Teaching Chinese at Home
A pleasure indeed
I'm one of those closet helicopters, and love to go around guessing which part of china friends' tutors are from by speaking to their kids.
:imsorry: double post

:salute: :salute: :salute: aunite M
U r the real master!
I am a true-blue Singaporean, more worried my girl
inherits the unconscious la - lo - hor or speaks S-hinese
:oops: No lah, me agar agar, sarlah sometimes.
Just for fun.
No matter how strict or careful you are, your kid will definitely get exposed to local slangs, be it chinese or other languages.
Bo pian one lah -
hi all,
really :udawoman: to all for all the methods that mentioned. big thank you!
looks like i have to put in more effort to teach my dd chinese oredi... -
Charmaine_chong:
Hi. I just wonder why ไธๅญ็ป and ๅผๅญ่ง is not in the list? What is the diff betwen ๅผๅญ่ง and ๅญ็ป?5 Importance Books in a Child's Life
ใๅญ็ปใ๏ผ
ใ่ฎบ่ฏญใ๏ผ
ใ้ๅพท็ปใใ
ใใๅญๅญๅ ตๆณใ
ใๆ็ปใใ
Source from http://www.zhse.com/
I have teaching my DSs ไธๅญ็ป for more than a year ago, when they are 4 years old. They now can recite chapter 1 and half way thru chapter 2. Only recently, I try to explain the meaning to them. So nowadays, if they just want to play and don't want to read/write, I will say: ๅญไธๅญฆ,้ๆๅฎ,ๅนผไธๅญฆ,่ไฝไธบ. They understand what I am saying.
I am planning (oh no, planning for 3 mths liao :oops: and haven't start) to recite ๅผๅญ่ง. Now, I see ๅญ็ป. So, don't know which one to go for then.
Anyone knows anywhere conducting ๅผๅญ่ง or ๅญ็ป for preschoolers? -
GreenQ:
Hi, GreenQ. Thanks for your recommendation. Ya, I thot the books are great. I tried to order from odonatabook but realised that they don't accept visa. What kind of payment mode did you use?I have just received reply from the publisher.
The distributor in Singapore for odonata books is elm tree (as stated by autumnbronze), and their website is http://elmtreebooks.com .
You can find their outlets in Singapore at : http://elmtreebooks.com/locate_us.php
You can choose to order directly from http://www.odonatabooks.com/webshaper/store/viewCat.asp?catID=3 the books with or without CD. But in singapore it comes with CD.
I have placed order for series 3-5 at RM137.70 without CD include surface shipping charges. I think it is cheaper...
nonKiasu:
Hmmm... yes, I paid by visa. May be you shd try again? Or email to the publisher if you still encounter the same problem? After I placed order, the next day odonatabooks.com has sent 2 emails to me for 1/ order confirmed 2/ order received, and followed by another email few days later - 3/ order shipped.[quote] ...Thanks for your recommendation. Ya, I thot the books are great... [/quote]You are welcome. Yes. This is a very good reader! My kids enjoy the books. They progress smoothly and fast comparing to other readers I have at home. Hope your DSs will love it too...
... I tried to order from odonatabook but realised that they don't accept visa. What kind of payment mode did you use?
Hi Tamarind,
You are most welcomed!
I was very busy last whole week.
I am not sure the education here as i studied in Malaysia. I do hope school will teach them chinese classics.
My son learns chinese classic at Buddhism Centre. My son likes to attend but not so keen to pratise at home. No matter how unwilling he is, i see him progress well.
I let him listen to CD and i read to him up to 10 times a day depending on my schedule. He absorbs almost all. If he refuse to recite, i will read to him instead.
Yesterday was his 3rd class. They learn a page every week. After second week he can recite the first page easily, 2nd page with little help. He is on 3rd page and we are working hard on it.
Young childrenโs memory is amazing. -
Phankao,
Don't despair, put it up for sale here lah ...
I am sure it'll be snapped up in no time
ps: 17 mths and can read the whole set - :salute: :ugogirl:

HIHI... i saw them @ Popular Tampiness. I bought 1 set of series 1, think there are still2 sets of series 1. Will let my DD2 try tonight.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.