2013 Sec 1 Discussions

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    817 Posts 96 Posters 454.5k Views 1 Watching
      kitty2

Wonder the schools gave them past years exam papers to practice?some kids are good in Art , they will be able to do well if they choose Art. My neighbour's dd us good in Art and she is doing Art for o level, she always score A 🙂

fifiyeo

I agree that Art is either you can do well naturally and collect that free A or else better spend the time on other subjects. But I think teacher wasn’t nice to use the words ‘not creative’.

kitty2

fifiyeo:
          I agree that Art is either you can do well naturally and collect that free A or else better spend the time on other subjects. But I think teacher wasn't nice to use the words 'not creative'.

Agreed with you. The teacher doesn't know what is Art, Art is something which cannot be described 🙂 look at those artist, their Art is not fantastic to us but that's Art 😂

BeContented

fifiyeo:
            I agree that Art is either you can do well naturally and collect that free A or else better spend the time on other subjects. But I think teacher wasn't nice to use the words 'not creative'.

Aiyoh dun like that leh 😓

Not Free A lah.
            While some are naturally better, every skill requires effort, time & practise to be good. Different people different interest, different skillsets :love:

fifiyeo

BeContented:
              fifiyeo:

Aiyoh dun like that leh 😓

Not Free A lah.
              While some are naturally better, every skill requires effort, time & practise to be good. Different people different interest, different skillsets :love:

I suppose when it's not a chore, it's considered \"free A\". 😂
              Like Literature will cost me my life!!! :yikes:

Sun_2010

LE ANN:

agree ... It takes some talent to be creative. My DS is not at all. His sch started exam rather late. He is only in his 4th paper today. Will only end exam next Tuesday which is Arts 😓
                Just a different take...
                We often think artistic with creativity. Different forms of creativity exists - art is but one of them. While artists are creative, scientists can be creative too. Isnt innovation a form of great creativity? Whenever a child does an action without having seen/being told by anyone else how do it, its creativity. Get a bunch of kids on to the field, with no standard game to play, maybe just a ball, and watch creativity and imagination unfold. But first we have to pry out the electronic gadget from their hands and drag them out. 😆

nichelleeng

kitty2:
                  Any of your kids have to take 2 papers in a day? Example Sci and Maths or Sci and home econs in a day?

the most I've heard is up to 3 papers a day

mummy so kiasu

don't have to score A for it...just pass and move on. art is a subject which is very difficult to score.

Unless you have the talent, just like music. Those who are talented will score A without much effort. Don't have to study so hard like other subjects. In fact, it is a form of therapy & it can help to release stress if you enjoy it. I always envy those who are talented in art or music.

I thought son can draw well…so art should not be any issue…but he seemed to be worried over this exam. Anyway, mid-year exams are over and I am expecting results to be released soon.

fifiyeo

Long Weekend coming up!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 81 / 82