[Bedok] Primary Schools

865 Posts 220 Posters 320.4k Views 1 Watching
      kayemoss

weyw:
      kayemoss:

Fengshan is popular coz its the nearest school for all those children staying near there. In fact, my Mum told me that if N years ago, i din say i want to study at Temasek. She will just register me at Fengshan. Yu Neng has always been popular as far as i remember.

wow,

at such young age you can choose your own pri school ...how fortunate.

Well, that's one of the few things she gave me freedom coz it dun involve $$ mah... Plus my dad told me that i even have to go through balloting to get a place in the school N years ago.

Barbiemoney

weyw:
        Barbiemoney:

Sigh. Many of those not really staying there, just rent the flat and change IC.

I'll pray for your friend. Does he be PV for the school? šŸ™

R u one of them?...

I stay there and that area have lots of kids who will be due to register for Primary schools in coming years...including mine.

I'm not. I'll register my dd in Tampines. :xedfingers:

sleepy

weyw:

I stay there and that area have lots of kids who will be due to register for Primary schools in coming years...including mine.
          Have you started pv?

weyw

sleepy:
            weyw:

Have you started pv?

nope...

2013 phase 2B:-

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/#bedok

last year (2012) phase 2B:-
              http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3487&start=380

2C
              http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3487&start=480

weyw

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/#bedok

thanks.

hopefulmumrabbit:

I am surprised yu neng and fengshan are so popular. I know red swastika is of course popular. What other choices can we go for? I am singaporean.

i am surprised fengshan has become popular as their Psle results is not that outstanding....
                  Perhaps, it is more densely populated there ??
                  For Yu Neng, Yes, i know it has been gaining popularity.....

Schools like Yu neng, feng Shan are trying to catch up.
                  They are improving in their standard.

Moe said she want to concentrate on improving the quality of primary schools.
                  Just wondering how is moe going to ...
                  Help schools like damai, east coast, Bedok west reach to a standard same as Tao nan. (Also a school in the east)

kayemoss

[quote=\"hopefulmumrabbit\"]I am surprised yu neng and fengshan are so popular. I know red swastika is of course popular. What other choices can we go for? I am singaporean.

i am surprised fengshan has become popular as their Psle results is not that outstanding....

Schools like Yu neng, feng Shan are trying to catch up.
                    They are improving in their standard.

Moe said she want to concentrate on improving the quality of primary schools.
                    Just wondering how is moe going to ...
                    Help schools like damai, east coast, Bedok west reach to a standard same as Tao nan. (Also a school in the east)[/quote]I think it depends on the individual schools & their management. My siblings studied in Poi Ching pri school (in the 90s), nobody knew this school at all. It was when you said, its besides Pei Chun... (Before they moved to tampines)... Ppl will say oh, i know where its location is at. Now, its such a popular school that my ex-colleague did PV & moved to within 1km of Poi Ching just to ensure that her son gets in.

So there's always a possibilty of the above schools to reach a standard as Tao Nan but alot of hard work is required from the school & their management, MOE & the parents... Ultimately, it also boils down to the students themselves. That's my 2 cents of thoughts. šŸ™‚

Actually, Yu neng history : started off as a Chinese primary school.
                      She is rooted in Chinese traditional values. Then sometime down the road years later, she converted into bilingual, ie. both English and Chinese.

From what i know -
                      The p1 teachers are caring, patient and loving.
                      There are some kids who are weak in Maths. So what the p1 Maths teachers do is to pull them out from regular maths class - form small groups and with much patience and dedication, do their very best to try bring them up to the p1 level Maths standard requirements expected. So far, this method has been proven. This Maths teacher will engage weak pupils ' attention, conduct Maths lessons in a lively and fun similar to kindergarten way but targeted at rapid speed mastering of p1 concepts - so much so that the p1 pupils do not fear Maths, but enjoy Maths. By the end of term 4 - these pupils (once weak) are no longer weak anymore. They have gained foothold in maths, become strong. In fact, the pupils face p2 Maths, with confidence. In this aspect, I like Yu neng p1 Maths teachers.

The Maths head of department also \"on\" type. She will walk the extra mile, put in effort and \"roll up her sleeves \" to arrange p1 Maths modeling workshop to parents, sometime in p1 term 2. Purpose is to trains and guide parents first, so that in turn parents able to guide kids at home, in Maths. Perhaps it is this type of dedication that parents hope to see. And once they see it, by word of mouth, it spread rapidly in Bedok. Hence , this school slowly gaining popularity, due to hard work seen in teachers put in.

Word of mouth spread is important! It spread like fire rapidly.
                      Just like ai tong school principal - he is rather young and dynamic leadership, guiding both areas of academic and uphold teaching of moral values well.
                      Parents from ai tong only have praise for their school.

Feng Shan primary :-
                      If you meet Bedok residents, they will say that feng Shan is also not bad.
                      In 2011- pr still can get a chance in. But from 2012 onwards, suddenly like become v hard for pr.

But those blocks of Hdb flats surrounding feng Shan -
                      Have a lot of pr eyeing feng Shan, ESP. China & Malaysian prc.

Anyone can provide feedback on Telok kurau primary ?

How are the students and teachers here like?
                        What about academic standard and does the school teach p1 to p6 pupils character moral education?

One if my friends considering this for her child, under 2c supp.
                        Any info from parents with kids studying in this school (be it current or past) -
                        Will be much appreciated. Thank you, on behalf if my friend.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 60 / 87