Secondary School Pocket Money

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    114 Posts 42 Posters 37.9k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

pinky:
      Looking at how crazy the property prices are now, I think 10-20 years down the road, they will be beyond the reach of our children. So better

keep the house for our kids. Who knows they may have to live in Pulau
      Ubin HDB flats next time :!:
      no lah, by that time ubin also pricey (think sentosa). Probably they will be encouraged to move to our northern neighbours for affordable housing. Then can reunite with their aged parents who are staying at old age home there also. 😐

hquek

millan:

We gv $5 per day just for food allowance. My brother gives his son $50 per week so we ask him to keep quiet.. 😛
        Ummm, but cousins don't compare? Was thinking about maid theory (they tend to start comparing when they get together - that's when maids start asking for day offs, handphones, blah blah). :roll:

carebear

lizawa:

I have a friend, who wanted to encourage her daughter (who was in upper primary then) to read more books, told her daughter that for every story book that she finished, she would give her $10.

Her daughter told her \"Not interested\".

How long can we use $$ as a carrot ?
          Use $$ as carrot until they are no longer students.
          Once they change occupation, they have to give their old mama money!
          They know that i give my mother monthly allowance, hopefully they will do the same 🙏

buds hubs

lizawa:
            I have a friend, who wanted to encourage her daughter (who was in upper primary then) to read more books, told her daughter that for every story book that she finished, she would give her $10.

Her daughter told her \"Not interested\".

How long can we use $$ as a carrot ?
            Not for long I suppose.. I think kids nowadays are just spoilt..
            I dont blame them entirely.. we are the ones to blame for spoiling & sheltering them..
            Perhaps one of the reasons why we did so is because we did not have
            such luxury when we were young and we want them to have a better life.

Well.. what to do... the world is rapidly changing.. rising cost of living
            expenses..everyone is getting more & more competetive.. hence it unknowingly affects us..

Sometimes we just need to have a wake up call by visiting or looking at those who are less fortunate than us and be thankful 🙏 to god for all our blessings.. Read more here: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/teach-children-count-their-blessings

wonderm

carebear:

They know that i give my mother monthly allowance, hopefully they will do the same 🙏
              I thought workers \"produce\" something (or provide service), that's why their employer or customers pay them in return. In the children/parent case, I wonder what is the message to the children? What do their poor parents \"get\" when they work hard, or go for tuition? Why should the parents \"pay\" them on top of paying the tuition fees? If the children do not even care to think about it from their parents' point of view, it is quite scary to think what kind of adults they will grow up to be.

tutormum

cindylauper:
                How about fast food visits with friends, such as mcdonalds or mos burgers? Should we pay extra ? Or should we ask them to eat in school canteen? I worry she loiter around after fast food visits...but cannot be helped if there is projects right? 😞

I give on case to case basis. All my DS are homely type and go out only when necessary. Most of the time they go with their friends for a meal after church service. Sometimes, they go for a show, which is about 2 or 3 times a year. 😉

westmom

millan:

We gv $5 per day just for food allowance. My brother gives his son $50 per week so we ask him to keep quiet.. 😛

Ummm, but cousins don't compare? Was thinking about maid theory (they tend to start comparing when they get together - that's when maids start asking for day offs, handphones, blah blah). :roll:

Kids willl never stop comparing with each other. But I always emphazise to my dd that evey household is different from each other. She has to learn to accept that there are different boundaries and the rules of each house. And she is our child so the rules of our family and house will prevail. I told her it is the same in the corporate world. You are staff of one company and you cannot demand from your boss the benefits of your friends' companies! Not only kids compare pocket money...they will compare about their shoes, bags etc or why they cannot \"go out\" xxx times etc like her friends. I taught her to accept that each family has different resources and priorities so she hardly complain about such stuff to me. Also I feel it is important to get into a school where she can see a more balanced profile of students...a good mix of rich, poor and middle income kids where she will learn more about empathy for the less fortunate....(sorry...gone slightly off the topic)...

carebear

wonderm:
                    carebear:

I thought workers \"produce\" something (or provide service), that's why their employer or customers pay them in return. In the children/parent case, I wonder what is the message to the children? What do their poor parents \"get\" when they work hard, or go for tuition? Why should the parents \"pay\" them on top of paying the tuition fees? If the children do not even care to think about it from their parents' point of view, it is quite scary to think what kind of adults they will grow up to be.

It is a mercenary world out there.
                    Most of us work for money even though we may not like our job.
                    So if kids can be cajouled to do well by rewarding them financially, i do not see it as a problem.
                    If they do well in their exams, they will be rewarded further.
                    With my kids, it is not so much about the amount of money given, but the act of rewarding them that counts!

julongmum

DS’s classmates borrowed 60cents from him and didn’t return him the money cos he hasn’t got enough cash. He then offered to buy a can of Yakult at 7eleven with his ezlink card.

VitoRelax

julongmum:
                        DS's classmates borrowed 60cents from him and didn't return him the money cos he hasn't got enough cash. He then offered to buy a can of Yakult at 7eleven with his ezlink card.

Quite innovative 😄 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 12

LONGtimeAGOL
                        LONGtimeAGO
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        MarylinerM
                        Maryliner