All About Life Without Maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    2.4k Posts 503 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

mocharita:
      2ppaamm:

Mocharita, remember daisyt mentioned she uses the quick30, it means even if you do 3 loads a day, it will only take 1.5 hours. Don't use longer ones e.g. 3 hours, otherwise, you will do laundry the whole day. :idea:

Will the washer spoils if I don't put enough load in it?

No, but it will spoil if you put too much in it.

flim

Emelyn:
        Hi flim,

you mean can just wear the gloves and \"wipe\" over the areas to clean ?
        Sounds good lei....
        I must go look for it in NTUC.
        yup yup. but i get her to use it just for dusting dry stuff. just to remove dust. not exactly 'clean' them. what i mean by this is, let's say, your tv has fingerprints. if i get my daughter to do it with the glove, it won't remove the fingerprints. i have to do it myself for that.

daisyt

Fairy:

Thanks daisyt. Just curious, is the ready chop garlic as frangrant as the ones we prepare ourselves when cooked? I love to use lots of garlic when frying food. It makes a world of difference to the outcome of the dish. Seems like Tupperware is the only air-tight container hor? I've tried other brands, never really air-tight, even though the manufacturer claimed so.

:shock: once or twice a week? I cleaned everyday! Though not everything.

king sized fitted sheet - very innovative indeed 😄 .We do have a piano cover. It's velvet & attracts a lot of dust. Moreover, it only covers the top leh.
          Yes, the ready chop garlic is as fragrant, I also love to use lots of garlic.

Sigh .. I have to close one eyes on the dust lor .... :lol:

Ya, those piano cover bought outside are always velvet and attacts lots of dust and expensive !!

Andaiz

flim:
            Emelyn:

Hi flim,

you mean can just wear the gloves and \"wipe\" over the areas to clean ?
            Sounds good lei....
            I must go look for it in NTUC.

yup yup. but i get her to use it just for dusting dry stuff. just to remove dust. not exactly 'clean' them. what i mean by this is, let's say, your tv has fingerprints. if i get my daughter to do it with the glove, it won't remove the fingerprints. i have to do it myself for that.

Ladies, I couldn't find this in NTUC. Saw it at John Little - so bright it ain't funny loh. $3.90 I think and it's a JL exclusive? Head down to an outlet if you can't find them at your usual place. 😉

MamaKlein

Just want to share my personal experience.

My son is 5 years old and we had a maid for 3 years.
              The maid’s job was basically taking care and play with my son.
              Simple housework like cleaning is a must daily and good for her… no cooking required. Last year in March, I release my maid due to some unpleasant situation… Plans and thought ran thru my mind at the time. Was tough…

Plans to send him to child care centre did not work as the nearest center closes at 7pm sharp and I know one thing for sure is that I will NEVER make it, picking up my young man. My hubby is working shift work and hence leaving the pick up to him is not at all possible.
              Spoke to some neighbours and got a nanny who is staying at the same block. I would say I am fortunate to get this good nanny. She charges me $400 per month and settles lunch and dinner. She even took the trouble to teach my son writing, singing, etc.

As for housework, I got a part time cleaner, who comes in on every Saturday morning Of course during the weekdays, I need to so some simple ones too.

Frankly, I would not want a maid anymore. Not only did we save $ on maid’s salary and SP bills, we save headaches and heartaches too. I happily tell myself trhat I got one person lesser to worry about.

Look forward CHEERS!!

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

MamaKlein:
                I got one person lesser to worry about.

Look forward CHEERS!!
                How true, I am her mum too, that's why she called me m'arm. :lol:

daisyt

MamaKlein:

Frankly, I would not want a maid anymore. Not only did we save $ on maid's salary and SP bills, we save headaches and heartaches too. I happily tell myself trhat I got one person lesser to worry about.

Look forward CHEERS!!
                  Hi MamaKlein, yes, one person less to worry, one \"child\" less to take care. Hahaha ... So stress with a maid. 😄

• E Offline
                    Emelyn

MamaKlein:

Look forward CHEERS!!
                    Yes. Three Cheers !!!
                    I survived 2009 with a full time job, 3 kids and without a maid. I'm looking forward to more good years ahead.

Just asked DH last Sunday...do u think we will ever get a maid ?.... we looked at each other and said \"nay..... !\"

• 2 Offline
                      2ppaamm

Emelyn:
                      MamaKlein:

Look forward CHEERS!!

Yes. Three Cheers !!!
                      I survived 2009 with a full time job, 3 kids and without a maid. I'm looking forward to more good years ahead.

Just asked DH last Sunday...do u think we will ever get a maid ?.... we looked at each other and said \"nay..... !\"

Yay!!! I look forward to my 1st anniversary without a maid too!

Andaiz

2ppaamm:
                        Yay!!! I look forward to my 1st anniversary without a maid too!

:celebrate: great job parents...am looking forward to the day I can join your ranks...baby steps, baby steps!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 245

iisterryI
                        iisterry