2014 P1 Registration Exercise for 2015 In-Take

3.7k Posts 113 Posters 665.3k Views 1 Watching
      bagabunny

dimension:
      Bluebottle:

At least you got accepted as PV for HW right? Most ppl don't even get selected these days! πŸ™‚

Why yr relatives don't like SCGS? Uniform is quite nice heh.

ya problem is HWS doesnt restrict PV. so they take in everyone. thats why even <1km oso nid to ballot. other schools select PV so that after completion PVs almost sure get into schools. so each has its pros and cons ba.

SCGS> they don't like it seems elitist. we're from mediocre background, they don't want dd to feel outcasted, they also feel SCGS too \"angmo\" pai. vs HWS is more traditional chinese. uniform, well haha cooling lah, sg so hot πŸ˜›

I have a strong preference for navy blue and white. Haha. That explains part of my inclination. I also worry for my son should he go RV cos we jiak kang dang one.

lukemommy

dimension:
        Bluebottle:

At least you got accepted as PV for HW right? Most ppl don't even get selected these days! πŸ™‚

ya problem is HWS doesnt restrict PV. so they take in everyone. thats why even <1km oso nid to ballot. other schools select PV so that after completion PVs almost sure get into schools. so each has its pros and cons ba.

SCGS> they don't like it seems elitist. we're from mediocre background, they don't want dd to feel outcasted, they also feel SCGS too \"angmo\" pai. vs HWS is more traditional chinese. uniform, well haha cooling lah, sg so hot πŸ˜›

My sis studied at SCGS sec, me studied at MGS sec after we graduated from Nan Chiau Pri. She liked SCGS uniform and I liked MGS uniform , lol.

My sis is now an associate professor in NUS. We are not really rich and quite a number of our schoolmates weren't rich either. I have schoolmates lived in 3 room hdb flats in kallang and bendemeer and I don,t think we were outcasted. I have a friend , both his children study at Nyps and he is not rich.

My sis has two boys, if she has a girl, she will definitely put her girl in SCGS.Don't waste your chance to let your girl studies at SCGS, it's a great school, trust me. My cousin rented a place near there just to get his girl in when their new place was still under construction ( new place far away from SCGS) , luckily his girl got in and her PSLE result was pretty good, 246,managed to continue her studies there.

Bluebottle

dimension:
          Bluebottle:

But they sent you there right? :evil:

How did you find it when you were there? had an okay experience?

I think kids are less elitist than we think they are, usually it's the parents/relatives' generation that have such bugbears.

Bluebottle

bagabunny:
            dimension:

[quote=\"Bluebottle\"]

I have a strong preference for navy blue and white. Haha. That explains part of my inclination. I also worry for my son should he go RV cos we jiak kang dang one.[/quote]Haha, there are a prolific number of neighbourhood schools with that colour combi too.

Blessedwife

If I were you , I will definitely let my daughter to study in SCGS !

So many ppl wanted the chance but can't
              You know how fortunate you are πŸ˜‰

As for your son, wait till later then you try to PV at your ideal school for him ?

bagabunny

My sis studied at SCGS sec, me studied at MGS sec after we graduated from Nan Chiau Pri. She liked SCGS uniform and I liked MGS uniform , lol.

My sis is now an associate professor in NUS. We are not really rich and quite a number of our schoolmates weren’t rich either. I have schoolmates lived in 3 room hdb flats in kallang and bendemeer and I don,t think we were outcasted. I have a friend , both his children study at Nyps and he is not rich.

My sis has two boys, if she has a girl, she will definitely put her girl in SCGS.Don’t waste your chance to let your girl studies at SCGS, it’s a great school, trust me. My cousin rented a place near there just to get his girl in when their new place was still under construction ( new place far away from SCGS) , luckily his girl got in and her PSLE result was pretty good, 246,managed to continue her studies there.[/quote]

yes! I think girls’ school…there’s something special about them.
                I will also wanna put my girl in my sch- MGS…hello…do i know you? hahaha

Blessedwife

Ha ha sorry my message is actually for dimension πŸ˜‰

Of coz MGS is good too πŸ™‚

dimension

haha is not my side that has a problem with SCGS. my IL taking care of my kids. they also find its inconvenient if the two kids schools so far away. They are quite elderly la, so I also empathise with them. They also feel SCGS too ang mo.. btw is it still true? last time my time is really quite ang mo lah haha my chinese CMI kind :oops:

for me, i see the benefits of having the kids in same school. aside from logistics, hoping they will grow closer also, take care of each other. something in common. also we'll be more familiar with the school system. of course means less stress about son's entry to pri 1 too... i think if i have 2 girls, hahah probably no nid to think so much liao

but mainly i'm quite unwilling to make my girl travel so far to go to a school. u guys think the school is worth the effort and inconveniences?

bagabunny>> quite interesting to see what choice u will choose eventually πŸ˜‚ coz we're pretty much similar boat. btw your PV is with where?

bagabunny

dimension:
                      haha is not my side that has a problem with SCGS. my IL taking care of my kids. they also find its inconvenient if the two kids schools so far away. They are quite elderly la, so I also empathise with them. They also feel SCGS too ang mo.. btw is it still true? last time my time is really quite ang mo lah haha my chinese CMI kind :oops:

for me, i see the benefits of having the kids in same school. aside from logistics, hoping they will grow closer also, take care of each other. something in common. also we'll be more familiar with the school system. of course means less stress about son's entry to pri 1 too... i think if i have 2 girls, hahah probably no nid to think so much liao

but mainly i'm quite unwilling to make my girl travel so far to go to a school. u guys think the school is worth the effort and inconveniences?

bagabunny>> quite interesting to see what choice u will choose eventually πŸ˜‚ coz we're pretty much similar boat. btw your PV is with where?
                      Dimension,
                      my pv is with Fairfield. ya also headache cos 1 boy 1 girl lor..and hubby sch no affliation. Affliation v impt to me leh, cos if psle dun do well, at least still can go to a rather decent sec sch...

Blessedwife

Bagabunny,

Didn't know you PV for Fairfield πŸ™‚

My son is studying in Fairfield πŸ™‚

May I know you are residing within 1km or 1-2km ?

What do you think of your chances in getting into the school ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 49 / 368

Amber2018A
                        Amber2018