Secondary School CCA
Bear.w.me:
Huh? you can do the same ma.... then you can concentrate on MEP. Teenagers are quite different from children, I think. If she finds no interest, then she might not look forward to CCA. If she switches midway, I'm not sure if that is good for points... I feel that teenagers have so much to handle already, I really want my kids to have fun and enjoy what they are doing. But that's just me. I learnt that after a few mistakes.Hi everyone, just one week into new academic year and all tired already?
My DD1 school has started CCA selection and parents and daughter's wish are in conflict...how to resolve that? Maybe just let the school decide will do...
Parents wish she takes up MEP related CCA but she likes sports (especially badminton). While she has no formal training in sports...i think it is not a wise way to achieve points.
I always hear one must choose interest over anything else. In order to gain CCA points, I do not think head should always rule...must depend on heart also. Right?
(at this juncture, how i wish i am in the shoe of 2ppaamm...need not think too hard because she only goes for least time required, least participantion and least effort school CCA just to fulfill attendance requirement, 好羡慕啊) -
I might just do that. It is really true that 人无远虑,必有近优 (孔子).
mummyjoyce:
hi mummyjoyce, lovingmum
I like your posting as it echo what is on my mind too. Looking forward to replies here. Very stressful for this FTWM after kid goes to Sec 1.lovingmum:
Dear all,
I am not sure if I have miss it somewhere so if anyone knows the link, it would be great if you can forward to me. Greatly appreciate it. Just wondering, for CCA in IP schools, is it necessary to get a A1? Afterall, they do not need to have more points to get a place in JC, hence, can I say that the kids do not need to be so actively involved in CCAs? Given the fact that many DSA kids have already got their CCA secured, there is not many choices left for the rest of the kids and with timing clashes etc, even fewer options are available. It is more like joining a CCA for the sake of joining then taking it up for interest.
And how does CCA help in getting a place in University? Again minus some points here and there and perhaps helpful to application of scholarship? I
It will be great if someone can share some light, no need to go into details unless you have the time to do so......
thank you very much in advance.
This is what I gathered at the cca briefing yesterday: while ip students dont need the cca points for entry to jc, it'll definitely look better on their scholarship/uni application to stand out among the straight As students...especially if the recruiter has to decide between 2 very similar students...one with excellent cca records while the other passable ones. -
mathsparks:
...especially if the recruiter has to decide between 2 very similar students...one with excellent cca records while the other passable ones.
Er... I know abit about campus recruitment. Certainly don't think all schools look for straight As students at all, not even the highest demand faculties. A collection of As and Bs is just as good. Other characteristics are important.
Country reps, school reps, the potential students' leadership qualities, initiatives, character etc... these are very important. In the uni it seems relatively easier to pass than to enter. Uni is a society itself, we cannot have all muggies. We need leaders and a variety of characters with arts (performance and visual), business acumen and sports to make the campus a great place. Just my view.
And lovingmum, no, I have not known a uni that minus points here and there. A person is not a number, like in our local education system. I'd rather think how the uni can make the student an even better person after graduation. There are some cutoff points, (refer to the NUS, NTU, SMU and other universities' requirements) for standard tests, this is to ascertain the student can cope with the school's curriculum, but not all who meet those cutoff points will make it to school of choice. These are just guides for most unis I know.
Safe to say, if you meet the cutoff points, excellent CCA and pass the interview, you will get in. If you meet just one or two, there's really no guarantee. But, like in all schools, we can always appeal!:D -
julongmum:
Infocomm is not AVA lah. In RV, infocom is from multi-media to robotics. Things they learn are C programming, videotaking, website design, NXT robotics ... Its not a relax one because many competitions to join.Infocomm is AVA right? I suppose it is not siong, but in terms of getting CCA points, is it good? TIA for any comments

My DD is also considering Softball -
Bear.w.me:
人无远虑,必有近优 (孔子).
Like that. As parents, we really ought to plan rather than fight fires here and there. Thanks for the reminder! -
Bear.w.me:
bear.w.me, you are not alone. I encountered this last year when dd was selecting CCA. Talk, persuade, convince, argue, whatever you can name of ... finally settle with a CCA we think its good for her to try out, although is something totally new for her and a great challenge for her. Eventually, she is loving the CCA now and doing well. She herself is very surprise too. What I want her to learn is, must think of the big picture, think far, not be afraid to take up challenge. In life, it is a fact that many of the times, we don't get to do things we like or interest in. We have to weigh the situation ....Hi everyone, just one week into new academic year and all tired already?
My DD1 school has started CCA selection and parents and daughter's wish are in conflict...how to resolve that? Maybe just let the school decide will do...
Parents wish she takes up MEP related CCA but she likes sports (especially badminton). While she has no formal training in sports...i think it is not a wise way to achieve points.
I always hear one must choose interest over anything else. In order to gain CCA points, I do not think head should always rule...must depend on heart also. Right?
(at this juncture, how i wish i am in the shoe of 2ppaamm...need not think too hard because she only goes for least time required, least participantion and least effort school CCA just to fulfill attendance requirement, 好羡慕啊)
Interest can be cultivated and if one has not try out, its not fair for yourself to say you won't like it. -
daisyt:
Hehe, I thought infocomm is setting up the computers in the lab and then doing duty to watch over the computers... silly me....
Infocomm is not AVA lah. In RV, infocom is from multi-media to robotics. Things they learn are C programming, videotaking, website design, NXT robotics ... Its not a relax one because many competitions to join. -
2ppaamm:
Hehe, I thought infocomm is setting up the computers in the lab and then doing duty to watch over the computers... silly me....
Hahaha ... what is there to watch for computers hor ??? :? Hang, just restart lor.
Morever Macs hardly get hang.
daisyt:
Hahaha ... what is there to watch for computers hor ??? :? Hang, just restart lor.
Morever Macs hardly get hang.
A bit suah ku... I thought they are afraid people will steal them ma... quite ignorant hor? :stupid: Now I know, the world keeps changing... ha ha my knowledge is so outdated...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.