Secondary School Pocket Money
Chirunner:
$50 per weeks on top of all other expenses being on the house seems like spoiling the market. Though the child should not feel deprived if the amount is smaller and the child should feel secure that if there is a need, the need will be met.My sec 1 boy gets $50 a week, up from $30 in pri sch. He doesn't need to use ez link card, n he has lunch at home mostly unless he has to stay back or activities.
His sec 2 brother has been getting the same last year, I pay for ez link top up n he even pays for his own haircut out of it even tho I say I'll pick that up. I'm thinking of increasing it to $60 cos I think first born should have some privileges and also cos he's been very good with his money. He tithes 10% out of that allowance and has never asked me for extra. He even offered to contribute $50 when I wanted to buy him an $80 schoolbag. Generally he also saves up and pays for stuff he wants.
I find that it's not excessive cos it allows them to save and also gives them the opportunity to bless others if they choose to. Ds2 routinely gives me $100 for my birthday every year n gives Ang POWs to his grandparents too in smaller amounts.
Another question; for kids on scholarship, do you give them the $200 to keep? I deposit the money in their bank accounts. -
$50 per weeks on top of all other expenses being on the house seems like spoiling the market. Though the child should not feel deprived if the amount is smaller and the child should feel secure that if there is a need, the need will be met.
Like Chirunner, I gave my boy $50 per week too. He is taught to tithe 10% of that allowance too. He spends longs hours in school. Lunch is taken in school most days. He is wise with his spending - does not spend on unnecessary stuff and saves quite a lot. The other day, he just showed me his savings and is quite pleased with it.
As for any form of scholarship which is given as a cheque in his name, it will be deposited in his account. :lol:
If it is written in his dad's name - then of course it goes into the daddy's account lah. -
csc:
scholarship awards and prize money are all in student's nameLike Chirunner, I gave my boy $50 per week too. He is taught to tithe 10% of that allowance too. He spends longs hours in school. Lunch is taken in school most days. He is wise with his spending - does not spend on unnecessary stuff and saves quite a lot. The other day, he just showed me his savings and is quite pleased with it.
As for any form of scholarship which is given as a cheque in his name, it will be deposited in his account. :lol:
If it is written in his dad's name - then of course it goes into the daddy's account lah.
got one time the school wrote the name wrongly, wah very leh cheh, must wait for another signature to change the cheque, but no choice lah -
My hubby told me he received one scholarhip cheque in his name - and it was deposited into his account. Beats me?? :?
csc:
My hubby told me he received one scholarhip cheque in his name - and it was deposited into his account. Beats me?? :?
How I wish some of the cheques were issued to my name ! -
Thanks pinky88:-) I guess they’re able to cos they have been given enough to be able to save part of their allowance. I don’t want them to skip meals just to be able to buy something. We’re very stingy with toys tho- the 3 brothers share one swaveboard half the price of which they had to pool together to contribute toward. They’ve always had to share toys as we don’t believe in having to buy 3 of everything as most people thought we had to- the rule is you either share or don’t play.
As for whether $50 is excessive, it’s really a question of opinion and there’s really no market rate or right or wrong amount. I give enough for them to treat themselves if they want to, bless others and save and watch their kitty grow. It makes them want to save more:-)
As for the scholarship, I feel the child earned it, so I credit his account for the amount. Spoiling the market? There’ll always be people you feel are getting a better deal in life, and my kids feel the same way too about some people but they know better than to tell me!! -
Hi my DS1, he started with $35.00 per week, after his S1 SA1, i reduced to $30 for poor result. He has since improved and from S2 onwards, $35 was resumed. now he is in S4, he is given $200 per month, including the ez link card, CCA etc, and he is expected to manage his own allowance and Saving.I dunno yet bcos this is the first time my girl in Sec 1, still watching & monitoring what others do. I suppose I will have to find out the cost food in her canteen.
But in Pri school, her canteen food is only 50 cents, she brought her own drinks. So, I gave her only $1.20 per day. But if she stays back, then I add another $1.20 for every day that she stays back.
But I guess the food in Sec 1 will cost much more. Is it bcos MOE does not subsidize canteen rental for Sec school ?
I know in Pri school, the rental are either free or pay negligible amount.
P/s But I think your $50 per week is spoiling market leh ... Can go restaurant to eat liao leh at that rate ...
$50 per weeks on top of all other expenses being on the house seems like spoiling the market. Though the child should not feel deprived if the amount is smaller and the child should feel secure that if there is a need, the need will be met.
My DS2 in S1 this year, he used to get $10 per week in pri sch. Now DS is getting $35.00 per week. The travel time from School to Home is about 1.5 hours, so i had advised him to take something light in school before going home. Think a reasonable meal (including drinks) in HCI is about $2.00- $3.00. So for both recess + lunch will be around $5.00, he will save the rest! -
38daddy:
Thanks for the info.
My DS2 in S1 this year, he used to get $10 per week in pri sch. Now DS is getting $35.00 per week. The travel time from School to Home is about 1.5 hours, so i had advised him to take something light in school before going home. Think a reasonable meal (including drinks) in HCI is about $2.00- $3.00. So for both recess + lunch will be around $5.00, he will save the rest!
Juz kaypoh, which area you live as you said your DS takes 1.5 hours to travel each way ?
Thanks -
38daddy:
...Now DS is getting $35.00 per week. Think a reasonable meal (including drinks) in HCI is about $2.00- $3.00. So for both recess + lunch will be around $5.00, he will save the rest!
My boy lur.ves the sandwiches at HCI. A special deal (2 diff sandwiches) costs $4 + $1 for drink already $5!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.