How do you deal with arrogant/how lian people around you?

374 Posts 47 Posters 102.0k Views 1 Watching
      tutormum

Celebrities are humans too. It's really no big deal to have a kid in the same school/class as them. Several celebrities have kids in St James.

I got fed-up with this person and the way she talks...so I tell her straight. 'You have repeated several times.' :x
      Recently she asked me if my son's tutor is the inspiring type bcos she wants to find another tutor for him. I told her my son's tutor is the motherly sort, and inspiring son to study is the mother's job, NOT the tutor.

janet_lee88,

Good one (highlighted in blue) and SO true too πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„

Sadly, most mothers thought that it's THE TUTOR'S JOB. I speak as a tutor now. :siam:

tutormum

auntieM:

I guess we have heard so much about this show-offs that we will try to stay miles away from them. Very sickening to hear their rubbish.

Someone told me, 'Have I told you I rub shoulders with Zoe Tay at St James Kindergarten?' I replied, 'Yes you have told me that many times, no need to repeat.'

Tell her to send over to the HK one and 'rub' wherever she wants with Eason, Cecilia Chung .......

πŸ˜‰

You are very evil although I would have suggested it myself. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

I can only hope my son will learn to be self-motivated as this will go a long way. It’s so hard to find a good tutor now, let alone an inspiring one. I wonder if she is looking for a clown-cum-tutor to entertain her son.

I can’t stand those parents who are out to share with other parents how intelligent their kids are, like being able to count from 1-20, read all the words in flash cards etc etc.

• Lynn2L Offline
            Lynn2

me too.Cannot stand some parents who boast about at how many months can read from A to Z,count from one number to another....to me, eventually the child will know how to count and read.It doesnt mean start early , means everything...

Maybe the parents are happy to share...but dont overdo it or it can be a boastful thingy.

lovekidsverymuch:

I can only hope my son will learn to be self-motivated as this will go a long way. It's so hard to find a good tutor now, let alone an inspiring one. I wonder if she is looking for a clown-cum-tutor to entertain her son.

I can't stand those parents who are out to share with other parents how intelligent their kids are, like being able to count from 1-20, read all the words in flash cards etc etc.

Same Same πŸ˜„

turquoise

2ppaamm:
              Don't think this case is a howlian case, but I think there's a big psychological problem with the family. This girls claims to get 27x for her PSLE. Her mother claimed the same thing. Both mother and daughter also claimed she was shortlisted for GEP and didn't want to go. She also did not go to any elite school but chose to stay with the affiliated sec school that takes in normal stream students.

Then, my daughter found out through this girls' primary school mate that she is actually in the weakest academic class when she was P6. And, MOE published the range of PSLE T-scores posted to her secondary school. The highest was 25x. Obviously lying, hor?

The mother then claimed that MOE made a mistake. Worst thing is, she blamed my daughter for lying and exposing her daughter, when everyone knew because of that MOE booklet published. Father, mother and daughter also screamed at me for not teaching my daughter to shut up. Why like that har? I don't even want to get involved with their PSLE scores... nothing to do with me mah...
              haha! I know of a mother and daughter pair who are like that too. They claim the dd got into GEP in P3 but declined it because she didn't want to leave her old school. But everyone in the school knows exactly who got into GEP so it was obvious they were not tellling the truth. ?

Then the pair check out all the IP schools for DSA in P5 and P6, and when the dd didn't get any DSA offers, the pair claim that they didn't even apply. And of course when PSLE results were released, claimed they could've gotten into even RGS, NYGH and NJC but chose to remain in the affliated secondary school. This secondary school posts the kids into their S1 classes according to PSLE scores, so everyone knows roughly your PSLE score just by seeing which class you're in. Needless to say, her dd was not in the top classes. πŸ˜›

What's the point in pretending when the truth is clear for everyone to see?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

Use a lie to cover another lie.

These people are sick!

auntieM

Hi tutormum,

naughty naughty..... Actually need to edit and change \"Cecilia Chung\" to maybe Faye Wong leh. After Cecilia's 'show and tell' with Edison dun think pple really keen to rub shoulders with her anymore πŸ˜›

I think women have this \"sixth\" sense thing, can't agar agar tell of the person is boasting or just sharing parenting info eagerly.
                  My hubby stone stone one, kena bragging bomb also dun realise :stupid:

turquoise:

haha! I know of a mother and daughter pair who are like that too. They claim the dd got into GEP in P3 but declined it because she didn't want to leave her old school. But everyone in the school knows exactly who got into GEP so it was obvious they were not tellling the truth. ?

Then the pair check out all the IP schools for DSA in P5 and P6, and when the dd didn't get any DSA offers, the pair claim that they didn't even apply. And of course when PSLE results were released, claimed they could've gotten into even RGS, NYGH and NJC but chose to remain in the affliated secondary school. This secondary school posts the kids into their S1 classes according to PSLE scores, so everyone knows roughly your PSLE score just by seeing which class you're in. Needless to say, her dd was not in the top classes. πŸ˜›

What's the point in pretending when the truth is clear for everyone to see?
                    :!: Why ah???? :faint: What kind of lesson is the child learning? Another form of hao lian is cannot lose face?

There is another category of how lian people that I cannot stand - a doting grandparent boasting how 'good/smart' their grandchild is.

There is this old lady I know in Church and her precious one and only granddaughter (only son and also only granddaughter) is in the same school, same standard as my elder boy.

First when the PSLE results were released, she went .... \"actually MY S**** (mind you, it is always MY S**** this and MY S**** that) wanted XXX and YYY (the two top all girls' IP schools) but miss by one mark to these schools, so she's now in ZZZ school (my son's school) and that's her 3rd choice. She's now waiting for a transfer to either XXX or YYY schools.\" But the thing is now, 3 years on, her S**** is still in my son's school. πŸ˜›

When she first found out that my son is in the same school as her S****, she went .... \"oh so you are also from ZZZ school? Do you know who MY S**** is? Have you met her? Which class are you in etc? MY S**** is in such and such a class and she won such and such an award, so you definitely must know who MY S**** is and must have seen her!\"

Goodness me, :faint: she talks as if her S**** is the one and only student in ZZZ school and EVERYONE must know who her S**** is or how smart her S**** is! :roll:

Now when my son sees her in Church, he turns around 180Deg and :siam: :lol: I do the same too! :lol:

There is another category of how lian people that I cannot stand - a doting grandparent boasting how 'good/smart' their grandchild is.

There is this old lady I know in Church and her precious one and only granddaughter (only son and also only granddaughter) is in the same school, same standard as my elder boy.

First when the PSLE results were released, she went .... \"actually MY S**** (mind you, it is always MY S**** this and MY S**** that) wanted XXX and YYY (the two top all girls' IP schools) but miss by one mark to these schools, so she's now in ZZZ school (my son's school) and that's her 3rd choice. She's now waiting for a transfer to either XXX or YYY schools.\" But the thing is now, 3 years on, her S**** is still in my son's school. πŸ˜›

When she first found out that my son is in the same school as her S****, she went .... \"oh so you are also from ZZZ school? Do you know who MY S**** is? Have you met her? Which class are you in etc? MY S**** is in such and such a class and she won such and such an award, so you definitely must know who MY S**** is and must have seen her!\"

Goodness me, :faint: she talks as if her S**** is the one and only student in ZZZ school and EVERYONE must know who her S**** is or how smart her S**** is! :roll:

Now when my son sees her in Church, he turns around 180Deg and :siam: :lol: I do the same too! :lol:
                        :faint: People are really bored....

Ok maybe my turn to hao lian... :lol:
                        I am always so surprised that anyone knows who my dd is. I would go like \"Huh? How come you know her? \" Hao Lian or not? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

I think talk like can sound quite hao lian...so just smile?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 38

beemumB
                        beemum