In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      autumnbronze

2ppaamm:
      auntieM:

DH will tell his dad off if he sees it in time, if not, here goes the bitchy me lor. πŸ˜›

Now that my son is 6, things are more manageable.
      My son told my mum \"Yeh yeh don't love me because he smokes where I can smell and see. Grandpa only smokes in the toilet and daddy 'hides' in the balcony to smoke. I know that.\"

Aiyoh! So sad for a child to feel that his granddad does not love him. I've always believed that it is utmost important for a kid to feel loved by his immediate relatives. This balance within a child is utmost important.

Yup, AuntieM, what 2ppaamm says is v true. I oso subscribe to that.

auntieM

I was quite shock to hear it from my mum.

Strict rules in my house where and when DH and my dad can puff, yet son can make such observations and comment…
        Didn’t tell DH about this incident though…I dunno how to

autumnbronze

auntieM:
          I was quite shock to hear it from my mum.

Strict rules in my house where and when DH and my dad can puff, yet son can make such observations and comment...
          Didn't tell DH about this incident though....I dunno how to
          AuntieM, isn't amazing how kids can be so discerning and pick up things that we would normally won't notice or take for granted πŸ˜„

auntieM

Totally autumnbronze :celebrate:

As for those expired/mouldy biscuits and snacks that son was given to bring home, he does not ask for them any more.
            Once my mum asks to see what he brought home and he said\"Shhhhh....
            cannot eat one lah\". Then I remembered we once opened mouldy bah kwa in front of him....
            My MIL very popular and gets loads of gifts that she can't finish I suppose πŸ˜‰

autumnbronze

auntieM:

As for those expired/mouldy biscuits and snacks that son was given to bring home, he does not ask for them any more.
              cannot eat one lah\". Then I remembered we once opened mouldy bah kwa in front of him....
              My MIL very popular and gets loads of gifts that she can't finish I suppose πŸ˜‰
              Perceptive lah ... πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„

Andaiz

auntieM:

:celebrate: smart cookie, you have there auntieM.

Yeah, we get expired or soon-to-expire gifts too. The gals take one look at the foodstuff and refuse flatly to partake...then when I open the lid....ooohhh! The pong of rancid oil. Autumnbronze dear, you are right. Kids are very perceptive of such things! πŸ˜‰

Mine lately have been commenting, \"nainai says can eat leaves of strawberries coz it's good for health...cannot right? Too much pesticides?!?\" (my 3 yo!) 😐

winth

auntieM:
                  Sigh! CNY round the corner, wish we can fast forward certain time of the day πŸ˜‰

Same here.
                  Just two days ago, DH blurted out that reunion meals this Saturday, and that time flies.

I was like: :shock: :shock: it's this Saturday?????

I seriously forgot about it, I thought it was mid-Feb which feels like it's forever a week away. After DH told me it's this coming Saturday, I came to work with a black face since then, my colleagues thought I was angry or what. But it's really stressful.

I just wish things will just pass without having to face those side-gazes and back-talking or worse, SIL making MINDLESS sarcastic remarks about us in front of everyone! I just hope things go smoothly for me. πŸ™

• E Offline
                    Emelyn

surfermom:
                    shine_fs:

[quote=\"Emelyn\"]
                    How to forgive ? How to forget ?

Tough lah....

True lor how to do that when we are the one gets hurt so badly........

To be fair, give me a little more time, more wisdom I really will forgive. But to forget is not possible. I guess I can only look back (like 2ppaamm) and think certain things. IF we can always live like this (On Hindsight...I SHOULD HAVE done this, that), then we will never make mistakes, no regrets, plus, I would hv won 4D a thousand times![/quote]I guess the reason I find it difficult to forgive and forget is because my mum actually was the one who is hurt by their non-appearance and lack of show of concerns. And I kept thinking that mayb my mum also felt sad for rme..... gosh... here i go again...with tears flowing....

I mean if she is hurting me....i can still tahan... but she is hurting my mum lei.

Gee... it has been 10 years liao lei.... but the pain still remains.

And to continue.... in the same conversation.... mum actually told me to let my kids spend more time with my side of the family (as in my extended family of cousins, aunts, uncles), instead of DH's side, because in her words.... \"they don't know δΊΊζƒ…δΊ‹ζ•…\"

:x I just bought some CNY gifts for my MIL last Sunday....maybe I should keep it for myself...... 😒 😒

Emelyn:
                      :x I just bought some CNY gifts for my MIL last Sunday....maybe I should keep it for myself...... 😒 😒

Humour in sadness.. :lol:

Hang in there, Emelyn.

You are rational enough to know what will be the best way to go
                      around this. I do FULLY understand what you mean when you sd
                      there are stuff that are just a lotta baggage but cannot be erased
                      from the heart nor the mind. Cause just thinking about stuff some
                      times just easily brings back that stabbing pang of hurt and aches
                      of yesteryears.

CNY is supposed to be a joyous get-together occasion. Try not to
                      put yourself in more anguish and sorrow this new year's day. Even
                      if u don't wish for it to be joyous for others, at least be joyous for
                      yourself and your family.. There's no way anyone can ever make up
                      for anything right now... to make things right, since your mum has
                      already passed on.

While some history are best left forgotten, you can make new history
                      with what you have now. :hugs: I wish you happiness and prosperity
                      for you and your family this CNY, Emelyn. You will be great this CNY, ok?

shine_fs

winth:
                        auntieM:

Sigh! CNY round the corner, wish we can fast forward certain time of the day πŸ˜‰

Same here.
                        Just two days ago, DH blurted out that reunion meals this Saturday, and that time flies.

I was like: :shock: :shock: it's this Saturday?????

I seriously forgot about it, I thought it was mid-Feb which feels like it's forever a week away. After DH told me it's this coming Saturday, I came to work with a black face since then, my colleagues thought I was angry or what. But it's really stressful.

I just wish things will just pass without having to face those side-gazes and back-talking or worse, SIL making MINDLESS sarcastic remarks about us in front of everyone! I just hope things go smoothly for me. πŸ™

Hope our wish come true.....I like to fast forward tomorrow dinner..... πŸ™

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 84 / 529