All About Teaching and Learning Phonics

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    851 Posts 111 Posters 449.4k Views 1 Watching

You want more doses of laughter?

Read this one. Since you're quite
      the newbie, you may have missed
      this one on your way in here.. πŸ˜‰
      Enjoy!

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/cashier-hll

RRMummy

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Thanks for sharing... I think my colleague think I seow leow :udawoman:

Hey, all these years I never dare buy le.. :oops: think if it was me hor, when beep beep cannot.. I will tell auntie, nevermind dun one leow.. :siam:

u one daring mama! πŸ˜‰

Sorry guys, sidetracked from topic liao.

Ok, joke stops here. Eh you, RRMummy,
          go back to work already hor…

schellen

For example... storytime with schellen and sashimi results

in two different character name twangs. As for schellen like
            myself, got the angmoh accent so we say Al-er-din but sashimi
            says it as Al-aah-din... which in this case both still correct,
            cos its their own unique slang. Heheeeheeee... :lol: :lol:
            er, buds, I pronounce it as Al-aah-din hor. sashimi only thought I pronounced it the other way. We generally pronounce about the same so DD doesn't get confused. (No, we don't really need to have meeting beforehand to \"synchronise\", we just know. :snuggles: )

schellen:

For example... storytime with schellen and sashimi results

in two different character name twangs. As for schellen like
              myself, got the angmoh accent so we say Al-er-din but sashimi
              says it as Al-aah-din... which in this case both still correct,
              cos its their own unique slang. Heheeeheeee... :lol: :lol:

er, buds, I pronounce it as Al-aah-din hor. sashimi only thought I pronounced it the other way. We generally pronounce about the same so DD doesn't get confused. (No, we don't really need to have meeting beforehand to \"synchronise\", we just know. :snuggles: )

Oooh, okie! So, only his thought lah then..
              My kiddies can already differentiate now,
              when hub reads and when i read. They just
              take in everything with a pinch of salt and
              many giggles and later feedback about
              daddie's storytelling funnies.. πŸ˜‰

MLR

Hiya

About phonics, what would be the appropriate time to start? We have been reading to DS since he was 1 mth old. Now he would pick a book and make up his own story based on what he sees as in the pics. He still want us to read to him, but sometimes he would want to read to us instead.

Thanks.

MLR:
                  Hiya

About phonics, what would be the appropriate time to start? We have been reading to DS since he was 1 mth old. Now he would pick a book and make up his own story based on what he sees as in the pics. He still want us to read to him, but sometimes he would want to read to us instead.

Thanks.
                  Heyya MLR,

As early as 18mths to 2yrs old can go into the introduction of Phonics
                  songs. There are many in the market, we're very spoilt for choice these
                  days.. Introduction to the actual single letter sounds through the songs,
                  flashcards/sandpaper cards/embossed cards, provide corresponding
                  concrete toys/materials beginning with letter sounds and some simple
                  craft activities to follow up, whenever you think child is ready. ie.when
                  child points to stuff and starts naming them, when they see letters in
                  glass doors of shopping malls or magazines at home and uses fingers
                  to trace the letters, starts getting the songs stuck in his/her head and
                  keeps repeating it... they should be ready..

Different children will show interest at different ages/phases, so observe
                  and tap on the moment.

Hope this helps.

MLR

Hiya buds

Thank you for the advise. I hv started doing the point to the letters as I read since he was 15 months old, thats when he started talking proper words, in phrases. Its was his 1st love - dinosaurs. Guess I m on the right path, will go check out the songs section. Flashcards don’t work well with him.

Many thanks.

MLR:
                      Hiya buds

Thank you for the advise. I hv started doing the point to the letters as I read since he was 15 months old, thats when he started talking proper words, in phrases. Its was his 1st love - dinosaurs. Guess I m on the right path, will go check out the songs section. Flashcards don't work well with him.

Many thanks.
                      Yeah, flashcards dun work for every kiddie.
                      Neither do many other materials. We work
                      with what interests our own child our own
                      way to escalate his learning explorations.
                      Keep introducing different things and bb
                      will show you the one he likes to work
                      with... πŸ˜‰

Mine the same, flashcards didn't work for
                      the earlier stages but later on when they
                      were older. Just didn't totally stop trying.
                      Eventually when the flashcard was able to
                      hold their concentration better, i went on
                      with it tho still ultimately working with
                      more concrete activities each time too.
                      Mine were more hands-on babies i should
                      say, like to explore with hands for tactile,
                      (and taste too! - oh how babies love to
                      test things with their mouth ain't it..), smell,
                      and sounds - (very sensitive to sounds)..

So i wud show concrete objects for them to
                      feel and sing or play an audio track related
                      to the sound i was teaching..

Sigh, was gonna post up some pictures of
                      different CD selections but i have trouble
                      uploading them the whole night.. so i post
                      reply first, ok and see how to work the
                      image posting later on..

Aniwaes, yes... you're on the right track.
                      Fast track at that too i must add.. Well done.

Heyya MLR,

Here's one of them, available at Popular.
                        Comes with written activities with colouring
                        and written pages plus penmanship practise
                        as well. An audio CD included. S$12.90 if i
                        remember correctly.

http://www.postimage.org/

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 86