Does type of housing really matters?

152 Posts 33 Posters 36.6k Views 1 Watching
      CookiesMonster

winth:
      My SIL who bought a condo in Hougang already told her mother not to break her cutlery (anyone who has broken cutlery before, please teach me how it is done) cos they were real expensive. And that it's really so difficult to book a BBQ pit in their condo, cos it's so full up and they needed to go on waiting list, blah blah... And if we wanted free swimming, we could always go swimming in her condo blah blah stuff.

I dunno, I think people really think living in private housing is real darn superior.

We drove a van for the past 7 years cos we were just happy with our mode of transport and dun see the need to get a car. And she looked down on my husband (her big brother), thinking that her then bf is much superior cos they were looking at condos... for their first house. I think it was only last year when her now DH got into the same industry as DH, now she knows the real difference between her DH's post and her brother's rank.

It was only when we changed our car and type of housing last year that shut her mouth up and basically that was bec we find it more worth it as the prices were good. And we are like, what cutlery? What condo? What car? Let's have a nice BBQ at my porch anytime u want it. That really shut her up for good. People already compare within a family, so we can't just blame the children, it's always the parents who expose them to such upbringing.

We deprive our boys since young and give them very little toys. We do splurge on quality things that can be really expensive when we see a need. So somehow, DS1 believes in 'delayed reward system' where he doesn't mind saving up and studying/completing my homework as early as he possibly could so that he can play in the later part of the day. We let him choose what he wants to buy with a limited amount of pocket money so that he still has a choice, but not to the far extent that he could afford the expensive food in the canteen. He gets to choose if he wants to use up his $1 or buy an 80c noodle and save his 20c up. He has nothing extra to get him drinks, so he only drink from his water bottle. Till now, that kinda works for him, and his little piggy bank gets 20c perk everyday after his school and he's real proud now that it's his money.

He attends a neighbour school too, I think that did help too cos we don't have to fight off snobbish parents who usually have snobbish children. I remember last time I was at Shichida when DS2 that a parent was telling a teacher about a $20/30 haircut for his toddler. I was like... :!: siao ar, he just cut up his own $20/30.
      i told my DH to change his 1600cc car to smaller cc as his subordinates drove 2000cc & above to show his direct report COO that he is getting peanut shells for the average 12hrs that he put in at work.

• tankeeT Offline
        tankee

keroppi:

I actually met someone like that. He and his wife & 2 kids stayed in a 3-rm HDB in redhill but owns some 6 condos.

To me this is the worse kind of folks. Got money dunno how to enjoy type. Alamak, affordability aside, there's no denying there's more comfort, amenities and security in the latter. 6 condos, can stay in one mah.

Perhaps he is planning for early retirement ... and i do believe his condo's instalment is being paid by the rentals b'cos he sold at least 1 of them during the property downturn to cut losts and to help finance the remaning.

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

winth:
          ....People already compare within a family, so we can't just blame the children, it's always the parents who expose them to such upbringing.......

Well Said :celebrate:

mummy of 2

winth:
            My SIL who bought a condo in Hougang already told her mother not to break her cutlery (anyone who has broken cutlery before, please teach me how it is done) cos they were real expensive. And that it's really so difficult to book a BBQ pit in their condo, cos it's so full up and they needed to go on waiting list, blah blah... And if we wanted free swimming, we could always go swimming in her condo blah blah stuff.

I dunno, I think people really think living in private housing is real darn superior.

We drove a van for the past 7 years cos we were just happy with our mode of transport and dun see the need to get a car. And she looked down on my husband (her big brother), thinking that her then bf is much superior cos they were looking at condos... for their first house. I think it was only last year when her now DH got into the same industry as DH, now she knows the real difference between her DH's post and her brother's rank.

It was only when we changed our car and type of housing last year that shut her mouth up and basically that was bec we find it more worth it as the prices were good. And we are like, what cutlery? What condo? What car? Let's have a nice BBQ at my porch anytime u want it. That really shut her up for good. People already compare within a family, so we can't just blame the children, it's always the parents who expose them to such upbringing.

We deprive our boys since young and give them very little toys. We do splurge on quality things that can be really expensive when we see a need. So somehow, DS1 believes in 'delayed reward system' where he doesn't mind saving up and studying/completing my homework as early as he possibly could so that he can play in the later part of the day. We let him choose what he wants to buy with a limited amount of pocket money so that he still has a choice, but not to the far extent that he could afford the expensive food in the canteen. He gets to choose if he wants to use up his $1 or buy an 80c noodle and save his 20c up. He has nothing extra to get him drinks, so he only drink from his water bottle. Till now, that kinda works for him, and his little piggy bank gets 20c perk everyday after his school and he's real proud now that it's his money.

He attends a neighbour school too, I think that did help too cos we don't have to fight off snobbish parents who usually have snobbish children. I remember last time I was at Shichida when DS2 that a parent was telling a teacher about a $20/30 haircut for his toddler. I was like... :!: siao ar, he just cut up his own $20/30.
            That is unfortuantely quite real - the perception that private housing is better than HDB. I suppose it's easy to generalise in this way. Afterall, housing is visible and can easily be found out, but you can't go around asking how much people have in the bank šŸ˜‰

I prefer to teach my kids to appreciate what he has, and how fortunate he is. We always tell him he is lucky that we buy so many toys for him, and that there are poor children who do not have any. He will sometimes say that he wants to give away some toys to these poor children, and I'm really happy to hear that.

We are not super-rich but we are happy with our lifestyle - live in HDB, no car, holidays in the region (Indonesia, Thailand) and no need to lose sleep at night over money.

winth

CookiesMonster:
              mrswongtuition:

eh...my daddy has always been my 'Ahmad', even up till today (when my car gives me problems). OOPPSSS!!
              But he's never complained and always fetched us with love. To him, 1 minute in the car together is better than nothing if I take public transport. So even when my school was just 2 bus stops away from my parent's place, my dad still woke up early in the morning to fetch me.

To him, it's bonding time. & my hb loves this about my dad & is learning from him now šŸ™‚ He's my son's 'Ahmad'. & my hb actually enjoys it cos he gets to hear my boy sing and tell him stories during the journey (my boy is very animated and loves to tell stories).

i am only on Ahmad duty on wkends or overseas trip. i do agree road trips are great bonding time but most of the time, they ended up playing with each other of fallg asleep like DH.

Oh yes, DH and I were just talking yesterday about how long should we continue to bring children to school. Our understanding was that we should continue bringing them to school together until we couldn't anymore.

Though it's real noisy... with DS1&2 always talking, or u call that arguing/attention seeking. It was very fun to be able to kiss and hug them and see their backs when they walk into their school. They need to kiss and hug each other too. On the fun days, DS1&2 sing their mari-kita, itsy-bitsy spider, some puffer train song too.

At nights, DH would go into the boys' room to listen to them talk. And they are so excited telling DH about how DS2 (going 3 soon) saw two spiders fighting and finally they died... and some Mrs Chan scolding him stuff. And DS1 would tell DH about his own weekend plans and where to go and how difficult it was to decide between his favourite fried rice and fishball noodles.

CookiesMonster

keroppi:

I actually met someone like that. He and his wife & 2 kids stayed in a 3-rm HDB in redhill but owns some 6 condos.

To me this is the worse kind of folks. Got money dunno how to enjoy type. Alamak, affordability aside, there's no denying there's more comfort, amenities and security in the latter. 6 condos, can stay in one mah.

salah lah....that chap is smart & $ savy. 3rm flat got more perks fm govt u know.

btw, i got a bachelor fren who stays in 3rm flat. lagi $ savy until we reminded him that the $$ cannot bring to the grave.

CookiesMonster

daisyt:
                  Once, we have a serious family meeting discussing if to get a car or not. After weighing the pros and cons, our needs and how worth it is in terms of $, dd help us to conclude, we don't need it, although the main objective of getting one is to ferry her around school and other events.

I always make it a point, she is involved with the discussion and help to make decision on family purchases. Eg changing to a bigger house (idea was drop too), eating out in restaurant, buy some items for luxury purpose (even my own personal item), buying gifts for our friends, making donations ...

Once hubby bought me something expensive as a gift and being very happy, I suggested to eat at a restaurant. She stopped me, saying \"We have just spend so much money today, lets eat in food court.\" I feel so :oops: So end up in food court lor .... šŸ˜„
                  u hv done well with yr DS by instilling such values in her.

now my kids got tired fm eating outside....they cut out receipes & wanted to try it at home. worse is some of these receipes are so \"westernised\" ones that the ingredients rather difficult to find. n they r so willingly to spend 1 wkend to try it.

• MMMM Offline
                    MMM

mummy of 2:
                    Afterall, housing is visible and can easily be found out, but you can't go around asking how much people have in the bank šŸ˜‰

:lol: My mum always say when you meet someone, they will not ask you how much $ do you have, what car do you drive, what house do you stay???

They will ask \"How many children do you have?\" So she said that's the real wealth.

• tankeeT Offline
                      tankee

winth:
                      .... I was at Shichida when DS2 that a parent was telling a teacher about a $20/30 haircut for his toddler. I was like... :!: siao ar, he just cut up his own $20/30.

:oops: I'm one of those parents that spent $20 on my DS's haircut at little league.

He used to go to this aunty who runs a \"saloon\" in her hdb flat for $3 haircut. But after one unfortunate haircut which to-date we still do not know for sure what happened, DS feared haircut. Luckily, we found this guy who is very good with young toddlers at little league that managed to help DS overcome his fear of haircut.

for the record, I have my haircut at QB house .. cheaper than my DS :lol:

CookiesMonster

mummy of 2:
                        That is unfortuantely quite real - the perception that private housing is better than HDB. I suppose it's easy to generalise in this way. Afterall, housing is visible and can easily be found out, but you can't go around asking how much people have in the bank šŸ˜‰

I prefer to teach my kids to appreciate what he has, and how fortunate he is. We always tell him he is lucky that we buy so many toys for him, and that there are poor children who do not have any. He will sometimes say that he wants to give away some toys to these poor children, and I'm really happy to hear that.

We are not super-rich but we are happy with our lifestyle - live in HDB, no car, holidays in the region (Indonesia, Thailand) and no need to lose sleep at night over money.
                        i think both of u lose sleep with telemarketers callg to get u to sign up or upgrade credit cards siboh šŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 16