Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      hquek

partime-mum:
      My brother's maid who has only been with us for 1yr informed that she want to be release and transfer to another employer. She said that her new employer will request for release letter. Can somebody advise me what is this release letter for? When can we pass the maid to the new employer? Is it Ok for us to pass the maid to new employer once she has found a new employer or we need to wait till MOM issue her new WP under new employer name?

The maid said that since we did not buy her air-ticket to fly her back to home next yr, we need to compensate her by cash now. Is it true?

Since her mind is already set on getting new employer, is it better for us to send her back to agent or back to her country?
      Wow, she very quick leg quick hand. I have no experience, best is to check with the agent used.

But my feelings are:
      1. if the paperwork is not done, I would think the maid is still under your brother's employ - he is still responsible for her leh.

2. I know employers are responsible for airticket back. But she's not going home eh? She's moving to another employer - what cash is she looking out for? Perhaps can remind her what about the monies that was paid to bring her here, who's going to bear since she obviously didn't fulfil her 2 years here.

For me personally, in a fit, I will just send her back home - get her an airticket (go budget if possible, handcarry only). let her pay another 2-3K to come back to work. Chey!

KSmom8

THANK YOU to all for the very useful and practical advice on phonecards!

Please share what is the usual arrangement for toiletries for the Indo maid. I presume that I should pay for all these during the 2 years contract since she has no off-day and will hardly have any $ for the first 9 months.

My currend filipina maid has offdays so toiletries are supposed to be bought by her on that day. However, she sometimes picks her toiletries when we go to the supermarket and then I will end up paying for it cos I feel bad making a fuss to collect / deduct that sum from her salary. :roll: However, I realise that she don't appreciate these little gestures ... ... She is actually the most rude and unappreciative maid I've ever had.

duriz

For me personally, in a fit, I will just send her back home - get her an airticket (go budget if possible, handcarry only). let her pay another 2-3K to come back to work. Chey!

AGREED!
          And I have done it before.
          I need to add:\" Go online and cancel her WP\"
          Don't tell her anything until her ride to the airport is ready.
          Then it's confirm she has choice but to balik kampung.

KSmom8

partime-mum:

My brother's maid who has only been with us for 1yr informed that she want to be release and transfer to another employer. She said that her new employer will request for release letter. Can somebody advise me what is this release letter for? When can we pass the maid to the new employer? Is it Ok for us to pass the maid to new employer once she has found a new employer or we need to wait till MOM issue her new WP under new employer name?

The maid said that since we did not buy her air-ticket to fly her back to home next yr, we need to compensate her by cash now. Is it true?

Since her mind is already set on getting new employer, is it better for us to send her back to agent or back to her country?

Wow, she very quick leg quick hand. I have no experience, best is to check with the agent used.

But my feelings are:
            1. if the paperwork is not done, I would think the maid is still under your brother's employ - he is still responsible for her leh.

2. I know employers are responsible for airticket back. But she's not going home eh? She's moving to another employer - what cash is she looking out for? Perhaps can remind her what about the monies that was paid to bring her here, who's going to bear since she obviously didn't fulfil her 2 years here.

I gut feel is to send this maid back to the agent for them to handle or buy a airticket for her to go home. She's a very smart and demanding maid.

I am also stuck in a similiar situation. My curent maid was supposed to go home after 4 years but now wants a transfer due to the enforcement of the \"contract\" by the Philippines government. She fears that if she goes back she might not be able to return to Singapore.

She is a good worker but I cannot stand her attitude so she already knows that I am not keen to renew her contract. I agreed to send her back to the agency so that she can get another employer - a decision that I regret - on condition that she does her work well, is not rude and stays till my new maid comes. I told her that I won't be paying her the airticket since she didn't complete her contract, but will buy her a airticket home to Phillipines anytime if she doesn't fulfill her end of the arrangement.

Recently, she asked me whether she can go out for interviews and whether I can release her earlier to the agent cos she understands that she only has 2 weeks to get a new employer once I get a new maid. I refused and asked her how many employers does she want to try and choose from. Isn't 2 weeks enough??? :x I also mentioned that the airticket cost could probably be lower than the levy that I will have to continue to pay before the transfer is made to the new employer. So far she's been behaving but I really really regret my decision to allow a transfer .... it is simply easier and fussfree to send her home immediately.

• DesertWindD Offline
              DesertWind

Hi Hi,

All those with maid problems wanting to go home/transfer etc. Best to check with your maid agency how to handle and what you should do. I think it is not so simple to handle because of all those rules & regulations and $$$ involved. Also the timing etc. I find it is a headache with the work permit and you need to know exactly what is your liability period and when can it be discharged. As for maid asking whether can be early released etc. Do not reply until you talk to the maid agency.

That's all I can say, all the best!

hquek

KSmom8:

Please share what is the usual arrangement for toiletries for the Indo maid. I presume that I should pay for all these during the 2 years contract since she has no off-day and will hardly have any $ for the first 9 months.

My currend filipina maid has offdays so toiletries are supposed to be bought by her on that day. However, she sometimes picks her toiletries when we go to the supermarket and then I will end up paying for it cos I feel bad making a fuss to collect / deduct that sum from her salary. :roll: However, I realise that she don't appreciate these little gestures ... ... She is actually the most rude and unappreciative maid I've ever had.
                My maid dun have offdays. I used to buy toiletries for her - if it's my money, she dun get to choose. Upfront I told her already, you want to choose, you pay for it.

And after going through toothpaste etc at super fast rate, she now has to buy her own toiletries. Basically my mum will bring her along on trips to ntuc/market and she can go there and buy. Sometimes they accumulate purchase in the same receipt, but my mum will mark out those my maid bought and i deduct from her salary.

In initial months before she finish the loan, those are book entries - I plus and minus from her 'account' with me. After she finish her loan, either I will deduct from following month's salary, or I will take from her bank account.

In all cases, I retain receipt as proof. Usually I get her to sign that she is the one who incur these purchases also (cover my ass strategy).

Employers are contractually obliged to provide lodging, food and airticket home. I don't think there's anywhere that says we have to got provide shampoo/toiletries anyway. Your current maid is just 'makaning' you - somemore you don't claim back from her. Take note if she uses her stuff super fast, you'll be impressed at the sudden slowdown in usage once she uses her own money. From 1 big tube of toothpaste in 3 weeks (I kid you not), suddenly this same tube lasts her for months on her own money.

jtoh

partime-mum:

She's entitled to an air ticket only if she completes her contract with you. As she's only been with your brother for a year, she's not entitled to the air ticket. No need to compensate her.

In the case of transfer maids, the current employer must sign a release letter saying they are agreeable to the transfer. Best for you to wait for official go-ahead from MOM because you don't want her to be working for someone else under your name.

jtoh

KSmom8:

My maid dun have offdays. I used to buy toiletries for her - if it's my money, she dun get to choose. Upfront I told her already, you want to choose, you pay for it.

And after going through toothpaste etc at super fast rate, she now has to buy her own toiletries. Basically my mum will bring her along on trips to ntuc/market and she can go there and buy. Sometimes they accumulate purchase in the same receipt, but my mum will mark out those my maid bought and i deduct from her salary.

In initial months before she finish the loan, those are book entries - I plus and minus from her 'account' with me. After she finish her loan, either I will deduct from following month's salary, or I will take from her bank account.

In all cases, I retain receipt as proof. Usually I get her to sign that she is the one who incur these purchases also (cover my ass strategy).

Employers are contractually obliged to provide lodging, food and airticket home. I don't think there's anywhere that says we have to got provide shampoo/toiletries anyway. Your current maid is just 'makaning' you - somemore you don't claim back from her. Take note if she uses her stuff super fast, you'll be impressed at the sudden slowdown in usage once she uses her own money. From 1 big tube of toothpaste in 3 weeks (I kid you not), suddenly this same tube lasts her for months on her own money.

I agree. We have to provide lodging and food, but no where does it say we have to supply her toiletries, clothes etc. Employers do this because we want to be nice to them, especially in the initial period where they are not drawing salaries. I really dislike their taking advantage of our generosity and telling us which brand of shampoo and shower gel they want.

hquek

one thing I cannot understand is that maids come with small small bags. And I think the expectation has been built in that employers will buy clothes etc for them. Really spoil market. šŸ˜›

shine_fs

duriz:

AGREED!
                        And I have done it before.
                        I need to add:\" Go online and cancel her WP\"
                        Don't tell her anything until her ride to the airport is ready.
                        Then it's confirm she has choice but to balik kampung.

I will do that too...cancel and send her back.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 316 / 1032