How do you deal with arrogant/how lian people around you?

374 Posts 47 Posters 102.2k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

Was at Victoria Street to buy some CNY stuff last Sat.

A young couple ordered a few packets of Shitake mushrooms.
      The chap (Andrew, from the shop) was sorting n packing for this couple.
      I was in the queue.
      In came this lady who said within earshot of everyone in the vicinity.
      \"Hey, Andrew, sharks fins, Tina\"
      Andrew looked at her, didn't seemed to register and continued with sorting n packing.
      Tina: \"Andrew, busy? I come by tmr? 6 kg, big ones?\"
      Guess what?
      Andrew dropped what he was doing,
      went to the freezer and took out the sharks fins to showed her.
      And the couple was like Huh??!!

Haiz...money talks.
      She didn't sound arrogant, but Tina sure knows which button to press.
      I found it amusing... :lol:

If only she had pressed my button
      unpredictable.....
      it could explode in her face!

this is called \"Differentiated Services\".

Can't blame Andrew, if he don't he may loose this $$$ deal. He has to put his priority right.

Way2GO

this is called \"Differentiated Services\".

Can't blame Andrew, if he don't he may loose this $$$ deal. He has to put his priority right.
        The fact that he hesitated kinda tells me
        he was in two minds.
        He did ask someone to take over while he attended to prima Tina.
        So he is OK in that sense,
        but he could hv handled it better.

Tina didn't sound loud nor arrogant too.
        Just said the right words
        \"..busy? I come back tmr?'
        Andrew knew then tat he might lose the sale
        if HE didn't attend to her right away.

Money talks...

This reminds me of what the xxx restaurant boss related
        about a China parent who came to eat,
        pull out a stack of S$1,000 notes
        (he indicated by hand to show ~ 1\" thick)
        to pay for the meal n said,
        \"take care of my son'.
        He loves doing these China kids' businesss!

These arrogant people are a real PAIN.

Someone asked, "Hey, does your son’s school have 100% passes for PSLE ? My daughter’s school 100% pass leh. Principal push very hard."
          My hubby was upset (pissed off), not with the question though, but with the person who asked him because it was not a friend.
          Some people now can be so ridiculous and thoughtless to their siblings. :x
          It hurts

• O Offline
            ooptimizer

Next time, this is what you should reply:

My daughter’s school also 100% pass leh. Principal NO NEED to push at all. The children in my school all smarter than your child.

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

This one, I find very naive.

\"MY school hor, does higher Chinese since P1, not like other schools. Your daughter's school do lower Chinese, right?\"

Er.... all SAP schools do that, right? Same text book mah... Her DD was from Nanyang, but there are many other SAP schools what? How come not shy one har? My daughter's school was also a SAP school, but I just looked away. What's the big deal? :siao:

ooptimizer,

All these years, this person doesn’t talk like that and is rather humble. his question that day really pissed me and hubby off.
                His daughter is in a SAP school, and so is mine. Does he have to shoot his mouth off like that? How could he be so insensitive?

2ppaamm,
                All the SAP schools do Higher Chinese. Parents who have kids in SAP or any school should learn one thing - HUMBLE, even if the child is in the top class.
                BTW, my hubby & I are thinking of putting daughter in my former school which uses CL as 2nd language. Like you mentioned, what’s the big deal? As if that is not enough, he had to add on, 'my daughter ah, even busier than me, tuition, CCA and school homework. she finishes at 11pm every night."

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

.....my daughter ah, even busier than me, tuition, CCA and school homework. she finishes at 11pm every night.\"

poor girl

• 2 Offline
                    2ppaamm

Actually, I let my daughter drop HCL for CL at P6. She was the only one in the class to do that. So, some classmates thought she got into that class by fluke shot (there were only 2 top classes). Some kids just don't need to do everything 'high' and some parents allow that lah... chill it!

Why so proud the daughter is so busy? I thought we should be proud our kids can handle? :? Yep, poor girl, and pitiful, shallow parents.

Next time, ask, \"So many tuition because cannot handle in school, is it? Teachers don't know how to teach in your school ar?\" And I'm sure many of you guys have this same experience... top school teachers need not be the best... Sorry, OT a bit.

The mother told me her daughter cried in school because she was stressed and Chinese teacher telephoned her.

Then the father now seems to talk insensitively and shoots off his mouth? I pity the girl for being so busy with all the extra activities, but just cannot understand why is the father such a show off now ???
                      Trust me, I will minimize contact as much as possible. Hubby is affected but yet cannot do anything.

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

The mother told me her daughter cried in school because she was stressed and Chinese teacher telephoned her.

Then the father now seems to talk insensitively and shoots off his mouth? I pity the girl for being so busy with all the extra activities, but just cannot understand why is the father such a show off now ???
                        Trust me, I will minimize contact as much as possible. Hubby is affected but yet cannot do anything.
                        People brag because they feel inferior.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 30 / 38