All About GEP
2ppaamm:
My son could read this book in one sitting when he was about 8. But I know for sure he wouldn't understand much the intricate relationship in there. So, it is one matter to read it, and another to understand. The latter requires some maturity, which still requires time and age.
Animal Farm was also Sec 1 Literature book and I agree it is quite cheem for children to understand it fully.ks2me:
[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]My son in P5 GEP is given 3 days to either finish reading Animal Farm or at lest finish watching the video.
I remember I read the book for my JC 1 GP assignment last time.
Will P5 kids understand what's it all about ?
I guess at P5, the girls might have some maturity to understand the book more than the boys? Just a guess.
What's the point of reading the words without understanding.... :?[/quote]Well my son's task was to read the book or watch the movie, and then learn about communism, socialism, and democracy and discuss it in class 3 days later.
Phew. -
2ppaamm:
I had the same problems with most of my kids. In the end, I stopped teaching them the subject matter. I taught them how to avoid careless mistakes. E.g. how to tell your answer cannot be the answer, checking techniques etc. Try it out...
Off topic...actually that is a pain for me now.. I rather my dd does slowly and no careless mistakes....all her mistakes are careless only..... :stupid: :stupid: I must practise patience.ks2me:
[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]
He is also known to be a superfast worker. He finishes Maths exam papers in 30 min (with careless mistakes lah),
Having said that, speed is very important also. When they go to a higher level (university and pre-university), speed does give a lot of advantage. Therefore, being speedy can only be a plus point. Take heart![/quote]worth a try... else normally they will want to be the first to finish... with careless mistake... -
ngbrdad:
Well my son's task was to read the book or watch the movie, and then learn about communism, socialism, and democracy and discuss it in class 3 days later.
My son could read this book in one sitting when he was about 8. But I know for sure he wouldn't understand much the intricate relationship in there. So, it is one matter to read it, and another to understand. The latter requires some maturity, which still requires time and age.2ppaamm:
[quote=\"ks2me\"]
Animal Farm was also Sec 1 Literature book and I agree it is quite cheem for children to understand it fully.
I guess at P5, the girls might have some maturity to understand the book more than the boys? Just a guess.
What's the point of reading the words without understanding.... :?
Phew.[/quote]Ha ha... have you tried the comic version of Animal Farm? They work in some occasions. After all, they are not asked to quote, right? And, a big plus point, they will surely enjoy it, and can discuss it with enthusiasm! -
2ppaamm:
Heard in a recent briefing by AD, GE Br that they found ~ 10 exceptionally gifted children since they started tracking.
The teacher who told me didn't really explain. Her exact words are that the minister told the parents that they are looking for that one or 2 only. I guess it is to groom as top leader... not sure. But that's about right, don't you think? How can there be 500 leaders every year? -
I think that's about right.
Heard in a recent briefing by AD, GE Br that they found ~ 10 exceptionally gifted children since they started tracking.2ppaamm:
The teacher who told me didn't really explain. Her exact words are that the minister told the parents that they are looking for that one or 2 only. I guess it is to groom as top leader... not sure. But that's about right, don't you think? How can there be 500 leaders every year? -
2ppaamm:
Yep!! Bingo! High IQ does not equate high salary. Most end up being inventors.[/quote]Without any disrespect for the highly, exceptionally, gifted people as I value that they are special indeed and can contribute in big ways to mankind, I just want to say that parents should not always dream that their child should be gifted. I feel that gifted people are blessed with the gift for a purpose and that is definitely not about making money.ks2me:
[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]And don't forget, besides the GEP branch, there's the EG branch. Those there are even 'creamier'. :lol: Tops when it comes to brains.
True, but typically these will go into inventions and very difficult things normal people find it hard to do. People dynamics may not be their forte. -
My fren son got selected for GEP Mathsmaster class and later received a letter calling him \"Highly Gifted\". Duno whether he kena tracked?
Heard in a recent briefing by AD, GE Br that they found ~ 10 exceptionally gifted children since they started tracking.2ppaamm:
I would think these children would be exceptionally gifted in specific disciplines. Would indeed be very hard to find an all rounder, don’t u think?
2ppaamm:
Yes I am only concerned about that now. Hopefully I can get over this excruciating pain period soon to enjoy the speed factor she has built into herself.
I had the same problems with most of my kids. In the end, I stopped teaching them the subject matter. I taught them how to avoid careless mistakes. E.g. how to tell your answer cannot be the answer, checking techniques etc. Try it out...
Having said that, speed is very important also. When they go to a higher level (university and pre-university), speed does give a lot of advantage. Therefore, being speedy can only be a plus point. Take heart! -
I would think these children would be exceptionally gifted in specific disciplines. Would indeed be very hard to find an all rounder, don't u think?
Actually, quite a few I know are all rounders...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.