Secondary School Chinese
MintLeaf:
Okay lah, HCL standard still higher though :XHi Daisyt and Mathsparks,
I know this may not fit this topic, but can you or your child give the following a go? I want an opinion. Do you think this is easy or difficult for Express Chinese (not HCL)?
综合填空
人人都 Q1 (渴望 向往 期待 盼望)被理解,但理解在哪儿呢?它无形无色,抽象得不可 Q2 (捉摸 思议 理喻 分析)。然而,理解对于人生又那么重要。难怪人人都希望能被理解,人人都觉得自己被人理解得太少,感到生活中更多的是误解、曲解、费解,甚至是大惑不解。人世间之所以有很多 Q3 ( 利害 隔阂 分歧 迷惑)和矛盾,就是由于缺乏理解造成的啊!
理解尽管玄妙,但却也 Q4 (掺杂 混合 渗透 出现)在我们生活之中。音乐会上的掌声,雪天送来的炭火,对走路不便的老人的搀扶,献给失败者的鲜花,Q5 (志同道合 风雨同舟 一帆风顺 同心协力)的伴侣等等,还有很多,不知道你可曾留意过。
为了 Q6 (增加 增添 补充 弥补)孤父寡母自己无法替代的感情,子女主动为他们牵线搭桥,寻找伴侣; 自己虽然被打倒了,但却赢得对手的佩服,这比同伴的 Q7 (鼓掌 欢呼 赞美 喝彩)更令人激奋。有些人相处了一辈子,彼此仍不甚了解; 有些人只需要一道眼波,双方便 Q8 (心心相印 相濡以沫 同甘共苦 温故知新)。有些人宁可要一个聪明的敌人, 也不愿意要一个愚蠢的朋友。有一些人一 Q9 (片 副 颗 套)铁石心肠,却被一声问候叩开了泪的闸门。这些,不正是理解在起作用吗?
理解事物是困难的,理解人更困难。你得 Q10 (忍受 忍心 忍耐 残忍),探求,斗争,甚至做出牺牲。 -
Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult. Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
feel, in sec, simply read chinese storybooks is not enough, newspaper, chi readers digest, listen to news can help. Jia you!!! Dont worry, i am sure under the good guidance n intensive training of his sch, he sure would improve n do well. -
mathsparks:
hi mathsparks, i dun use the translator. I google for keywords n look at how it is phrased. I feel direct translator doesnt really work well for chinese.daisyt:
Hi mathsparks, I am not expert, so using google to search keywords, here is what I have found. 炸鱼捕捞

Thankyou, daisy. Strange hor, I also use google translator but got fried fish homework instead. :? -
You are pretty strong at languages too, aren't you? Essentially effectively bilingual, which is what the nation wants. I have geared myself totally towards Science so much so that my command of the English language has gone down the drains long ago. I thought my Chinese was still manageable, but it seems I am going through a reality check now.Honestly, you know what's my opinion for this? I think firstly, the author is a creative one and once there is prowess in language, they will coin their own phrases and there is no right or wrong. I say that because I write like that too. I have the tendency to put what I know together to form new phrases, both in English and in Chinese.
xxjustakidxx:
Since you are from PRC, we need to raise the bar a bit. You are allowed only one mistake.Okay lah, HCL standard still higher though :X

daisyt:
你的女儿好棒噢! Given she will sit for the O Level Chinese at the same time as my DS, I thought of using her as a benchmark. Thanks for getting her feedback for me.Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult.
daisyt:
And thanks for this tip and the encouragement. Last night, my plan of action was only going to be reading story books and working through more assessments books. But there is this nagging fear that story books alone won't be sufficient. Looks like I do not have the luxury of time to neglect leveraging news.Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
feel, in sec, simply read chinese storybooks is not enough, newspaper, chi readers digest, listen to news can help. Jia you!!! Dont worry, i am sure under the good guidance n intensive training of his sch, he sure would improve n do well. -
Hi mintleaf, my dd only slightly above average but she sure improved over the years. Btw she is taking O lvl CL in 2012. Same as yr ds? She is quite stress because recently the principal just told them, his target for them is at least an A2 for O lvl CL. :roll:
Oh yes, i forget to mention, tang poems n song ci also great help but have to learn thru the hard way - memorise .... -
MintLeaf:
You are pretty strong at languages too, aren't you? Essentially effectively bilingual, which is what the nation wants. I have geared myself totally towards Science so much so that my command of the English language has gone down the drains long ago. I thought my Chinese was still manageable, but it seems I am going through a reality check now.
I won't say I am strong in Chinese since I took it as a second language instead of HCL. However, I like the language very much. -
daisyt:
Daisyt, yr dd's Chinese seems strong enough so don't stress over results, it will come naturally.Hi mintleaf, my dd only slightly above average but she sure improved over the years. Btw she is taking O lvl CL in 2012. Same as yr ds? She is quite stress because recently the principal just told them, his target for them is at least an A2 for O lvl CL. :roll:
Oh yes, i forget to mention, tang poems n song ci also great help but have to learn thru the hard way - memorise .... -
Ks2, thanks for your consol.
BTW, us it correct just a C6 pass in O lvl CL would do so that no need take A lvl CL? With C6, wont affect the choice of faculty choosimg, maybe except those related to study of CL in uni? -
daisyt:
No Diasyt, they need to pass O level Higher chinese to skip A level chinese.Ks2, thanks for your consol.
BTW, us it correct just a C6 pass in O lvl CL would do so that no need take A lvl CL? With C6, wont affect the choice of faculty choosimg, maybe except those related to study of CL in uni?
BTW all students in our school are taking HCL, which means a pass is sufficient (provided pass English as well) to skip it in year 5 & 6. -
daisyt:
Your daughter did well for this pasage considering she is just beginning of S2. :rahrah:Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult. Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
feel, in sec, simply read chinese storybooks is not enough, newspaper, chi readers digest, listen to news can help. Jia you!!! Dont worry, i am sure under the good guidance n intensive training of his sch, he sure would improve n do well.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.