TAURUS:
Mine was an experienced maid so I dun have any issue with that. But I guess you can try by setting the example and the tone by greeting her yourself in the morning. That way she cannot ignore you right? After some time, see if she does it automatically.Hi,
I just got this new maid from Mynmar, hv told her that she must greet \"us\" every morning, before she eats her meals and also if there are guests. However, she doesn't do so lor, are you fine with maids not greeting their employers?
As for b4 eating their meals, I am not particular about that. My maid prefers to eat after we've had our meals and she likes to eat in the kitchen or yard, by then I would be in the room with my kids or in the study so I dun expect her to come hunting me down just to let me know she is eating. But if she is dining with us she will always say 'eat, mum, sir' to which my kids will reply 'eat, mummy, daddy and kakak'. hehe -
oic.. thks for ur reply.
Mine was an experienced maid so I dun have any issue with that. But I guess you can try by setting the example and the tone by greeting her yourself in the morning. That way she cannot ignore you right? After some time, see if she does it automatically.TAURUS:
I just got this new maid from Mynmar, hv told her that she must greet \"us\" every morning, before she eats her meals and also if there are guests. However, she doesn't do so lor, are you fine with maids not greeting their employers?
As for b4 eating their meals, I am not particular about that. My maid prefers to eat after we've had our meals and she likes to eat in the kitchen or yard, by then I would be in the room with my kids or in the study so I dun expect her to come hunting me down just to let me know she is eating. But if she is dining with us she will always say 'eat, mum, sir' to which my kids will reply 'eat, mummy, daddy and kakak'. hehe -
TAURUS:
Hi Taurus,Hi,
I used to have the same thinking as you.
Why didn't my maid greet us \"Good Morning\" and \"Good Night\" before she went to bed ?
Previously, our ex-maid simply walk past us every morning as if we are transparent and I felt annoyed by her behaviour. Worst still, she didn't even informed us before she went to bed. Sometime we have to search high and low just to find out she is already in her dreamland.
From then on, we will notify our new maid to greet us in the morning and before she went to bed.
Our maid will automatically greet us when she is going to have her meal, I believe the Maid Agency had trained them. I feel that by notifying us before she took her meal is a form of respect. Well.... at least greet us when we are around or sitting on the same table. I don't expect her to purposely run from one end of the house to another just to notify us.
When there are guest around, we will leave aside some food for her own consumption. It is not a must for her to notify us as we might be too busy entertaining our guests.
Taurus, I feel that perhaps you would like to talk to your maid about your requirement. -
fionong:
Thks Fionong... Even though told her she must greet and yet she doesn't do so... think she no heart to work, won't work long cos she came last tue, thur says want to go bk agt, told agt that she wants to go bk hm, agt told her she can't go bk to her country cos her loan hvn't even paid...
Hi Taurus,TAURUS:
I used to have the same thinking as you.
Why didn't my maid greet us \"Good Morning\" and \"Good Night\" before she went to bed ?
Previously, our ex-maid simply walk past us every morning as if we are transparent and I felt annoyed by her behaviour. Worst still, she didn't even informed us before she went to bed. Sometime we have to search high and low just to find out she is already in her dreamland.
From then on, we will notify our new maid to greet us in the morning and before she went to bed.
Our maid will automatically greet us when she is going to have her meal, I believe the Maid Agency had trained them. I feel that by notifying us before she took her meal is a form of respect. Well.... at least greet us when we are around or sitting on the same table. I don't expect her to purposely run from one end of the house to another just to notify us.
When there are guest around, we will leave aside some food for her own consumption. It is not a must for her to notify us as we might be too busy entertaining our guests.
Taurus, I feel that perhaps you would like to talk to your maid about your requirement. -
[quote]Your in-laws will usually attend to the older one while maid looks after the baby ? Does maid do housework when the baby is asleep or uses baby as an excuse not to do anything ?[/quote]
yes, my in-laws usually attend to the older one while maid looks after the baby. My maid will do housework when baby is sleeping. When there are a lot of housework need to do, then my in-laws will take care of baby. Basically my maid is quite helpful in terms of baby sitting and housework. -
thinking:
But if not close the door, my elder one may be too noisy outside. And in the afternoon, my maid will usually turn on the air-con in the room cos it is really hot. then will need to close the door... don't know how to address this issue leh...Hi
Maybe you should not allow your maid to close the door with the baby... -
As for b4 eating their meals, I am not particular about that. .... But if she is dining with us she will always say 'eat, mum, sir' to which my kids will reply 'eat, mummy, daddy and kakak'. hehe
Hi Funz,

Wah! Good maid and good example for your kids! Heh..heh!
For me, true be said, I was quite \"pai seh\" at my in-laws' place everytime before eating my maid will say \"Aunty Eat, Uncle Eat\". For me? I did not have the habit of saying this until recently really pai-seh so also follow maid's example and say \"Mum Eat, Dad Eat!\". ke..ke...ke! :oops:
As for greetings, my maid will say \"Good morning, Sir!\", \"Good morning, Mam!\" to us everyday. Almost fell over with surprise when she first joined us 3 years ago as did not expect such good manners in a maid. But then nowadays sometimes she was pre-occupied with thoughts or what, did not even hear me coming into the kitchen hence I got to greet her first. After so many years of her greeting me, seems funny when it is silent so I greet her first! If I observe this for couple of days plus if her face looks black, I will usually ask her if everything is OK?
But after 3 years working with us all this is nice but not really matter much anymore lah...
:celebrate: -
My maids will greet twice a day in the beginning - Good Morning and Good Night. After few months, they will reduce to just once a day. I'm ok with that, as long as they take me as transparent in the morning. But when it comes meals, they do say 'eat mam, eat sir'. My 2 kids will start laughing and say that 'å§å§ wants to eat both of you'. :rotflmao:
TAURUS:
At last yr mynmar arrived. Blur yah!... Mine does make it a point to say goodnite but not in the morning... Im happy not to hear a good morning frm my current and past maids cos my mornings arent really that good especially when I see the maids face first thing in the morning. Im normally quite blur when I wake up so I hv to force myself to return the greeting. Basically I prefer not to be greeted at all :lolHi,
I think yr maid is suffering frm culture shock...perhaps u need to give her more time to adjust
moonee:
probably lor, this am i greet her \"morning\", so she greets back...
At last yr mynmar arrived. Blur yah!... Mine does make it a point to say goodnite but not in the morning... Im happy not to hear a good morning frm my current and past maids cos my mornings arent really that good especially when I see the maids face first thing in the morning. Im normally quite blur when I wake up so I hv to force myself to return the greeting. Basically I prefer not to be greeted at all :lolTAURUS:
I think yr maid is suffering frm culture shock...perhaps u need to give her more time to adjust
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.