if i am a mil,
Alamak, obviously too late if 生米煮成熟饭, that's why you should read the 2nd part 'Already started brain washing my girls on my favourite type' yo
You sleepy is it? :skeptical:sleepy:
If I'm a MIL,
I want to get a say in selecting my (favourite type of) son in law :evil:
Already started brain washing my girls on my favourite type :evil: :evil:
If you are oredi MIL means you have no say liao lor. :slapshead:
slmkhoo:
But what if that 'type' doesn't suit them? They are the ones who are marrying the man. One of my cousins went out with this very nice guy, so nice that my aunt really liked him. When they broke up, my aunt was more heartbroken than my cousin! Frankly, I always felt that he was too nice to my aunt and my younger cousin, and my cousin (the one he was dating) probably got fed up in the end. We just tell our daughters that we hope they will find a man who will be their best friend and will make them happy (and hopefully being nice to us will make our daughters happy).
True, it's all about finding soulmates.
However, I feel that we have more experience in 看人. Not saying we are always right but certain clear cut unsuitable type should be nipped in the bud. Once blinded by love, it will be too late for us to interfere because unlikely to accept our opinion by then. So I already started planting ideas what are the undesirable characteristics to look out & stay away from and what are the type to consider favourably
I will teach my daughter to open her eyes WIDE when finding husband material...preferably not the 'mummy's boy' or she will suffer.
Yes, I second that. Indeed 嫁错郎 can totally ruin a girl's life
There are 2 obvious types that should be axed immediately, no need to bother with a second date.
1. still hung up about his ex-gf
2. always talk about his mum
No offence to anyone hor, entirely my personal preference.
Actually I had a very long checklist + razar sharp instinct when I was shopping for a future husband. That's why I only had my 1st bf (aka my dh) at the ripe age of 24. Took me a long time to choose la. The rest of my admirers didn't make it past 3rd date. I :siam: because none met my criteria. I can be rational & objective because I was not in love yet -
when i become a mil, or before that, i will be fair to both son-in-law and daughter-in-law…be cordial and adopt a friendly approach, don’t whine, don’t interfere especially when they quarrel.
alwayscheerfulalwayskind:
It is a routine, everytime they demand to have dinner in fancy restaurants, in return will give DS some 'food'. Those expired 1 ringgit biscuits or ba gwa complete with moulds and foul smell...auntieM:
I will not give my grandchildren rejects, expired and mouldy food.. ..
Double confirm, after receiving them for the past decade.. :slapshead:
U mean ur mil give ur kids expired food?
Long story but I am used to it liao..
All I can say it this is definitely what I will never do if I am a mil.. ..
I will give the potential gf a list of my boy's shortcomings. Continue the relationship only if she can accept them, agree not to expect my boy to change for the better. That to me is unconditional love.
Of course, I will do my best to make my boys turn into fine gentlemen with good manners.
If I fail to do so, I will issue a disclaimer :rotflmao: Enter at your own risks. -
Jennifer,
You are so sweet…I should consider doing the same. Hahaha.
Most importantly, enter any relationship with both eyes wide open.
Know my son for what he is. -
when i become a mil, or before that, i will be fair to both son-in-law and daughter-in-law...be cordial and adopt a friendly approach, don't whine, don't interfere especially when they quarrel.
what if u find out ur DIL bullies ur son? making him doing all hseworks n running errands...possible not to interfere?
i am the one who does all hsework+mktg+cooking+running errands.Once i was ill n unable to do so,when my MIL found out my DH helped me,she called n hinted me how she managed to do all the things even when she was pregnant n terribly sick. -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: that's a good one.....I will give the potential gf a list of my boy's shortcomings. Continue the relationship only if she can accept them, agree not to expect my boy to change for the better. That to me is unconditional love.
Of course, I will do my best to make my boys turn into fine gentlemen with good manners.
If I fail to do so, I will issue a disclaimer :rotflmao: Enter at your own risks.
Jennifer,
Buds passed her humourous virus to u. -
my MIL always tries to show her fairness when my DH ard.
She is a chameleon.
Once my DH goes off, she'll change colour. :rant:
I remember once she hinted me to give a bigger \"ba zhan\" to my DH.
She said:\"there r 2 ba zhan,1 big,1 small.If u dote ur DH,u shld know what to do....\"
Guess....what is my answer?................................................................................................................... :evil:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.