Chinese langauge standard in Singapore

1 Posts 1 Posters 11.7k Views 1 Watching
      kevkevkaf

thats the problem with bilingualism. we need to shore up the kiddos’ weaker language at home!

jtoh

Seriously? It sounds like NHB should sack their advertising agency or public relations officer, whoever was responsible for this major gaff.

concern2

kevkevkaf:
          thats the problem with bilingualism. we need to shore up the kiddos' weaker language at home!

For the case above, the translator was obviously not aware of the exact translation and possibly depended on translating tools like google.

But yes, bilingualism has its cons. Mother tongue is hardly any kids' mother tongue these days. English - or rather, Singlish is. This affects their thought process and the language that they think in.

In the past, kids learn dialects from their grandparents, but these days, very often, you hear grandparents trying to speak English - \"or their grandchildren wouldn't understand\".

We are loosing roots in our dialects, they are the first to go. Next is \"mother tongue\". The last batch of chinese educated ones are in their 40s. I am not sure about other ethnic groups, but I suspect they are heading the same path. We are loosing our roots.

No matter how I try, I can't see it as a positive thing. There is something important about retaining our heritage, our roots, that is so important I can't explain why. Maybe like many things in life, you only know why when you have lost it. And it is so ironic that it is the National Heritage Board that made such a blunder.

AC_Power

Nothing to do with Chinese language standard. Worrying bit is the laziness of our people.

How can they rely on Google translate for the creation of our Chinese webpage? Especially if you are a government or quasi government body like NHB.

Disgraceful.

sparks

AC_Power:
              Nothing to do with Chinese language standard. Worrying bit is the laziness of our people.

How can they rely on Google translate for the creation of our Chinese webpage? Especially if you are a government or quasi government body like NHB.

Disgraceful.
              Exactly! You hit the nail on the head.

atrecord

Which ministry is NHB under?

Down the line, these people should face the music.

Was there any mentioning of these here in local media? Or were they covered up?

Complete embarrassment to the SGP Govt!

The Hungary Ghost is now wearing Bra!!! :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

• dimsumD Offline
                  dimsum

atrecord:
                  Which ministry is NHB under?

Down the line, these people should face the music.

Was there any mentioning of these here in local media? Or were they covered up?

Complete embarrassment to the SGP Govt!

The Hungary Ghost is now wearing Bra!!! :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
                  no cover up lah. It was first mentioned in local Chinese newspapers.

sinoboy

English standard also not very the high leh, some peoples nowsadays pronoun Bt Batok as Bt Buttok. 😉

pirate

This would not have happened if NHB got a new citizen or PR from PRC to do the Chinese webpage. :razz:

Heck, it would not have happened even if they got an ah beng or ah huay to do it.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1