All About Kids' Eye-sight
it started 2 days back, my ds1 keep blinking his eyes. he said it is irritation, so can i use eyedrop on him? not sure if it is irritation or case of bad habit.
I heard tat this eye blinking problem can b solved thru tcm. Maybe u can bring ur child to a Chinese physician. -
it started 2 days back, my ds1 keep blinking his eyes. he said it is irritation, so can i use eyedrop on him? not sure if it is irritation or case of bad habit.
It's bad habit. My son's bad habit continued till P3. It'll go away. -
Did you ask what kind of irritation? My dd blinked her eyes a lot. She told me she can't control it. It happened when I was stationed overseas. Not an eye irritation but for her it was tics. Only happen when she is overly stress or strain her eyes.it started 2 days back, my ds1 keep blinking his eyes. he said it is irritation, so can i use eyedrop on him? not sure if it is irritation or case of bad habit.
CJS,
tcm?? we have not tried that before... hope need not have to go to that stage...:(
CKS,
hope that it is just bad habit...suddenly he told me that he didn't know how to blink naturally and asked me how long should he wait before the next blink :faint:
i told him no computer or tv until he stops...hope can deter him from continuing.
EN,
he mentioned his eye is dry - i realised it started cos he had been asking to use the computer for games recently. not sure if can use eye drop....
erm...what is tic?? -
Source wiki:
[quote]Simple motor tics are typically sudden, brief, meaningless movements that usually involve only one group of muscles, such as eye blinking, head jerking or shoulder shrugging.[14] Motor tics can be of an endless variety and may include such movements as hand clapping, neck stretching, mouth movements, head, arm or leg jerks, and facial grimacing.[/quote]Can be your ds overstrain his eyes while playing with computer games. -
Tics can grow and continue to be bad habits.
We have friends who have tics up till now…
Painful as it is to see… they say they can’t do
anything about it anymore. When they were
younger we thought it was funny they’d do that
on off, slowly it became quite a distracting nature
and eventually we all got used to it. So i suppose
if one gets used to it… quite jialat oredi. Hope the
no-computer gimmick will make it stop, jedamum. -
A couple of friends' children have been prescribed glasses recently, and the children are only in Primary 1. Naturally the parents are upset and have been discussing about it.
Unfortunately for me, my 2nd daughter, who is in P4, has just been prescribed too. Her snellen result was 6/24 both eyes. After a proper check, turned out to be 175 degrees each!
My hb and I wear glasses, so naturally my children will have to eventually. But it still sadden me that she has to do so at P4. Was hoping my children can delay it as long as possible.
The optometris said once kids start on glasses, it is very likely their degree will go up every year. Also, for children with parents wearing glasses, either one or both parents, they will eventually wear. Even if both parents have perfect eyesight, it is common for their children to wear. True?
Hi!
Welcome to KSP. There's an existing thread on this topic: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=109 -
Happybirdks:
I don't wear glasses, my parents don't my siblings don't, my nephews and nieces don't, but 4 out of my 5 kids do! Imagine how shocked I was when their eyesight was tested on those fateful days.A couple of friends' children have been prescribed glasses recently, and the children are only in Primary 1. Naturally the parents are upset and have been discussing about it.
Unfortunately for me, my 2nd daughter, who is in P4, has just been prescribed too. Her snellen result was 6/24 both eyes. After a proper check, turned out to be 175 degrees each!
My hb and I wear glasses, so naturally my children will have to eventually. But it still sadden me that she has to do so at P4. Was hoping my children can delay it as long as possible.
The optometris said once kids start on glasses, it is very likely their degree will go up every year. Also, for children with parents wearing glasses, either one or both parents, they will eventually wear. Even if both parents have perfect eyesight, it is common for their children to wear. True?
Now all of them are using the Ortho-K lenses. DS1 has been on it since P4, so that's about 7 years ago. He went from 300 degree to 100 degree now. Quite good hor?
DD1 went through a series of computer simulation stuff, we spent $1000+ but her eyesight didn't get cured from 125 degree. It eventually went to 200+. She is now at about 150.
DD2 is 0 on one side and about 75 on the other, and has been so for the last 2 years.
DS2 has astiq, nothing moved for the last 2 years from 200.
Hopefully, DS3 never has to start.
Go find out more about OK lenses from your optician if you like. If you want to use mine, PM me. O, I don't get commission hor, he just became our friend since we are such a big customer. :lol: -
Hi 2ppaamm
Thanks for your info. But what is the otto-k lenses? Never heard of it.
I do hear some say that wearing hard contact lenses will help stabilise myopia.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.