ST My Points - 6 A1s 4A2s can't get into Hwa Chong

121 Posts 20 Posters 36.4k Views 1 Watching
      Blobbi

Blobbi...when I read your post, I cannot help but imagine the traffic on CTE and PIE during peak hours... and guess what? I always like to find an exit somewhere and take a road lesser travelled... Does this mean anything? :? 😉

Keke. I set my GPS that way too. Last time, shopping meant Orchard Road. Now, no need to step out of the suburban malls at all!

Blobbi

there are other less travelled roads ... scenic route?

eg Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts
        I remember wanting to be a chef when I was growing up, but my parents said no way - how to make a living? Now i look back, maybe could have been the next Nobu ... 😢 . Definitely the markets have opened up and there is greater demand for seemingly obscure professions.

skunk

it’s all about demand and supply. Any given society will need XXXXX business executives, but will only require X artists/musicians, etc.

My wife asked me, what if our children want to study the less trodden path next time? I simply say they have to prove it to me and to themselves, that they can be the best of the best, or else they will have to do more conventional things, and do the other simply as a hobby.

I rather have a mediocre executive who has a passion for art, than a mediocre artist who’s starving to death.

Too bad, the world’s like this.

VitoRelax

Aido...Ah Pek, you eat wrong medicine ah...Don't say lidat la.....
            Don't choose IP is because maybe at PSLE time cannot ma....
            Hahaha maybe I was drunk lastnight ? 😄

But this lady who wrote sounds llike she has divine right to walk in to HC JC. MOE owes her an explanation meh ?

Like that I also want to write to MOE ask ask to explain why my girl who also worked hard for her PSLE cannot get into Nanyang or RGS ?

If PSLE that time cannot get in, then who to blame ? Blame others who get better results than her ? If PSLE that time can go but refuse to go, then blame her decision at that time lah !!

Waste of newspaper space only lah ...
            [quote]then they thought got second chance then kenna all these stiff competition again. As parents, surely we can appreciate why this parent angst over this, painful leh...children already worked so hard still cannot squeeze in. I think this parent never read KSP Forum enough...to get into HCI from 'O' levels probably need only 1-2 points.

I can only say \"suay\" the competition is so stiff lor and it just gets stiffer(with alot of tuition & enrichment) which is why parents must come to KSP here to de-stress by writing the humsup story.[/quote]I am sure that lady, being a COMPLAIN QUEEN, knows the system inside out lah. Perhaps, she's used to get what she wants except this time ... so easier way out is to blame on others ... ask for explanation some more ...

All it needs is somebody to be blunt enuf to tell her \"Sorry, my dear, your girl is not good enuf !!\"
            [quote]One thing I agree with you is \"take it easy\", don't get into HCI also nevermind la... One door closes, another one opens and perhaps this new door leads to the Money/Career Kingdom even better......[/quote]
            With her results still can go to good JC mah, why must always goto the best ? It is not the end of the world. Others JC can still goto University, what !! What is the big deal ?

I hope she reads my comments here. Hahaha ... I am still drunk leh ... 😄

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

skunk:
              it's all about demand and supply. Any given society will need XXXXX business executives, but will only require X artists/musicians, etc.

My wife asked me, what if our children want to study the less trodden path next time? I simply say they have to prove it to me and to themselves, that they can be the best of the best, or else they will have to do more conventional things, and do the other simply as a hobby.

I rather have a mediocre executive who has a passion for art, than a mediocre artist who's starving to death.

Too bad, the world's like this.

agreed with you.

in the past, mediocre executive can get by and still get paid, especially in civil service.

But now things are different, mediocre executive is getting hard to survive in today's corpoate world. Once fired or retrenched, hard to get another job. More so if age is 40 or more.

By our children's time, situation may be even more competitive.

• phankaoP Offline
                phankao

Blobbi:
                On first reading of the article, I :faint: , cold sweat broke out. If now already like that, when my ah boy (year 2003) reach that point, sure lagi worse, right? No wonder people talk about DSA when kids only in kindy. But hey, u're right, ks2me. When one door shuts, another door opens. Got other JCs mah. Maybe poly route is better too, like for Insider's daughter.

More people in the world means that the conventional routes are jam- packed, but it also means that there many new routes that are being created to cater to the surging population. Steady lah. (I must re-read this when my turn comes).
                DSA also not easy. My daughter(this year sec 4) says she wants to go JC. I asked if she wants to try DSA, she say dun wan - scared of interview. Oh well.

carebear

I was just thinking why should we be so worried if our kids can make it to top JC? Why enter a school and find that you have to struggle hard? Why not go to another school where you can develop at your own pace?

Also if you go to a top school, it does not mean you will do well. Top school students are the cream of the crop and the teachers may not have to push them too hard as they are already intelligent.

I belief that the school your child enters has to have a conducive environment for his academic and overall development, and that he should be comfortable with the pace.

Going to a top school does not guarantee financial success.
                  I know of many friends who were the cream of the crop for their year, but presently are not the top 10% earners in the country.

So what’s with all the rat race?
                  Just try to lead your child in the path that he is comfortable with, providing as much opportunity for his development, and the rest is up to him. In this way, you won’t look back and regret for not having done enough for him.

Ah Pek, the reality is this woman never comes to ksp to keep herself updated. I know in some primary schools streaming at end of p2, average 97% also cannot get into top class. This lady is just shocked n dated la, someone needs to educate her to upgrade knowledge. Being ignorant is pardonable otherwise all children need to be scolded for everything they don't know yet. Honestly if I don't have a niece so old I won't know that 4 points is not good enough too. 👅

This actually is a good reminder for parents to stay abreast of the competitive landscape by coming to kiasuparents.com. :lol:

Blobbi

carebear:

So what's with all the rat race?
                      Just try to lead your child in the path that he is comfortable with, providing as much opportunity for his development, and the rest is up to him. In this way, you won't look back and regret for not having done enough for him.
                      Bingo. Sometimes, want to chap also cannot cos it's their life. We can only guide. They have to do the growing up themselves.

radiantmum

Eh ... folks, what are we saying here? A 6A1s student need to take a road less travelled? It sure sounds like that at one glance :shock: Honestly I did not interpret her messgage as MOE/Hwa Chong owes her kid a place, I am actually apalled too that 6A1s is still considered as NOT GOOD ENOUGH :shock:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 13