All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 412 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      wamin

MummyOats:
      wamin

Sorree I did not made myself clear. I was not trying to say you & wife leave the kids alone :stupid:

I mean if the cc is leaving the child alone then it is no good for them. Then they will have lots of opportunites to retreat into their world. Your idea of bringing the kids home early to play with them is good. Not easy yah, no grandparents support. Jia You !
      No worries, no harm done.
      My kids have their ah gong but he like to work and not good with kids and too old to keep up with my son :).

@helplessmum3, at 25 cannot lah. Even in our age buying a home is like pain in butt, and in 25 without home, stable job bring a baby to this world is not wise.

@jme, this is constant fear all of us with special need kids feel time to time. When i think about it i want to cry but then i think again if cry will help i will cry the river so i just don't think too much about it. But yah trying my best to move to the some goal so that they can live comfortable if something happen to us (touch wood).

• sharonkhooS Offline
        sharonkhoo

helplessmum3:
        Wamin. Ya lo very hard to get married and young age..

I mean the facts some how make some sense.

Last time when pp can get married early so lesser ASD .

Now pp very difficult to get married earlier then all asd increasing ..

Think my parents time get married b4 25yo..that's last time standard of living la..
        Faulty reasoning - it's a fact that DIAGNOSIS rates were lower in the past, all over the world, not just Singapore. You cannot conclude fromlower rates in the past that ASD rates were lower then. There are also so many changes over the past decades - environment, diet, lifestyle etc, why should parental age be pinpointed as the cause? You could as easily say that since cell phone usage has increased, or vaccination rates have increased, or diets contain increased fat, that those are the causes of ASD.

jme

My ex Dan told me that autism is attributed by many factors. Genes, environment, health such as gut issues, inability to remove toxin n unable to produce essential minerals etc. So the severity of the condition depends on how many of these factors add up. I do not know whether he is right but I believe they r related.

I have health issues. My cousin’s son is also autistic. I conceived n carried my child to full term, living directly above a generator room. If u were to put a compass in that house, it will spin n unable to give correct direction. That means the magnetic field was very strong. We only moved out when my son turned almost one.

helplessmum3

I already come across two daddies stay home to help ASD … There infact more is ASD is a son.

FLOOR TIME is very important … Compare to go therapies barely few hrs…

Especially , I no money kind … My son no SLT & OT . Until recently just join rainbow in late jan… :-(…

All mummies Input n generousily share thier experience help me so much that after work I work can w my son…

wamin

@jme, thanks. same here my boy turned 4 not long ago.

And he follow instructions and he knows when i am angry :). He can take off his clothes when bathing (thanks to my wife she is very strict and always tell me i am the one who spoil them, but even before i meet my wife i always thought i will give my kids everything what i can afford and will pass on to them what i am learning so i am kind of soft 😓 ), take of his shoes and put in rack, operate anything is easy for him (including my phone :(). Since he started EPIC we have seen lot of improvement, in morning when i bring them to school he hold his sister hand and i hold his hand and we walk to car and then same to school 🙂 (it is fun to see them holding hand, again thanks to my wife she is the one behind this). But my daughter is 3 years and she is not as responsive as much as him, but she have words and sometimes she use them (totally on her mood if she want to use them) but my son is very quiet never said a single word only babbling.

helplessmum3

Slmkhoo ,

I have two colleagues gave birth after 40s… Also NT kids …

Just like down D.S probe but still dun get DS kids.

Just high chance

Lavina

Just for info:

There is a Special Needs Savings Scheme, under CPF which makes monthly payouts to special-needs children after their parents’ death.

For other money, parents can set up a trust fund with the Special Needs Trust Company (SNTC), which is jointly supported by the Ministry of Social and Family Development and National Council of Social Service.

But I think these are for kids attending special schools only.

nugget

helplessmum3:
                    Wamin. Ya lo very hard to get married and young age..

I mean the facts some how make some sense.

Last time when pp can get married early so lesser ASD .

Now pp very difficult to get married earlier then all asd increasing ..

Think my parents time get married b4 25yo..that's last time standard of living la..
                    Helplessmum,

I had my #1 when I was 28. My 2nd when I was 31. My 2nd turn out fine. So its not so true.

Lavina

I gave birth at 26, relatively young right? also like that…

wamin

@nugget, @Lavina just a question. Did doctor prescribe iron pill when both of you were pregnant?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 389 / 794

kubetecoK
                        kubeteco