Ang Pow Issues...

384 Posts 86 Posters 130.5k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      znzyzyzx

agree with some of the comments at omy, 要请客就不要怕亏本, 想赚钱。

cannot afford then dont hold at posh hotel restaurant. do things within your means, dont expect others to "pay" for your wedding.

I remember my local colleagues conned our ang moh bosses into giving huge ang baos for a colleague's wedding. 😆

The main instigator was our FC. :evil: He told a bunch of ang moh bosses that it is the norm to give ang baos starting and ending with figure 8 and cannot be below $100. So most of them give a minimum of $888.
        I like your FC but then obviously I don't qualify to receive any more ...... sigh :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Precious2.012911lee

I remember the smallest wedding ang bao I received was $10, given by some non Chinese from my hubby's company. He said it was not very nice not to invite them, especially his direct subordinates. It was damn lugi but what to do. Actually, I feel it's better to have a small and private wedding banquet, invite only very close friends and relatives. Like my sis's wedding recently, she only had 12 tables and it was really exclusive. 😄

friendship

all and all, we made profits from our wedding. Enough to cover wedding shooting photos and honeymoon expenses.

don’t understand why my friend could make a loss for her wedding dinner. She realised that her own mother took all ang pows which relatives gave her directly. Her own mother didn’t put the angpow inside the box.

• cool_hiC Offline
              cool_hi

Erm…my mum took ALL Ang paos given by relatives leh…claiming it’s her right(though she knew we had a tough time paying for wedding dnr,almost didn’t want to hold one’)…

Yet lately,she said something very hurting "嫁出去的女儿,泼出去的水"…I was thinking this kind of water good leh…easy to expose & get cash reward somemore!!sigh

Big fish

cool_hi:
                Erm..my mum took ALL Ang paos given by relatives leh..claiming it's her right(though she knew we had a tough time paying for wedding dnr,almost didn't want to hold one')..

Yet lately,she said something very hurting "嫁出去的女儿,泼出去的水"..I was thinking this kind of water good leh..easy to expose & get cash reward somemore!!sigh
                Oh, sad to hear that....your REAL mother??? You must have a hard time!
                Cheer up, at least you found a great husband!!! :rahrah:

Precious2.012911lee

cool_hi:
                  Erm..my mum took ALL Ang paos given by relatives leh..claiming it's her right(though she knew we had a tough time paying for wedding dnr,almost didn't want to hold one')..

Yet lately,she said something very hurting "嫁出去的女儿,泼出去的水"..I was thinking this kind of water good leh..easy to expose & get cash reward somemore!!sigh
                  In fact, I always thought red packets given by the bride's relatives are meant for parents to keep. Your mum could be right i think. My parents returned those ang paos to me as my uncles and aunties gave the red packets earlier, before actual wedding day. My husband and i insisted my parents keep all those ang paos. It was just a little token of appreciation for their upbringing. 😄

• DesertWindD Offline
                    DesertWind

When I got married 8 years ago, I had the banquet at a restaurant, not hotel, costing about SGD550/= per table for about 30 tables. The guests on average gave SGD100 per person. Lowest was SGD50/= for a no-show. However, about 8 tables were \"given\" to my mother since she is marrying out a daughter. She said it was her right to keep all the ang pows from our side of relatives as part of the \"ping zing\". As the coordinator for my own wedding banquet, you can understand the $$$ :moneyflies: that went through my mind. Luckily from the above simple maths can calculate that we managed to cover the cost of the dinner despite my mother keeping all the relatives' ang pow. 😓 So I got to pay for my own wedding package and photo-shots which came up to a few thousand dollars. I wish I get the relatives ang pow lor, then I will break-even! :razz:

[PS: We did not have sharks-fin soup by the way, since my hubby's family does not support. So we got seafood soup instead. ] 🤷

pinkblue

I thought it is a common practice that parents(female side) get to keep the ang bao?

I did not ask for the money back but my parents returned me $5000 to cover the cost.

• dimsumD Offline
                        dimsum

cool_hi:

By traditional customs, the male side must give the female side a certain number of tables, it's 'ping jing\". So, nothing wrong for your mum to take all the ang paos given by relatives.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 39

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo