rate for this year Ang Pow? everything goes up faster and higher than our pay........

:slapshead: ang bao also higher and higher? Gosh.... I packed already. Dun think I want to repack....

cherrygal

Magazines say minimum is $6 for pure acquaintances. DH and his friends usually just give $10 each to the children. Nice relatives get a bit more.

Imami

cherrygal:
                Magazines say minimum is $6 for pure acquaintances. DH and his friends usually just give $10 each to the children. Nice relatives get a bit more.

Ok la, what I have packed has more.... Heng ar.

• DesertWindD Offline
                  DesertWind

For kids it is still SGD6/= for me. But for colleagues and other adults like cleaners etc, am feeling the pressure of inflation and hence this year I up it to SGD20/=.

DesertWind:
                    For kids it is still SGD6/= for me.

for kids, $6 angpow reasonable.
                    $2 angpow giving is from those who are widow, single parent divorcee, retired old folks not working, no income.

If both husband and wife working - can afford to be more generous than $2.

tutormum

tutormum:
                      My uncles and aunts were so stingy that the married ones gave me a very small gift each for my wedding. The gifts were so tiny that can't cover my fingertip though it's made of gold. The unmarried ones didn't give anything. Their logic was as family there's no need to give anything cos it's considered family dinner. Married ones gave as a gesture only. :mad: I was the eldest niece in the family to get married and they were about 3 to 12 years older. I was so embarrassed that I didn't dare to let DH know and thankfully, he never bothered. We came up with an agreement that he'll take care of his family side while I take care of mine when it comes to such occasions. So when it was my uncles' and aunts' children turn to get married, I didn't give much but definitely much more than what they gave me. :pokeeye: I gave one of my cousins a specially made set of silver necklace, bracelet and earrings for her wedding. It's not valuable but priceless as I got my friend to design and made them for her. Definitely more presentable than the miserable tiny gold studded earrings her parents' gave me. :boogie: Worst, her mother grumbled to me during the wedding about the cost of the wedding dinner and I just :heresmyfish: Anyway, I understand that the standard procedure is to record what you have received from your relatives and give the same in return. :razz:

Yesterday, during CNY visit at an aunt's place, she told me that my other uncle's DW, was very upset with me cos I gave her daughter a set of jewelry for her wedding without an ang pow. She was :stompfeet: :stompfeet: :mad: :mad: cos she said that even though I gave a gift - in fact there were 2 gifts as DS1 also bought a gift for her daughter - I should also gave an ang pow to cover the cost of the dinner. My mother also attended the dinner with my brother and gave an ang pow. My mother gave an ang pow which covered my DB1 who didn't attend while my DB2's ang pow included his DW and 2 children's share though they also didn't attend. So, from my 'side' of the family, they received 2 ang pows and 2 gifts.

She :stompfeet: :stompfeet: :stompfeet: that what she received was not enough to cover for the cost of the whole dinner. :sad: :sad: the way she thinks. I understand that she wanted that lavish dinner cos her son-in-law's family very lawah and she didn't want to lose face. :siao: :siao:

Worse, my uncle met with a car accident last year and his DW blamed me for the bad luck cos I didn't give her daughter an ang pow for her wedding which took place in 2011!! :slapshead: :slapshead:

Besides, they simply forgot what they had given me for my wedding. Putting a gold studded pair of earrings in an ang pow is better than a set of jewelry meh? The box of jewelry is too big to put in an ang pow packet mah. :razz:

Sad hor, got such relatives.

Imami

Tutormum, some people are just like that.they fail to remember how they treat other people, only remember how other people treat them.

Move on, don't think about it anymore :hugs:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 38 / 39

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring