How do you deal with arrogant/how lian people around you?
Hi tutormum,
naughty naughty..... Actually need to edit and change \"Cecilia Chung\" to maybe Faye Wong leh. After Cecilia's 'show and tell' with Edison dun think pple really keen to rub shoulders with her anymore
I think women have this \"sixth\" sense thing, can't agar agar tell of the person is boasting or just sharing parenting info eagerly.
My hubby stone stone one, kena bragging bomb also dun realise :stupid: -
turquoise:
:!: Why ah???? :faint: What kind of lesson is the child learning? Another form of hao lian is cannot lose face?
haha! I know of a mother and daughter pair who are like that too. They claim the dd got into GEP in P3 but declined it because she didn't want to leave her old school. But everyone in the school knows exactly who got into GEP so it was obvious they were not tellling the truth. ?
Then the pair check out all the IP schools for DSA in P5 and P6, and when the dd didn't get any DSA offers, the pair claim that they didn't even apply. And of course when PSLE results were released, claimed they could've gotten into even RGS, NYGH and NJC but chose to remain in the affliated secondary school. This secondary school posts the kids into their S1 classes according to PSLE scores, so everyone knows roughly your PSLE score just by seeing which class you're in. Needless to say, her dd was not in the top classes.
What's the point in pretending when the truth is clear for everyone to see? -
There is another category of how lian people that I cannot stand - a doting grandparent boasting how 'good/smart' their grandchild is.
There is this old lady I know in Church and her precious one and only granddaughter (only son and also only granddaughter) is in the same school, same standard as my elder boy.
First when the PSLE results were released, she went .... \"actually MY S**** (mind you, it is always MY S**** this and MY S**** that) wanted XXX and YYY (the two top all girls' IP schools) but miss by one mark to these schools, so she's now in ZZZ school (my son's school) and that's her 3rd choice. She's now waiting for a transfer to either XXX or YYY schools.\" But the thing is now, 3 years on, her S**** is still in my son's school.
When she first found out that my son is in the same school as her S****, she went .... \"oh so you are also from ZZZ school? Do you know who MY S**** is? Have you met her? Which class are you in etc? MY S**** is in such and such a class and she won such and such an award, so you definitely must know who MY S**** is and must have seen her!\"
Goodness me, :faint: she talks as if her S**** is the one and only student in ZZZ school and EVERYONE must know who her S**** is or how smart her S**** is! :roll:
Now when my son sees her in Church, he turns around 180Deg and :siam: :lol: I do the same too! :lol: -
:faint: People are really bored....There is another category of how lian people that I cannot stand - a doting grandparent boasting how 'good/smart' their grandchild is.
There is this old lady I know in Church and her precious one and only granddaughter (only son and also only granddaughter) is in the same school, same standard as my elder boy.
First when the PSLE results were released, she went .... \"actually MY S**** (mind you, it is always MY S**** this and MY S**** that) wanted XXX and YYY (the two top all girls' IP schools) but miss by one mark to these schools, so she's now in ZZZ school (my son's school) and that's her 3rd choice. She's now waiting for a transfer to either XXX or YYY schools.\" But the thing is now, 3 years on, her S**** is still in my son's school.
When she first found out that my son is in the same school as her S****, she went .... \"oh so you are also from ZZZ school? Do you know who MY S**** is? Have you met her? Which class are you in etc? MY S**** is in such and such a class and she won such and such an award, so you definitely must know who MY S**** is and must have seen her!\"
Goodness me, :faint: she talks as if her S**** is the one and only student in ZZZ school and EVERYONE must know who her S**** is or how smart her S**** is! :roll:
Now when my son sees her in Church, he turns around 180Deg and :siam: :lol: I do the same too! :lol:
Ok maybe my turn to hao lian... :lol:
I am always so surprised that anyone knows who my dd is. I would go like \"Huh? How come you know her? \" Hao Lian or not? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
I think talk like can sound quite hao lian...so just smile? -
A mum of DS’s classmate "complain" to me that the school is teaching stuffs that are too easy, that her DD is not learning anything new from school
(her DS is able to read Peter and Jane books at 2).
I dont know how to answer her
She has changed her DD to a new school this year. -
:faint: People are really bored....
Totally agree! Bored people = how lian people!
Nothing better to do maybe? :?
Ya I think especially grandparents....the grandchildren become the centre of their lives.... My MIL also likes to brag about grandkids....I run away when I hear it starting.... :lol: :lol: :lol:ks2me:
:faint: People are really bored....
Totally agree! Bored people = how lian people!
Nothing better to do maybe? :? -
Ya I think especially grandparents....the grandchildren become the centre of their lives.... My MIL also likes to brag about grandkids....I run away when I hear it starting.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
While it is true for most grandparents, I cannot say the same for my MIL, but that is another story altogether. I have ILs from H*LL! -
my turn to hao lian :lol:
I am always so surprised that anyone knows who my dd is. I would go like \"Huh? How come you know her? \" Hao Lian or not? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
i am always so surprised whenever we bumped into someonw who knows who my dh is.... at the mall, orchard, food court, even once at the zoo! and unless they are ex colleagues, my dh usually smile and chat with them and thereafter secretly tell me that he has no inkling who they are :roll: - cos he has quite a high portfolio in sec school despite can-can results.
i hao lian anot? :lol: -
:celebrate: we both hao lian! Btw, your dh really can-can...no inkling still can chat with them....won't \"chun po\"(in cantonese) ah? :salute:
my turn to hao lian :lol:ks2me:
i am always so surprised whenever we bumped into someonw who knows who my dh is.... at the mall, orchard, food court, even once at the zoo! and unless they are ex colleagues, my dh usually smile and chat with them and thereafter secretly tell me that he has no inkling who they are :roll: - cos he has quite a high portfolio in sec school despite can-can results.
i hao lian anot? :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.